It’s Raining, er, Snowing Men!!

Hi everyone! Jennifer Jakes here. Today I wanted to introduce Mimi Foster, author of the steamy contemporary romance, THUNDER SNOW. (Be sure to leave a comment at the end to be entered into the Give-away Mimi is holding. )MimiFoster_ThunderSnow_HR

Our heroes

Men. The older I get, the more I love them. And I’m obviously not the only one since there was one-and-a-half BILLION dollars in revenue generated last year from the romance genre. So what is it that makes us take our hard earned dollars and countless hours of our time to read about heroes who make our hearts lust (among other parts) and leave us wanting more?

In thinking about what we’re looking for when we escape into our eReaders or paper bound books in our stolen moments (often referred to as ‘guilty pleasures’), I couldn’t help but wonder if it was (1) the story or (2) the sex or (3) the hero that we crave? As a writer of romances that are considered hot and steamy (not erotica), my answer was ‘YES’ to all of the above.

There has to be a good story, obviously. Depending on your degree of reading desire, the sex can be anything from first kiss to bondage to everything in between. But there tends to be a consistency in the men we fall in love with, one book at a time.

When I first started writing my novel, THUNDER SNOW, I took a picture of a man I found attractive and had him all over my computer. He was my Jack, and as I wrote the story, he is what I had in mind. Even though he did not end up on the cover, he physically embodies what many of us are looking for. Here’s what I believe we consistently look for in our Alpha male heroes. I think I did a pretty good job of giving Jack most of these qualities.

Somewhat attractive ~ intelligent ~ vital ~ confident ~ competent ~ protective ~ clean ~ often older ~ experienced ~ sexy voice ~ tall ~ status ~ expressive eyes ~ nice butt ~ sense of humor ~ passionate ~ becomes vulnerable ~ ends in committed relationship

I would LOVE to know what YOU think should be added to or subtracted from this list.

 AboutTS2

This is a story about two people, each running from the harshness of life to a small town that is known for its ‘live and let live’ attitude. Jack Franklin has a secret, and for years has been able to avoid the tourists who trek through his hamlet that overlooks a beautiful body of water nestled in the Rocky Mountains. Callie Weston is running from her own demons, and finds refuge in her father’s enchanting cabin carved into the side of the mountain. Jack’s world is shaken as their relationship deepens and sparks fly between them, but will their love be strong enough to overcome the ghosts of their pasts that will try to pull them apart?

Excerpt

So smitten was I that I thought I conjured him up when I opened my eyes and saw him staring at me in the mirror. I closed my eyes, slid deep into the water, and chuckled.

“What’s so funny, little one?” he asked softly.

“Jack?!” I said, splashing water as I came up hurriedly.

“You were expecting someone else, maybe?”

“I’d be lying if I said I minded you showing up at odd hours.” I felt myself blushing for my loose tongue and slid deeper under the water.

Jack sat on the edge of this magnificent tub that was built into the mountainside.

“Your most attractive quality, in my opinion, is that you don’t seem to have a filter on your honesty. I am often surprised you don’t hide behind guile. I’ve thought of little else all day.”

“’Thought of little else all day’ meaning my honesty?” I asked.

Smiling, he turned his gaze on me, the vision I had just been comparing to the blue of the pool. “Thought of little else all day besides you, and many of your different facets,” he said as he walked across the room and removed a towel from the heated holder.

“My facets or my assets?”

“Yes,” he said, holding the towel open to wrap me in. “Wondering how in the world you have come to occupy so much of my thought space. Wondering what kind of magnet you have that keeps drawing me back to you. Wondering what kind of spell you’ve cast that I can’t seem to break.”

Surprised at his words, at the thought behind them, at what they did to my entire being, I stepped into the towel, into his arms, and said quietly, “You don’t really want to, do you?”

I felt his body still and begin to harden. “Don’t really want to what?”

“Don’t really want to break the spell.”

He relaxed against me. “Certainly not tonight. None of this was in my plans, but nothing could have kept me away. I’ve been hard for you all day. Have thought of the taste of you all day. Thought of the way you moved under my lips and wanted you moving under me since the moment I walked out of here this morning.”

