A trick and a treat!

Happy Halloween! As my children get older (I have a 19 and a 17 year old), I find myself missing the fun of helping them dress in their costumes as we prepare to head down the street to yell those old familiar words “Trick or treat!” to our neighbors. These days our evening is spent on the other side of that phrase as we hang out on our front porch filling the plastic pumpkins and pillowcases thrust our way with cavity-producing, but yummy candy!

Today…I thought I’d do the adult version of trick or treating on the Wild and Wicked Cowboys blog. I’m playing a trick…then I’m offering a treat.

As you know this blog is dedicated to all the cowboys and western stories we love so much. I am a huge sucker for a red-hot, alpha cowboy in worn-out Levi’s and a dusty hat. Swoon. However, earlier this week, I released a new book that doesn’t have *gasp!* a cowboy in it. Yep…I have to admit there wasn’t a horse or ranch or hayloft in the whole story! Crazy, right?! But, in the interest of the TRICK…I’m going to share an excerpt of the book with you anyway. Hee hee. It’s called Status Update and it’s part of my Second Chances series.

StatusUpdate72webSecond Chances, Book 3

Laura Sanders thought post-divorce life would be simple. What a rude awakening to realize that after too many years as a wife and mother, she’s stuck in a rut so deep she’s forgotten how to have fun.

Determined that this year will be different, she sets a New Year’s goal to rediscover the woman she used to be—the one who loved to dance, to laugh, to kiss.

When Bryan Sinclair spots his best friend from high school in the Blue Moon bar, he wonders how the hell he failed to notice her beauty and vitality all those years ago. Laura’s confession that she plans to experience lost opportunities tempts him into joining her on the journey.

Together they make up for lost time, in and out of the bedroom. But there’s one area in which Laura has no plans to change the status quo—her heart. And Bryan has his work cut out convincing her to take another chance. On him. On forever.

Warning: This story contains sex at Rocky Horror, sex at a Jimmy Buffett concert, sex on the stairs, sex on the dining-room table, sex on the dance floor, and even sex in a bed.

Excerpt:

The ride back to her townhouse was made in silence as Laura filled every second with one panic attack after another. She hadn’t anticipated the evening going this way. Sure, Bryan had told her he wanted to fuck the hell out of her, but she’d dismissed those words, decided they were said in the heat of the moment.

Bryan had a wicked sense of humor. Laura had thought perhaps they were just indulging in some innocent flirting and dirty sexual innuendos.

Yeah, right. Had she honestly thought they’d have a nice dinner, talk, maybe go dancing, and then she’d offer him a bit more of that red-hot kissing he’d introduced her to without sex entering the equation?

Regardless of their unquestionable, off-the-charts attraction, things were moving too fast. She couldn’t quite wrap her head around what was about to happen.

Bryan pulled into the parking lot adjacent to her building and turned off the car. “Laura—” he started. His tone said it all.

She’d given away her nervousness. He was going to back out and let her off the hook.

Was that what she wanted?

She looked at Bryan’s handsome, concerned face.

Fuck that.

She was sick of the wise, old, never-take-a-chance woman she’d become.

New year. New Laura.

She reached across the console, leaning forward, while reaching for his shirt. She grabbed a handful of the cotton and used it to pull him toward her. Bryan met her halfway, their lips connecting in a kiss that triggered an arousal she hadn’t experienced in years. There was something so completely magical about Bryan’s kisses. Over the years, Laura had forgotten the intensity, the excitement that could be wrapped up in that initial touch of lips.

Bryan cupped her face, holding her as if she were not only the most precious woman on earth, but the hottest one as well. His fingers drifted along her cheek before he ran them through her hair. His grip tightened as if he were afraid she would change her mind and escape.

She wasn’t going anywhere without him.

“You’re beautiful,” he murmured against her lips.

Her hands rested on his shoulders, but she wanted more. Wanted to feel him—skin to skin. She ran her fingers over his jaw, loving the roughness that betrayed he hadn’t shaved since this morning.

