Ugly Stick Rides Again! PRIZE!

It’s that time again! Time for another visit to the UGLY STICK SALOON!

****Karen Bradford is the winner of the prize below!!****

BOOTS AND ROSES

Nothin’s hotter than summer in Texas unless it’s the Annual Cowboy Auction!

BootsAndRoses200x300Blurb

Coming once, coming twice…SOLD!

Bunny Leigh really shouldn’t care that her ex is days away from getting remarried. Yet the fact he’s getting hitched to the woman he cheated on her with stings more than she cares to admit.

It’s that sting that drives her to impulsively throw a bid in the annual Ugly Stick Saloon Cowboy Auction. To her surprise, she lands not only one of the best-looking men in the tri-county area, but two. The prospect of keeping up with two younger men has the shy florist quaking in her flower pots.

Little does she know, best friends Cory McBride and Jack Monahan made doubly sure their favorite florist won them both. But now they have their work cut out for them, convincing her they want more than one steamy night. They want a chance at forever.

Product Warnings

A cop, a cowboy and a flower shop owner make the petals fly! And look what happens when the Ferris wheel stops at the top. Bring a fan, the heat’s rising at the Ugly Stick Saloon.

Excerpt

Copyright © 2013 Myla Jackson
All rights reserved — a Samhain Publishing, Ltd. publication

For forty-five minutes, Bunny left the paddle on the bar, refusing to give in to her loneliness and bid on a paid-for pity date. One by one the men paraded around the stage, women bid and the gavel banged. One by one the chance for a date passed and Bunny slipped deeper into a blue funk.

Her lips still tingled from the contact with Cory’s and Jack’s, and she raised her hand to touch her mouth. No vibrator had affected her as much as those earth-shaking kisses. Once again, Bunny considered Audrey’s words. Maybe it was time for her to get out in the dating pool again and give love a second chance.

“Hold on to your belt buckles, ladies,” Charli said with a flourish. “Here to introduce the final act, the woman who made the Cowboy Auction possible, Audrey Anderson.”

Audrey stepped up on the stage with Deputy Monahan holding her arm. The owner of the Ugly Stick Saloon took the microphone from Charli and faced the crowd, her face straight, serious. “Ladies, it’s been brought to my attention that we’ve had several instances of sexual misconduct against our own Deputy Jack Monahan. I ask you to please keep your hands to yourself and respect the man who was brought here to keep the peace.”

One woman yelled, “Boo!”

The room full of women joined her, all shouting, “Boo!”

Bunny smiled. If she wasn’t mistaken, Audrey had something up her sleeve and she was playing the audience.

Audrey winked. “Oh, so you like playing dirty?”

As one, the women yelled, “Hell, yeah!”

“Then let’s raise the stakes. For the first time in Cowboy Auction history, we’re offering up a two-fer.”

The ladies roared their approval.

Despite her resolve to remain unaffected by the goings on in the saloon, Bunny leaned forward, a tingle of anticipation rippling through her body. Cory hadn’t been offered up for auction yet and he’d hinted at a surprise. Was this it?

“All our cowboys have been fabulous sports about this auction, but the last bidding opportunity we’re offering tonight is special and near and dear to my heart. Please welcome the two-fer deal of Cory ‘The stripper so hot you’ll singe your fingers’ McBride…”

Cory danced out on the stage, wearing a vest, boots and leather chaps over a black G-string. The only thing not showing was his package, and it was swelled enough to give every woman enough information to go on. The man was hung.

Bunny sucked in a breath and held it while her pulse pounded so loud she could barely hear herself think. Her deliveryman had been in her sex dreams and fantasies more and more often lately. Now this… Holy smokin’ cowboys!

Audrey continued, “The other half of this dynamic duo is our very own man of peace, Deputy ‘Pull over and let me frisk you’ Jack Monahan!” Audrey handed the microphone back to Charli.

Deputy Monahan joined Cory center stage, slipping his uniform shirt off, exposing shoulders as broad as Cory’s and equally tanned and gleaming with a fine layer of oil.

Holy rock stars! Between the Adonis blond beauty that was Cory and the dark, rugged sex appeal of Jack, Bunny could barely breathe.