“Well, isn’t that a coincidence? I’ve been thinking of your lips all day. Wondering if you inject them with drugs. Wondering what magic they hold and how they draw so much out of me. So it appears as though we are sharing an addiction,” I smiled as I headed to the bedroom and lit a solitary candle, “an addiction that could easily become an obsession.”

About Mimi

As the mother of five daughters and a teenage granddaughter, angst and crazy ex-boyfriends are things with which I am all too familiar. As a highly acclaimed Realtor and author of a national real estate blog, I am well-qualified to convey the job aspects of the main character of my story. As a student at the University of Colorado in Boulder when music greats like Jerry Garcia, John Denver, Elton John, and dozens of other superstars were recording at nearby Caribou Ranch and considered Nederland their second home, it was one of my favorite haunts. It became the perfect setting for this sexy, modern-day romance.

You can find Mimi on Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Pinterest, MimiFosterBooks

Where2buy

On sale now (eBook – 99c) on Amazon. Available, too, in paperback. You can also purchase it from a link on Mimi’s website, MimiFosterBooks.com.

Giveaways

Leave a comment below no later than Thursday, September 19, 2013, and you will be entered to win one of three drawings – two drawings for a free copy of THUNDER SNOW (eBook or paperback, your choice), and one drawing for a $25 gift certificate to your choice of either Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Starbucks, or Staples.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

About jenniferjakes

Multi-award winning author telling the naughty side of the Old West ;)
This entry was posted in Book Cover Art, eBooks, Excerpts, inspiration, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to It’s Raining, er, Snowing Men!!

  1. JackieW says:

    Thunder Storm sounds like a great read…my kind of story. Glad I read about it here.

  2. Joye says:

    Would like to read your book…I like strong, sexy men.

  3. Eileen says:

    great post. I love your list of qualities and agree with them. You pretty much covered most of what I look for in a hero. Thanks for the chance to win.

    • TheOriginalMimi says:

      Thanks so much, Eileen. One day when writing I realized that we would never settle for an unkempt hero, which was an aha moment that there really is a common denominator in what we want from these men, no matter where they’re from or what their walk of life.

  4. Teresa Hughes says:

    Great excerpt! Definitely want to check this one out! Thanks for the giveaway:)

  5. Clare O'Beara says:

    Intelligent and good sense of humour are my top two. I don’t think you’ve left out anything vital. Reasonably good dress sense? And stop calling reading a guilty pleasure!

    • TheOriginalMimi says:

      When I started reading romance novels, Clare, that’s exactly what they were. So much so that we covered them with frilly book covers so no one would know what we were reading (yeah, right). With the advent of the eReader, it’s a lot easier to read in public no matter what we’re reading. It has certainly become a much more acceptable genre read than it was a few decades ago, but there is definitely no shame in the pastime. 🙂

  6. TheOriginalMimi says:

    I believe you were right the first time, Jenn. I HAS been raining men here in Colorado! Sun’s out today for the first time in a while. Thanks so much for letting me be a part of your group today.

  7. Elaine S. says:

    Sounds wonderful I just added it to my TBR list….. I was surprised that the money we spend on romance genre wasn’t more. I am like you I said yes to all three of the things above.

    • TheOriginalMimi says:

      Even though that number is Billion, I have to admit, Elaine, that I was surprised it wasn’t more also. I think it may have something to do with 99c and $2.99 eBooks that it wasn’t higher?

  8. Kevin says:

    Great title, looks like a very interesting read, congratulations on the book.

  9. Presley says:

    Oooooh this Thunder Snow sounds exciting! Thanks for telling about it, I have to read it now!

  10. Jennie Marts says:

    Looks like a good one! I love stories set in Colorado! Can’t wait to try this one! 🙂

  11. Jack is everything you described. Can’t wait to envision the next hero in your book, Thunder Struck. You are going to go far my friend.