Though it was winter outside, the temperature in the car had to be pushing a thousand degrees.

They remained there, locked together, neither willing to be the first to break the connection.

Finally, Laura pulled away, resting her forehead against his. “I haven’t had sex in a really long time,” she admitted.

“Neither have I.”

“I’m counting in years, Bryan.”

He grinned. “Oh. Then I revise my previous statement. I haven’t had sex in a while.”

She laughed, then decided she didn’t want to start something that she potentially couldn’t finish. “Should we also revisit that comment you made in the restaurant?”

He tilted his head, confused. “Care to narrow it down for me?”

“The control thing.”

Bryan leaned closer and placed a quick, hard kiss on her lips. “That’s not going to be a problem for us.”

She studied his face, trying to decide if his answer was enough. Hell, she didn’t have a clue what he meant.

Bryan didn’t give her a chance to ask for clarification. “Trust me, Laura.”

Trust was a leap of faith, but it didn’t matter. Laura was one of those people who saw the best in someone until they proved her wrong. Bryan had done nothing to betray her trust, so…he had it.

“You wanna come in?”

“For coffee?” he asked.

She leaned back and slapped him on the upper arm. “No, not for coffee. What the hell have we just been talking about?”

Bryan laughed. “I was kidding, Laura. I’d love to come in.”

“Good.”

They walked to her townhouse, bundled together against the brisk, winter wind. After spending nearly thirty minutes in the sauna-like conditions in his car, the cold air went through her like a knife. She struggled to put her key in the door, her hands suddenly shaking.

She wanted to blame the frosty air, but she feared reality was setting in with a vengeance. She had invited a man into her apartment with the intention of sleeping with him. What the hell was she thinking? Dressed Laura looked a hell of a lot better than naked Laura.

Bryan placed his hand on hers, helping her guide the key into the slot. “Slow and easy, hotshot.”

The nickname gave her a much-needed boost of confidence. She was forty-three years old. If she wanted to fuck a man on the first date, it was her call to make.

They walked inside together. Bryan closed the door, then looked at her.

She pointed to the deadbolt. “Lock it.”

Available at AmazonSamhain, and Barnes and Noble.

Now…how about a treat?

Simply tell me what your favorite thing about Halloween is in the comments section and I’ll draw one winner. The treat/prize? A $10 gift card to Amazon. I’ll let the contest run until the weekend and announce the winner on Sunday night.

Hope everyone has a safe and sweet holiday.

This entry was posted in New Release, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to A trick and a treat!

  1. angel90249 says:

    I love seeing all the little kids in their costumes so cute

  2. wyndwhisper says:

    loved the excerpt and the cover is gorgeous. i look forward to reading the rest of the book.
    my favorite thing is when the family comes over and we eat pizza and play dominoes while the kids are trick or treating and then when they get home we watch movies until bedtime.

    tammy ramey
    trvlagnt1t@yahoo.com

  3. laineslite says:

    Halloween is for everyone including dressing up in costumes and makeup, be they ghoulishly hideous or frighteningly beautiful. You can be who or whatever you want to be. It is the fun day of the year for that. I love it. This year in August I had a stroke so I am going to miss that since right now I am recuperating in a place stuck away from family and friends.

  4. Clare O'Beara says:

    I enjoy having kids call to my door for treats, the local kids didn’t know what to make of me when I moved in here – she cleans her own gutters! imagine! – but when I made it clear I was into sponsoring school sponsored walks and always had a bowl of goodies at Hallowe’en, we became the best of friends. I always chat about the costumes as they have gone to a lot of trouble.

  5. Favorite part of Halloween is seeing my kids just be kids. We watch them like crazy because of sex offenders and this is the one night of the year we let them go all out while we are there.

  6. Terri says:

    I love seeing all the creative costumes. We usually have lots of kids come by so there is always a good chance of seeing something outstanding.