The crowd exploded in a frenzy, all the paddles raising in the air as the bidding started.

Bunny perched on the edge of her stool, her body trembling.

The two men danced around the stage in sync to bump-and-grind music barely audible over the cacophony of women yelling and whistling.

Bidding started at five hundred dollars and shot up from there.

Not that I’m interested in bidding. Bunny mentally calculated what she had in her bank account.

Audrey handed the numbered paddle to Bunny. “I’ll match you dollar for dollar.” She shrugged. “I won’t keep one of them, but I want to contribute to the cause. This way I can, and Jackson won’t have heartburn about it.”

“I can’t bid on those two. I wouldn’t know what to do with one man, much less two!”

Audrey’s brows rose. “Seriously? Oh, honey, you really do need to get out more often. Did I ever tell you about the day I danced for Jackson, Mark and Luke on Jackson’s thirtieth birthday?” She tugged at the front of her shirt. “And I don’t mean two-stepping.” Audrey fanned herself. “Making me hot just thinkin’ about it.”

“Audrey, you’re much more free-spirited. I’m…I’m…” Bunny glanced down at the paddle in her hand. “Not.”

A soft hand rested on Bunny’s shoulder and Audrey leaned close. “How do you know if you’ve never tried to be?”

Bunny shrugged. “I’ve always focused on getting my business going, getting my finances straight—”

“Puttin’ your lousy ex-husband through school. Yeah, I can see where that gotcha.” Audrey shook her head. “That’s all well and good when it comes to running a business, but what about givin’ yourself a second chance at love?”

“I don’t need a second chance. Once was bad enough. I don’t think I’m ready to float that boat again.” Although the two men on the stage could more than set her sails. Holy hell, they were built like brick houses, all muscle—hard, finely chiseled muscle.

“If not for love, then date for fun or a release from stress.” Audrey threw her hand in the air. “Why not satisfy your sexual fantasies? Anything to get you out of your shell, girlfriend.”

“One thousand dollars!” Charli shouted into the microphone. “Ladies, this is twice the spice for the money. Don’t stop now.” She nodded toward the throng. “One thousand one hundred from number forty-one.”

“A thousand dollars?” Bunny did the math in her head. “I’d have to sell a lot of roses to afford those two.”

“Raise your paddle. Remember, I’ll double whatever you can afford.”

Even as Bunny shook her head, her fingers tightened around the paddle’s wooden stick. “I can’t.”

“Yes. You can. It’s just a date,” Audrey insisted. “Think about what Cory can do with that whip. And Jack has handcuffs.”

Cory cracked the whip, and number thirty-seven raised her paddle, bumping the bid up another one hundred dollars.

Bunny’s heartbeat accelerated. She had over two grand in savings for a rainy day and maybe to pay off her ex when she got a little more saved. That money was not earmarked for a hot date with two sexy men.

It still galled her to no end that Ray got half of her business in the divorce, Texas being a community property state. Out of the “goodness of his heart” Ray had let her keep the flower shop, as long as she paid him for his half over time, as a loan. He never let her forget it either, always giving her his unwanted opinion on how to run the flower shop. Spending so much money on a date would have him questioning her ability to stay in business. He might even foreclose on his loan.

“Going once,” Charli said.

“What?” Bunny’s breath caught and she leaned so far forward on her stool she almost slid off.

“Going twice.” Charli paused. “They’re a steal at twelve hundred dollars. Come on ladies, won’t one of you bid thirteen hundred?”

Bunny’s hand shook, her grip clenching on the paddle. Before she could analyze her actions, she raised her paddle.

“Is that Bunny Leigh back there near the bar?” Charli shielded her eyes from the glare of the stage lights. “Y’all gonna let Temptation’s best florist go home with the two most drool-worthy men in the county?”

Cory and Jack stared across the room, straight at Bunny, both smiling.

Her pulse accelerated until she thought for certain her heart would jump right out of her chest. Her gaze panned the room, praying someone else would raise a paddle quickly before she bought the cowboy and the cop.

Charli grinned, and before anyone else could get a paddle above shoulder-high, she pounded her gavel on the podium and shouted, “Sold!”

