Guest Blogger Melissa Schroeder and The Paniolo

When I first introduced Eli St John in A Little Harmless Submission, some people were surprised that there were cowboys in Hawaii. There are, and they have a long and rich history on the Big Island.

The Big Island has more farms and ranches than most of the other islands. It is the biggest one, hence the name, and still growing thanks to the active volcano on the island. It all started back with a gift to King Kamehameha at the turn of the 19th century.

The first ranch was actually started by the king’s son-in-law, John Palmer Parker, who wrangled up the cattle that had been allowed to roam free for about two decades. He was also the first person to bring in the vaqueros to teach Hawaiians how to rope and ride.

Since then, the ranching community has gone through a few changes. Now many of the ranches are open to visitors and you can get a glimpse of daily life on the ranch. One of the biggest is Parker Ranch which has a great website with some fantastic info and is part of the original ranch started by John Palmer Parker.

Other Ranches

Kahua Ranch

Puakea Ranch

Kahuku Ranch

Dahana Ranch – the only completely Hawaiian operated ranch on the island.

Melissa Schroeder is the author of over fifty short stories, novellas and novels in so many different genres it boggles the mind—not to mention scrambling her brains. She is an Air Force wife, the mother of military brats, and a lover of the absurd. You can find out more about her online:

Website

Blog

Twitter

FB Fanpage

Harmless Addicts

Trailer:

Check out her newest release, A Little Harmless Ride, coming to digital on July 9th. ( image url-http://melissaschroeder.net/images/covers/harmless/ride/ride_450.jpg)

A LITTLE HARMLESS RIDE

BUY THE BOOK

READ THE FIRST CHAPTER

CHECK OUT THE HARMLESS SERIES

When this Dom falls hard, he will do anything to protect the woman he loves.

Elias St John has lived a life most people wouldn’t believe. An Aussie by birth, he has found his way to the Big Island working as the right hand man to Joe Kaheaku. When his boss dies and leaves the ranch to Eli and Joe’s niece Crysta Miller, Eli finds himself more than a little attracted to her.

After finding her fiancé in bed with another woman and helping her father through his illness, Crysta is ready for a new start. The offer of the ranch far away from home is perfect. The only problem she has is with Eli who constantly tells her what to do. When an argument turns into a passionate kiss, both of them get more than they were expecting.

Eli finds himself completely enthralled with Crysta as his submissive. As seemingly simple accidents turn deadly, Eli realizes that someone is bent on destroying the ranch by any means possible—even murder.

» WARNING: this book contains the following: A cynical Dom, a woman ready for adventure, Hawaiian cowboys-yeah they have them, horse rides, stunning sunsets and a new island for Addicts to cherish. Remember, it’s Harmless so bring on the ice water and towels.

Want a chance at a 25.00 GC? If you could go for a “ranch” vacation, would you go for the hands on experience, as in having to handle cows and horses, or a luxury ranch where you get daily massages from your own hunky cowboy massage therapist?

About Randi Alexander

Writer of Erotic Romances - "Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Guest Blogger Melissa Schroeder and The Paniolo

  1. cewtnk says:

    That is a REALLY hard question. I’ve done the traditional ranch vacation and it was so fun!! And freakin hard!! Maybe I would go for the luxury vacation this time..lol. Nothing like waking up to something hot massaging you…unless he is doing something else..LOL!!!!

  2. kitten18blog says:

    I like hands-on experience, but who wouldn’t like to be pampered by a hunky cowboy?

  3. Cherie Clark says:

    I think I would do the work one and see if I could convince one of the cowboys to help relieve the muscle aches later on that night lol. I would want a real experience. Love ya Mel and Randi

  4. Elena Moreno says:

    Hands on all the way.
    Cowboys like women not scared to get their hands dirty.

  5. Clare O'Beara says:

    Very interesting about Hawaii! If I went to a ranch I would expect to see ranch life and do ranch work. Otherwise I could go to a spa hotel for the massage!

  6. SheriV says:

    Definitely hands on. Though a trip to the spa wouldn’t be turned down. But honestly I love ranches having grown up in a ranch town. 🙂

    smurfettev AT gmail DOT com

  7. Eileen says:

    I think I would prefer the hands on experience. It would be fun and scary all together at once.

  8. wyndwhisper says:

    are those the only 2 choices? I kinda would prefer a mix of the 2 myself.
    tammy ramey
    trvlagnt1t@yahoo.com

  9. carol L says:

    I think I’ll go with both. lol A little hands on work and then a lot of hands on massage later. 🙂
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

  10. I never knew there were ranches in Hawaii!?! WOW!!

    If I could go on a ranch vacation I would want a bit of both…hands on work, then hands on the cowboy and me, of course! Where can I find one of those??