  7. Teresa Hughes says:

    My favorite part of Halloween is all the scary movies. Our family piles into the living room together to watch movies while snacking on popcorn, pizza, etc. It is good family time for us as are kids are also past the costume age.

    Hope everyone has a great Halloween!

  8. Loretta2668@yahoo.com says:

    favorite thing about Halloween! Well I love how everyone lets out there wild side a bit.. Has a good time.. Dressing up. This year I have a Zombie son and a witchy little girl! You can’t bet that..

    Happy Halloween!

  9. Eileen says:

    Hey Mari! Hope you have fun tonight. The grandbaby is coming over tonight and we are doing the trick-or-treat thing here in my neighborhood. I miss going around the neighborhood with a little one. I love looking at all the costumes and other people’s jack-o-lanterns. That is the fun part if Halloween.

  10. leigh says:

    My favourite thing about halloween is dressing up!!! I still do it even at the wrong side of 40! Happy Halloween!!!!

  11. Raeline Peterson says:

    My favorite part of Halloween is tv shows all kinds of scary movies ,and i also like seeing all the little kids in their costumes .

  12. ronnie c says:

    Seeing all of the costumes, handing out treats, and the scary movies plus the Halloween Parties!!!

  13. chrisbails says:

    I love seeing what everyone dresses up as. I love seeing the adults and children and seeing what cute costumes they are wearing. I also love watching scary movies.

  14. Elaine S. says:

    I love the kids but my favorite things about Halloween is the crazy songs that come out then like Monster Mash, Werewolves of London and Purple People Eater. I also love to watch the old scary black and white movies with Boris Karloft, Lon Chaney, Lon Chaney Jr and Vincent Price.

  15. Jana Leah says:

    I love watching scary movies with friends on Halloween. Thanks for the giveaway.

  16. Armenia says:

    Status Update sounds similar to something my girlfriends and I did back in the day. When we would get together and talk about bad boyfriend experiences. To help get us out of the rut and missed opportunities, we formed a club called GAL (Get A Life). Each month we talk over cocktails and each share what something we did different for that month. Some of those stories were wild.

    Anyway, I do love Halloween and its my favorite time of the year because of Fall leaves and crisp weather. Mostly, all the decorations going around the neighborhood readying for trick or treat, and the kids dressing in their costumes. But the best part is finally when my husband and I get to rummage through the big candy stash the kids bring home.

  17. I love experiencing Halloween all over again with my grandsons. This year the youngest is almost 4 and really into the whole thing with pumpkins and skeletons as his favorite toys. Good times!

  18. Linda Lou says:

    Watching scary movies and seeing all the cute costumes on all the little kids. Trying to stay out of the candy meant for them! Also love looking at everyone’s Halloween decorations in their windows and yards. Saw some great ones this year….many went all out on the decorating.

  19. martha lawson says:

    I love all the costumes the kids wear! I saw some cute ones last night. Thanks for the awesome contest. The book sounds great.

  20. Cindy Hamilton says:

    Really like seeing the little kids dressed up, they always look so adorable!

  21. Sheila F says:

    I love that you can dress up as anything as you want to and have fun doing it.:)

  22. tore923 says:

    The kids dressing up in costumes. Thanks for the giveaway.

  23. eli yanti says:

    Customs and candy 🙂

  24. lisagk says:

    My favorite thing is seeing the kids at trick and treat. Thanks for asking.

  25. Stacia Smith says:

    My favorite part about Halloween is sitting on the porch and handing out candy to all the little boys and girls. I love seeing all of the different costumes!!

  26. Tracie says:

    Halloween is my favorite holiday to decorate for and seeing all the children dressed in the costumes always brightens my day!

  27. Marina B says:

    I usually like seeing all adorable kids in costumes. This year not so much…someone stole all our candy and the bowl while we were out with our kids. ):

Leave a Reply

