Have You Ever Read a Romance Novel That Reminded You of Your Grandma?

Cowboy UpI just finished Melissa Schroeder’s The Sweet Shoppe: Cowboy Up. Amazing book, and I just loved her sexy cowboy! (It’s available in the Cowboy 6 Pack, only $.99 for all six books)

In the book, the little elderly woman who runs The Sweet Shoppe reminded me of my grandmother. It was a little strange, because I usually don’t think of any of my grandparents when I read sexy romances! But this little granny has some magical powers – just like my Grama Gert.

Grama Gert was a little Hungarian troll of a woman by the time she neared the end of her life. Whiskers and big ears, gnarled fingers and a nose just like mine but twice as large. The first time my hubby, Kick, met her, I could see him glancing back and forth between us, probably judging how long it would take for me to start looking just like her.

Honestly, I hope I do take after her! She and her sister had some interesting powers that they chose not to share with their own daughters. Instead, they taught the second generation. Me!

Grama showed me the proper way to hold my hands to put a curse on someone. Taught me the correct words to use to place it and make it stick. She also cautioned me that putting a curse on someone meant that I was holding the power end of the curse, and it would take a lot of my energy to keep the curse active.

I have to admit, I did put a curse on someone once. Truly someone who deserved it, or so I thought. Then, after cooling off and thinking about it, I removed the curse. I have no idea if this stuff works, but I didn’t want to take any chances.

I like to think that while Grama Gert showed me the darker side of our family’s powers, we also have a light side, a way to send grace and good Karma to people who need it. So, that’s what I focus on now days. Kind of like Melissa’s Sweet Shoppe owner in Cowboy Up. Sending out sexy goodness in her sweet treats.

How about you? Do you believe in magical powers? If you could have any magical power, what would it be?

Sending you Good Karma!
Randi
“Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied”
RandiAlexander.com
Facebook
Facebook Fan Page
Twitter
My Books – read the first chapters and find buy links:
Chase and Seduction
Double Her Fantasy
Cowboy 6 Pack
Cowboy Jackpot: Christmas
Cowboy Jackpot: Valentine’s Day
Cowboy Jackpot: St. Patrick’s Day
Her Cowboy Stud
Turn Up the Heat
Cowboy Bad Boys
Cowboy Lust
Free Read! A Gentleman and a Cowboy is available at Amazon, Smashwords, All Romance Ebooks, Diesel Ebook Store, Barnes and Noble

About Randi Alexander

Writer of Erotic Romances - "Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Have You Ever Read a Romance Novel That Reminded You of Your Grandma?

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    No I’ve never read a romance novel that reminded me of my grandmother! I don’t think their lives were very romantic, they had to work hard and raise kids without many modern conveniences. I don’t see any magic around so I don’t believe in it. If I see some I can change my mind. What magic I’d like to have would be the magic of healing others.

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Healing power would be wonderful, Clare. I spoke with a psychic who does healing, and she feels both blessed and burdened with the gift. It takes a lot out of her, physically and emotionally.

  2. First of all, I love Melissa and loved Cowboy Up! I do tend to believe in mysterious things that others might not, like magical powers. I’m not sure which one power I would pick. I think I would rather be like the Supreme (Jessica Lange) in American Horror Story and be the one who has all the powers. lol

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Yes, Michelle, Melissa’s an amazingly talented writer. And yes, Michelle, you’d be perfect as the Supreme! You could pull it of!

  3. Michelle says:

    Grandma Mazur was a lot like my Grandma, because she had no filter, whatsoever. My Grandma just launched her opinions, typically about sex, like bombs. It was hysterical, albeit incredibly embarrassing at times.

    I’ve always been interested in earth religions, but if I had to choose a magical power, I would choose telekinesis – the ability to move objects with my mind.

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Aw, I love Grandma Mazur in Janet Evanovich’s books. She’s a hoot! You must have had a wonderful time with your grandma. Telekinesis would be interesting. I’m always forgetting something in another room, and it’d come in handy.

  4. In my book coming out next month, the grandmother in the book, Mamie, is named after my grandmother on my dad’s side. However, she’s much like my grandmother on my mother’s side. Loving. Wanting the world for me. Willing to do anything for me (and my sister and my cousins.) She used to give me $0.50 every time she saw me (when I was very young.) I called her my “50-cent grandma.” Ha!

    I have this book on my Kindle. I’ll have to move it up higher on my TBR list!

    • Randi Alexander says:

      That’s such a sweet memory of your grandma, Cynthia. And so cool that you could incorporate her spirit into your book. Yes, definitely get to Melissa’s book soon – it’s worth it!

  5. Mary Preston says:

    My Grandma would have blushed just looking at the covers of books I read. No character has ever reminded me of her.

    • Randi Alexander says:

      I don’t know if my grandma would have blushed or not. She had a bit of a naughty side about her (just like me!) Thanks for dropping by, Mary.

  6. tiss81 says:

    No, no book has ever reminded me of my grandmother, I only remember one. She would never have read anything like I”m reading. LOL.
    I’m not sure if I had magical powers what I’d do with them. So I’ll just be glad I dont. Have a great day Randi!

  7. Cindy Hamilton says:

    Cowboy 6 Pack was great! But no book reminded me of either of my grandmothers.

Leave a Reply

