It’s That Time Of Year…

…And no, I’m not talking about THAT time of year! *shudders*

It’s FOOTBALL! I spent my weekend watching football, watching ESPN GameDay and College Football Live and anything else I could get my eyes on. I also wrote, edited, wrote, and ate some really good game day foods.

I won’t wax on about football because this is a cowboy blog but I didn’t want to miss my day, though I didn’t have anything cowboy’ish to talk about.

I’m a huge fan of the game and I watch religiously all season from the first kickoff play to the final seconds of the BCS Championship game. The team t-shirts, the team coffee cup and drinking glasses, the team serving bowls, the flag that hangs outside the house, the team watch… It’s all about supporting and superstition.

There are several teams I follow (Florida State Seminoles, Cincinnati Bearcats, and South Carolina Gamecocks), and several more that I can’t stand and root against them every chance I get.

Our house is truly a sports mecca…

So, if you follow football or not, many people have favorite gameday foods… Do you? In our house: sausage and cheese balls, bbq smokies, boiled peanuts, always a plate of veggies and cheese, nachos, chili…

Now, I need to get back to watching my Seminoles in their first game this season… Have a great week, y’all!

~lissa

About Lissa Matthews

author of contemporary erotic romance
This entry was posted in totally off topic and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s That Time Of Year…

  1. Mary Preston says:

    I’m not a fan of football in any code.

  2. Clare O'Beara says:

    While I don’t follow sports much, I used to be a showjumper so I think it’s great to support your team and favourite sport as this encourages young people to get involved.
    Can’t help on the foods!

  3. Tiss says:

    I have watched football. I’m just not a person who has to sit in front of a TV watching it religious ly. So you won’t find it on at my house. LOL. No special foods either.

  4. Eileen says:

    You are a girl after my own heart. I LOVE college football. I watched it on Saturdays and love the bowl games at the end of the season. good luck this season.

  5. Cindy Hamilton says:

    SEC football seems like a religion in Alabama where I live now. Go Roll Tide, but of course I still have to cheer for my Wisconsin Badgers(I grew up there). Now for the Pros it’s the Green Bay Packers all the way. Good luck to your teams also!

  6. Even if you don’t like sports, they weasel there way into all our lives. So, I’ve grown accustom to them and embrace them. I actually revel in the few moments I understand what’s going on, who the players are, and can get excited about football in a way I never really wanted to felt was necessary before. I feel connected to my hubs in a new way during football season, so I’ve come to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

