Writing about cowboys!

So why do we like to write about cowboys? Good question.

I personally have a thing for them so that’s why I write about them, but I do like how they treat their women, wear their boots, hats, and jeans and just the general persona behind a cowboy. They are caring, sensitive, gentlemanly, at least in my books and I assume in my fellow writer’s books. Of course, there is always a bad guy. *insert evil grin*

I went to a dude ranch last year in Bandera, Texas for a few days with a writer’s retreat and it spawned my new series Cowboy Dreamin’ which takes place in Bandera. I loved the little town, but I also loved looking at the cowboys. It was cool to be able to take it all in and not get in trouble for staring.

I’ve been to San Antonio as well with a small conference last year called The Naughty Sleepover. This year it’s called Wild Wicked Weekend and yes, I’ll be attending it as well. This is at a haunted hotel near the Alamo, which is really cool, but that’ll be for another post.

The whole atmosphere of Texas gets to me. I love the laid back attitude, friendly people, and when the guys tips their hats? Oh my!

So for me to write about cowboys comes naturally. Why do you like to read about them?

~ Sandy

P.S. Leave a comment and I’ll pick one winner to receive a signed ebook copy of Make Mine a Cowboy at 9am tomorrow morning!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Writing about cowboys!

  1. Susan T. says:

    Love the laid back attitude and they can wear a pair of Levis like no other.

  2. Marina B says:

    I have always loved guys in jeans and cowboy boots!

  3. Chris Bails says:

    I love reading anything about cowboys. I love what they wear, who they treat people & especially women, how hard working they are, and their very laid back attitude. I am jealous that you went to a Dude Ranch. I would love to go. But I would get into trouble with some sexy cowboys. Going to be waiting for the Cowboy Dreamin’ series. You are a new author for me and love finding authors that can write a good cowboy story.

  4. Clare O'Beara says:

    A haunted hotel? You definitely have to tell us about that stay!
    I like reading anything that is well written, keeps me learning and is full of good characters. And I love horses and the outdoors. So all this combines to make cowboy romances a good field to read in for me.

  5. Mary Roya says:

    Is the Naughty Sleepover open to any writer? I wanta go too. If it doesn’t cost an arm and a leg. I went to a Dude Ranch in Bandera, Texas. I loved it. Hubby discovered that he can’t ride a horse. He said he legs don’t stretch that far. Sigh, I’d like to go again. roya-clan@sbcglobal.net for Naughty Sleepover.

  6. Sheila F says:

    I like reading about cowboys because not only are they hot looking in cowboy clothes, they live by a moral code that touches your heart.:)

  7. I live in Texas and have lived here most of my adult life, but I never get tired of seeing guys in those jeans, cowboy hats and boots! 🙂

  8. I BAD want to go to a dude ranch, especially a WORKING dude ranch. I think I was would be SO inspired! LOL My DH is so awesome about my cowboy fixation. He sends me pictures of cowboys as inspiration AND bought himself a pair of boots! 🙂

  9. Cowboy culture is old fashioned respect for women, honesty, manners, a handshake seals the deal etc. I still believe in the white hat wearing hero. That’s why I read about cowboys.

  10. There is something about being called ma’am, not miss thank you I’ve passed that age and wear my ma’am proudly. A ma’am and a wicked smile says a lot!

  11. martha lawson says:

    Love me some cowboys!! Love the way they ride a horse, or a bull! They just seem to have a sense of honor. Thanks for the chance.

  12. i agree with you there is something about a cowboy. I will read a cowboy story over anything else out.

  13. Eileen says:

    My friends and I will be at WWW also! Woo hoo!! Looking forward to it.

  14. Tiss says:

    I love anything cowboy, because I live in Cowboy country and there are so many around. I live in the country, so that’s what I like to read.

  15. Tricia K says:

    I love to read about cowboys! I’m still looking for one to call mine.

  16. Elaine S. says:

    I love cowboys…they are laid back and they have a code of honor that I have always loved!!!!!I guess it’s because I grew up with John Wayne (the ultimate cowboy!!!!!).

  17. Annette says:

    I like the ideals that they live by. My family have always been farmers…not the same as cowboys but family, hard work and love of the land are important to both. “My” cowboy would be from the area of the Rockies. Love the scenery in that area…and I do mean the mountains.

  18. sandys37 says:

    And the winner is……

    edor628@gmail.com

    I’ll be emailing your signed copy of Make Mine a Cowboy shortly. Look for an email from autography. That will contain your book.

    Enjoy!

    Thank you to all who commented. I love reading everyone’s take on the cowboy and why we love them so much. Happy Reading!

    ~ Sandy

  19. Mary Preston says:

    I love looking at cowboys. I love reading about cowboys. I love cowboys.

Leave a Reply