  12. Crystal H says:

    I don’t believe I have read any of your books but this looks really good! I’m definitely adding it be my TBR pile. 🙂

    • TheOriginalMimi says:

      Good morning, Crystal. This was my first book, but book 2 (series, stand alone, set in Nederland) should be published early November.Thanks for your comment.

  13. Like all the qualities you listed. Tall is not a requirement for me but then at 5’2″ everyone is tall to me. This sounds like a must read to me. Thank you!

    • TheOriginalMimi says:

      Too funny, Michelle. Perspective is a funny thing, is it not? I’m 5’9″, and my girls and I had a saying ~ “Tall makes up for a whole lotta ugly.”

  14. Joanne B says:

    Congrats on the release. I love strong, sexy, kind men with a great sesnse of humor. I mean, if they can’t laugh at themselves, who wants them. Thanks for the great post and excerpt. Can’t wait to read Thunder Snow to see more of Jack and Callie.

  15. TheOriginalMimi says:

    ‘Kind’ is one that I left off the list, isn’t it, Joanne? I think that’s very important. Thanks so much for stopping by.

  16. Michelle Major says:

    Congrats on the book, Mimi! My favorite characteristic in a hero is that he ends up loving the heroine for who she is. Not easy to boil down into one word but that give me the butterflies. 🙂

    • TheOriginalMimi says:

      Thanks, Michelle! You’re right, NOT easy to put into one or two words, but there was a lot of freedom for me in my writing recently when I realized that there really are BASICS that we’re looking for, and the rest is what makes the story good. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by.

  17. Diana Castle says:

    Congrats on your release! Your list pretty much covers all the bases as far as the qualities of a great romance hero. I would add a man who is intuitive. Who knows what the heroine wants or needs sometimes even before she knows it herself. He knows and understands her that well. 🙂

  18. Cindy Hamilton says:

    Hi Mimi! I just love finding authors I have not read before(sorry!) but after reading this I can tell I am interested in reading Thunder Snow and anything else you have written. Love your list !

    • TheOriginalMimi says:

      Thank you, Cindy. I’m writing as fast as my little fingers will go 🙂 Close to being done with Book 2 (Thunder Snow was my first). Second should be published early November.

  19. Debbie Dawson says:

    Hey Mimi!!!!! I so enjoyed your book and wish you the best of everything!!!
    Love ya!!

  20. Sheila F says:

    Thanks for posting, it helps me find new authors to read.:) You did good on the list of traits for a guy that I could only think of one thing to add. That he loves spending time with family(his and yours).

  21. Your book seems very interesting to discover! I would gladly write a review for Thunder Snow!

  22. Marina Buff says:

    Thunder Snow sounds like a great story! Can’t wait to read your book!

  23. Kathy Burfeind Sauerhagen says:

    I don’t need a free book, I bought mine the first day. Your Jack was perfect to me. He’s my Rod, my husband of 35+ years. With all that going for him, he ended up my everything, but his friendship means the most. We always treat our friends better that our families. Mimi, your book is amazing. When does the next one come out?

    • TheOriginalMimi says:

      Hello, dear one. I loved Jack too. I’ll have to share the pic that I had on my computer. Hot, hot, hot 🙂 I’m so glad you have your Rod. I have my Dave, the very best of friends and business partners for years before we got married. SO, SO glad you liked it, Kathy. Early November and it is going to be totally different but . . . well, hmmm 🙂

  24. Thanks for the awesome giveaway. I would love to read this book. Sounds very good.

  25. Mary Preston says:

    Has to be intelligent & with a sense of humour. You nailed it.

    • TheOriginalMimi says:

      It was a revelation to me that there is a thread that runs through most romance genres. We can have a million different stories, but the hero almost always has these qualities. Thanks for stopping by!

  26. Love the excerpt and can hardly wait to read the entire story. Thunder Snow sounds like a great book, and I’m loving the cool book cover, too! Jack sounds like quite a guy. I will be looking forward to the next book to follow.

    • TheOriginalMimi says:

      Thank you for your comment, Linda. Killion designed cover 😉 I love Jack. It was definitely a take away from the book.

Leave a Reply