Samhain Publishing
Barnes & Noble Nook
Amazon Kindle
Kobo

****Leave a comment for a chance to win the prize package****

(I’ll draw for a winner Tomorrow)

About Myla Jackson

Twenty years of livin' and lovin' on a South Texas ranch raising horses, cattle, goats, ostriches and emus left an indelible impression on Myla Jackson, one she likes to instill in her red-hot stories. Myla pens wildly sexy, fun adventures of all genres including historical westerns, medieval tales, romantic suspense, contemporary romance and paranormal beasties of all shapes and sexy sizes. When she's not wrangling words from her computer she's out snow-skiing, boating, riding her ATV or spending time with her family. She lives in the tree-covered hills of Northwest Arkansas with her husband of 20 years and her muses— the human-wanna-be canines—Chewy and Sweetpea. To learn more about Myla Jackson and her stories visit her website at www.mylajackson.com.
This entry was posted in A Writer's Life, Book Cover Art, cowboys, eBooks, Excerpts, Reading, Westerns and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Ugly Stick Rides Again! PRIZE!

  1. Emily says:

    This sounds like a book right up my alley, can’t wait to read

  2. I really need to get this one! I have Boots and Chaps and will be reading it this summer during my vacation. So can’t wait!
    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

  3. Gail S says:

    I just love visiting the Ugly Stick Saloon! These stories always make me smile & sometimes LOL. Thanks for sharing the excerpt.

  4. carol L says:

    Whoa, this has to go on my TBL immediately. Loved the excerpt. This 2fer is my kind of read. 🙂
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

  5. Clare O'Beara says:

    I enjoyed your previous Ugly Stick saloon books so I’m sure this will be a winner too!

  6. Dorothy Hardy says:

    Sounds like a keeper. Cant wait to read!

  7. suzlyne says:

    Another great addition to the Ugly Stick Saloon series! That would be an auction to go to. Not that I would be brave enough to bid! LOL! Thanks for the giveaway!
    suz2(at)cox(dot)net

  8. Pochia says:

    I have all the books in the series and have loved them all. Always looking forward to the next one. Can’t wait to start reading it tonight!!! Thank you.

  9. Sheila F says:

    Like the sound of the book:) What a way to get over a divorce with two hunky men.

  10. Myla Jackson says:

    Hee hee! I love auction stories. You should have seen me at the Samhain signing on Saturday at Romance Writers of America’s conference. “HOT COWBOYS! GET YOUR HOT COWBOYS!”

  11. ronnie c says:

    I love the Ugly Stick Saloon series! love the excerpt … can’t wit to read it!

  12. Laurie P says:

    Yes, Ugly Stick is back! Loved the excerpt.
    Laurie P
    goaliemom0049(at)gmail(dot)com

  13. Kathy Lewis says:

    Love going to the saloon. Thanks.

  14. Elaine S. says:

    Mercy this is one I have to have definitely will put it on my TBR List…if I don’t just go get it. Love the excerpt. Looking forward to reading this one….

  15. Rhonda D says:

    Holy smokes! I can’t wait to see how these three burn up the sheets. I love the Ugly Stick Saloon Series! I can’t wait to grab this one. Woo hoo!
    Rhonda D
    slinkydennis@yahoo.com

  16. Elena Moreno says:

    Hot Damn!!!!

    I can’t wait to read this book. I have loved all the books in this series. All the covers too, but for some reason this cover made me stop and observe every single stinking detail. The fact that her eyes are closed as she just uses her hands to feel the studs under her fingertips…(sigh)…..

  17. Teresa Hughes says:

    I’m still trying to catch up on this series! Hot excerpt!!

  18. Raeline Peterson says:

    This book sounds so good ,definitely gonna have to read this one .I love cowboys .

  19. ELF says:

    Looks like another fun read from a fantastic series! Thanks for the excerpt and the giveaway!

  20. Kerry P says:

    I just love me some Ugly Stick!!!!!! This series is so much fun and let’s not forget how HAWT it is!!!

  21. This series sounds like it will be a fun, but hot, read! Saddle me up!

  22. JoAnna B says:

    Hot damn, I need an auction like that. Time to buy some more books!!!
    Thanks for the excerpt!

