Why I Love Cowboys…

Under the CoversIt’s so nice to be celebrating the release of Under the Covers, which is the second book in the Maverick Montana series.  So, here’s a list about cowboys…

1)     They wear chaps.  You haven’t lived until you’ve seen an actual man in actual chaps.  (Not the kind with bare butts that you see as jokes on television).  The real, leather, dusty, cowboy stalking toward you in chaps.  Trust me.  You’ll never be the same.

2)     Long, slow, devastating kisses.  Men who live in the wild country know a good thing when they see it, and know where to spend time.  Kissing is one of those things, and these guys love to practice and get it right.

3)     They’re comfortable in the wild.  Montana is wide, open, and wild.  This is a man who braves the elements, the wildlife, and the land itself…and wins.

4)     They’re survivors.  Again, if the world goes to crap, these guys survive…and will make sure you survive, too.  They hunt, they fish, and they endure.

5)     A life full of contrasts.  Ever see a tough guy break a bronc?  Yeah?  How about the same guy picking wild flowers on the way to a date?  Sure, he might have to fight off bear and wild moose, but he’ll win, and hand over that bouquet.  How can you not love that?

6)     They’re protective.  How can they not be?  They know what’s out there—hungry bear, rampaging moose, and even tulip-eating deer.  This guy will jump in front of you and a snarling wolf…in a second.

7)     Hard bodies.  This is not to be ignored.  Working outside, riding stallions…it leads to some very impressive muscles.  Ripped abs are okay to love.  Honest!

8)     They appreciate femininity…and strength.  Hey, it’s not easy living somewhere the weather can be out to get you.  This is a guy that’ll appreciate your strong side…and be just as happy with your heels and pearls.  Unless your car breaks down in the snowstorm.  Then you should wear boots, which I’m sure he will have already made sure were in your car…just in case.

9)     Right and wrong matter.  Justice and honor still have a place in a lot of hearts, and especially in a real cowboy’s heart. 

10)  They love completely.  There’s no half-way for a guy who fights nature on a daily basis, so when he give his heart, it’s the total deal.

I hope you’ve enjoyed my top ten list today.  Ever meet a real cowboy?  Just curious.  I have, and all of these things are true.  🙂

About Rebecca Zanetti

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author of paranormal, contemporary, and romantic suspense romances. Current series include: Dark Protectors, Sin Brothers, and Maverick Montana.
This entry was posted in cowboys. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Why I Love Cowboys…

  1. Janet Rodman says:

    I agree with all of your reasons to love cowboys. I just recently “rediscovered” cowboy and Highlander romance novels. That list can be adapted for Highlanders, kilts instead of chaps,haha.

  2. Nancy D. says:

    I’d probably keel right on over if I ever saw a cowboy face to face!!! I’m waiting for that day!

  3. JeanMP says:

    Totally agree with all the reasons you gave to love cowboys!

  4. Teresa Hughes says:

    I have met many cowboys since I follow the PBR. The chaps are something else:) All of these things are true with every cowboy I have met. That’s why I love, love, love them!

  5. Tiss says:

    Loved the post, thanks. Congrats on the release!

  6. Sue Cox says:

    I love cowboys for all the reasons you just gave and the fact that they are just so darn MALE and they don’t make excuses for it.Love the way you write them too, don’t change anything ! Keep up the sparks flying !

  7. buzzvibe says:

    All of the above, plus they’re good with horses and smell like leather.

  8. Cindy Hamilton says:

    Would love to meet a cowboy(my husband might take exception to that!!HAHA) Great list of ten. Really enjoy your books!

  9. eli yanti says:

    Absolutely agree 🙂

  10. Clare O'Beara says:

    Wonderful list and so true! That’s the kind of man who would win anyone’s heart.

  11. Eileen says:

    Live your list. Met a few and I lived their manners as well.

  12. Great list but you forgot that sexy southern drawl 😉

  13. Mary Preston says:

    So many great reasons. I agree.

  14. Hee. It’s fun to see ourselves through others’ eyes. Being a ranch-raised rodeo cowgirl, I never really dated anyone who wasn’t a cowboy, so I can’t say how they compare to ‘normal’ guys, I have no frame of reference. And of course I married one.

  15. Stacy says:

    Great Reasons!! But, I have to go with that “southern drawl” Oh lord, it makes me melt 🙂

Leave a Reply