    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

  11. Annie says:

    Thanks for the interesting info, Randi. What do they call a greenhorn in Hawaii? Cause that would be me. But I would love to try getting out there with the cows on a horse. Better have some strong, callused hands rubbing me down later and getting out all of the kinks….and the sore muscles too! LOL

  12. Michelle V says:

    That is a tough one because I would love a little of both, hands on, and pampering! I LOVE the Harmless series and have been so anxious for a new one! I just recently picked this one up and can’t wait to dive in! I’ve been hoping Elias would have a story.

  13. Ginger Ring says:

    I love Montana so definitely Chico Hot Springs Resort and Spa in paradise valley, Montana!!

  14. Susan White says:

    I think it would be interesting to have the hands on experience of a ranch with a nice rub down from a cowboy at the end of the day. Yeah, that would be a nice vacation!
    suz2(at)cox(dot)net

  15. Enikö says:

    it is on my bucket list to experience a real ranch, so a hands on experience would be awesome. I can get a spa experience in the city too 😀

  16. Michele Costello says:

    Wow that’s a really hard decision. The hands on training would be cool but I don’t ride well so I would probably go with the luxury vacation. Unless I could do both and get the massages to counteract the soreness from the hands on training. 🙂

  17. leann says:

    At my age .. I’m alittle too old for either. 😉
    But I’d have to say I wouldn’t mind the ‘hands on experience’ pampering, but I’d like to see the horse & cow handling.
    leamei1981@yahoo.com

  18. Mina Gerhart says:

    LOVE the blurb for A Little Harmless Ride!
    Gotta be a luxury ranch where I get daily massages from my own hunky cowboy massage therapist (or two??)

    Mindy 🙂
    Birdsooong@comcast.net

  19. Laura Mendez says:

    I’m sure I would go for the experience of the whole outdoor thing. But I’m also positive that I would get distracted by all the sweet cowboys….. getting their hands on me. YES sign me up for that.
    blpmendez@yahoo.com

  20. Angela Peters says:

    It would have to be hands on. Why else go to a ranch? You can go to a spa for the massages.

  21. Slick Reads says:

    I’ve been on a real ranch many times and I’d hardly call it a vacation so I think I’d go for the luxury one myself!

  22. stirewaltt says:

    Hands on all the way. The best in shape cowboys will be the ones out there working after all …

  23. Leilani says:

    Great article! Don’t let the old timers here you call them Paniolos though. The original term is Paniola.

  24. Well it is a vacation sooo I would go for the massage. Now if they really needed my help I would for an emergency:-).

  25. Linda Lou says:

    I’d like both! The hands on work experience and later the hands on hunky cowboy massaging all my aching sore muscles (which I’m sure would be all over my entire body)! Hee-Haw lol

  26. Ashley says:

    I would enjoy the hands-on ranch. However, I would not want to experience all the chores that need to be done. But I would enjoy a hunky cowboy rubbing me all over 😉

  27. Linda Lou says:

    I’d like some of both! Some hands on work experience, and later…. some hands on ME, from a hunky cowboy working out all my aches from my sore muscles (which would entail my entire body head- to- toe, of course), because I worked so hard all day! Hee-Haw! (lol)

  28. Lea says:

    I’ll go with the luxury spa one, ’cause I think cowboys are totally hot and while I wouldn’t mind watching them work from a distance, I have an unfortunate horse allergy (the last time I rode my eyes ended up swollen shut and I had to be led back to the house) and its pretty unattractive (and who wants to be unattractive around hot cowboys?)

  29. Jacki C says:

    I LOVE Parker Ranch – they have the best beef in the world. As for going on a vacation – I’d totally go for the hands-on approach with horses, and cowboys. 🙂

  30. mathlady68 says:

    I would like to do both, actually. The hands on ranch with my kids so they can learn about how to work hard. The massage/spa kind for me because I deserve it!!!

  31. lisagk says:

    Hands on.

  32. Mary Preston says:

    Luxury all the way for me. I want to be pampered. I want to be clean & fed. The only dirty I want is…..

    (Look at that I ran out of words!!!!)

  33. Tina B says:

    Great post, Melissa! I did not know that there were cowboys in Hawaii. 🙂
    I, personally, would choose luxury. I have been on enough farms that I know what they smell like. Lol. Besides, a sexy cowboy message sounds delightful! 😉
    I need to start this series soon!

  34. Amanda m says:

    Hands on experience would be wonderful.

  35. JackieW says:

    I would go to a Spa Ranch….I’ve already been to a Colorado Dude Ranch and had the hands on experience….plus I got to do those things on my grandpa’s farm. He had several horses. I love to be pampered.

  36. JOYE says:

    I would go for the hands on experiences. I love horses.

Leave a Reply

