Adventure into Cowboy Land

Montana StormLast weekend, Asa Maria Bradley and I headed through the big state of Montana to attend the Montana Writer’s conference in Billings.  Besides wanting to meet the amazing writers in Montana, I also wanted to spend some time in Billings, considering my Maverick Montana characters often go to the city.  Their imaginary town of Mineral Lake is inside the imaginary county of Maverick…which is outside of Billings.  The picture to the left shows the awesome Montana storm we drove through on the way.

Continental DivideAsa and I went for a walk our first night there, and we promptly ended up trespassing throughout a big lot holding new, shiny, tractor pieces.  What was funny was that we kept on going and found a very cool winery on the other side…right during a tasting!  They invited us back the next day for the grape stomping, but we had our conference.  Anyway, here’s a picture I took on the way…after having to pull over on I-90 and scramble up a slippery hill. 

Testi festivalWe also saw lots and lots of cowboy and cowgirls in hats.  VERY cool!  On our way home, Asa and I stopped by the stockyards for a quick glimpse of more cowboys, and I have to tell you, there’s nothing like a guy in boots, jeans, and Stetson on top of a horse.  Also, a bit of the way home, I just had to snap this picture…I love Montana!

About Rebecca Zanetti

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author of paranormal, contemporary, and romantic suspense romances. Current series include: Dark Protectors, Sin Brothers, and Maverick Montana.
This entry was posted in cowboys and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Adventure into Cowboy Land

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    I love the pictures! Very educational! What majestic scenery – must make for a difficult drive.

  2. Mary Preston says:

    I’d love to visit Montana. I should work it so that I arrive in time for the Testicle Festival. What a hoot!!

  3. Eileen says:

    That first picture is absolutely beautiful. I love the bottom billboard as well. LOL Would love to take a trip like yours one day. Too many places to see and so little PTO and $$$.

Leave a Reply

