Odd Gifts

I’ve shared pictures of my desk before, and no, I won’t frighten you with the total view of all the clutter. Just a couple pics of my latest companions…

They are gifts from the 4-year-old. I give her plenty and she has figured out that giving back provides its own pleasure. Her gifts to me aren’t the usual scribbled pictures to put on my fridge, although she does paint these horrific images with smiling babies with shark’s teeth. But every few days or so, she’ll come bounding into my office with something she’s sure I need. Earlier this year it was minions. You know, the little bespectacled creatures from Despicable Me. I think I have an army of little minions. She said I said I needed them.

This was yesterday’s gift. I’m sure it came from some kid’s meal, but she knew it needed to sit in the center of my desk to keep me company because my office is a lonely place, right?

IMG_6233
Then there’s this from about a month ago. A skiing alien? She got it from one of those gumball machines in a restaurant. And since it was an alien, it had to be mine.

IMG_6234
And here is my growing collection of pop-eyed toys…

IMG_6235
All I can say is Christmas is going to be fun. 🙂

So tell me, what sort of gifts you get from the little ones?

About Delilah Devlin

Delilah Devlin is an award-winning author with a rapidly expanding reputation for writing deliciously edgy stories with complex characters. Whether creating dark, erotically-charged paranormal worlds or richly descriptive westerns that ring with authenticity, Delilah Devlin “pens in uncharted territory that will leave the readers breathless and hungering for more…”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Odd Gifts

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    Those would definitely distract me from writing… sweet of her though!

    • I think they don’t bother me because my monitor is so large it fills my sight. But then again, I like little distractions, especially when I’m bored. I’ll pick up the pop-eye toys and watch their eyes bulge. It’s therapeutic.

  2. Eileen says:

    That is so precious. No little ones to give me gifts yet but look forward to it.

  3. Porchia says:

    My youngest is in college and was a special ed major, he made some dinosaur 3D cutouts and gave them to me. Have them on my cabinet at work. Enjoy laughing when someone ask if my little kid made them for me… He is 6 foot 1 and was an offensive lineman in HS. LOL T-Rex and a Brontosaurus.

  4. Sue Cox says:

    that’s so sweet of her ! My kids used to gift me with things like pretty rocks or leftover candy from Hallowe’en ! My sweet tooth is legendary,lol They’re both grown up & live several provinces away but we’ll spend Christmas together making new memories with adorable grandkids. It’s the best !
    Merry Christmas !

Leave a Reply