    Beckerjo at verizon dot net

  23. Debbie says:

    I will be putting this on my Nook real soon!

  24. Cindy Hamilton says:

    OMG!!! what an excerpt. How I would have love to been at that auction. Totally HOT! Can’t wait to read the whole thing.

  25. Jane Smolen says:

    Another great HOT read from the UGLY STICK SALOON!!!!!! Thanks for this one…..and thanks for the chance for the wonderful goodies….

  26. JOYE says:

    Now I have to read the rest of the story to see what the strings are. It sounds really good

  27. Sara G. says:

    This definitely sounds like my kind of book. Great excerpt! Thanks for the chance at the giveaway.

  28. Cherie Clark says:

    I hope you have a fabulous day.

  29. diana haines says:

    I bid fourteen hundred dollars!!!

  30. Karen J. says:

    Had to buy it, right away. Can’t wait to read it!

  31. jeannie platt says:

    Count me in… OMG those to I would totally bid lol Thanks for the chance

    j.m.platt83@gmail.com

  32. Lea says:

    Holy Hell that was HOT!!! Looks like my TBR list is getting longer again!

  33. Mina Gerhart says:

    I need an Ugly Stick Saloon around Hamburg, PA!
    The Boots and Roses excerpt ROCKS 🙂

    Mindy 🙂
    Birdsooong@comcast.net

  34. evamillien says:

    OOOO! Cowboys, I love sexy cowboys. I am looking forward to reading this book. Thanks for sharing the hot excerpt and the giveaway

  35. Laura Mae Le Capelain says:

    I am really going to look forward to this book coming out in Print it sounds very interesting.

  36. Linda L. says:

    Sure would like to be at that two-fer Cowboy Auction! What a great excerpt. I want to read this HOT little book and imagine those cowboy boots parked in front of my bed!

  37. wrongwaymichelle says:

    OMG! I love, love, love the Ugly Stick Saloon!!!

  38. Mary Preston says:

    The Annual Cowboy Auction sounds like fun. I did not want the excerpt to end.

  39. JackieW says:

    The Ugly Stick Saloon has great stories. Love to read them.

  40. Whew sounds great! Can’t wait to read this one!

  41. nancyg5997 says:

    I really like the sound of this one Myla…congrats on another hot one!!!

  42. kitten18blog says:

    I absolutely loved this excerpt!!! I really want to read this book! I want to read all Ugly Stick Saloon books!

  43. Lucy Waterhouse says:

    OMG – and I thought the Ugly Stick Saloon series couldn’t get any hotter!!!
    Fantastic 🙂

  44. Great excerpt– love the series!!!Super!!!!!!! 🙂

  45. Wow! Can’t wait to read this book.

  46. Terri says:

    I really liked this addition to the Ugly Stick Saloon. Great story!

  47. Angel says:

    Looks good, new to your books!

  48. Tonya says:

    This is an excerpt that grabs you!! I have to read it! Thanks for sharing and the contest,

  49. Gabrielle says:

    Love Ugly Stick Saloon! Thanks for sharing.

  50. June M. says:

    Great excerpt!!! Can’t wait to read more 🙂

  51. Sami Coghill says:

    Can’t wait to read this one! Goes to the top of my wishlist!!!

  52. Pat Cochran says:

    I left a comment somewhere, wherever the link took me! Can’t remember
    what I said at that point!

    Pat C.

  53. Janet Rodman says:

    Read this in one night. Couldn’t put it down

  54. Cathi Pirani says:

    This book already arrived on my kindle & I read it the same day. Another great Ugly Stick story, with two hot guys to make me drool. Sigh.
    Thanks heaps!

  55. Ginger Ring says:

    I love auction stories!! I can’t imagine what I would do if I won someone but I’m sure I could figure it out. 😉 Great story! I can’t wait to read!!

  56. Brandon says:

    Sweet read! Nice cover too! I kinda know the girl on the cover!

  57. Porchia says:

    I so enjoyed this story.. I love this series and look forward to the next one!!! Got to love these girls.

Leave a Reply

