Say Yes to the West

Hello everyone!!! Today i am facing a battle of sorts. I have a story I am working on and the setting is on a ranch where my heroine is also an oil driller. I started the story with using Wyoming and or Montana as my setting but as I am going along I realized I really don’t know if I want to have my story set there. Now I am leaning toward using the area of north Texas with my heroine living in Dallas and engaged to an oil company CEO. I am so torn over this that I have stopped mid story to regroup. So I am asking for opinions here. Which setting draws you more as a reader, out west or Texas? Should I say yes to the west or not….

 

thanks for the help,

sayde

About JenniferDorough

I love capturing sweet southern memories. My goal is to capture your family in portraits that showcase their uniqueness. I try to capture your memories that represent your family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Say Yes to the West

  1. Teresa Hughes says:

    I love stories set in Wyoming. That always would get my vote. Hopefully in the future I will take a vacation to Jackson Hole, Wyoming. Good luck on choosing a setting.

  2. slinkydennis says:

    I love Texas but I like Wyoming and Montana as well. Oklahoma would be great too as that’s where I’m from. 🙂 There’s even a Hooker Oklahoma. That would be lovely!

  3. Nancy Black says:

    The WEST!! Rugged and still Wild..YES!!

  4. I live in the Dallas area and love storys set in Texas but out west is fine too. There are a lot of places for you to explore here. I’m going to read it either way!

  5. Elaine S. says:

    I would say Texas but the other two are not bad. I would say how wild do you want it. Texas has had a lot of growth its not as “wild” as it used to be. I love them all put them in a hat and draw one.

  6. Kathy says:

    My vote is for the West.

  7. eli yanti says:

    Texas sounds great 🙂

  8. Sue Cox says:

    Texas is traditionally oil country, so that might make your story flow better. Besides Texas ranchers/oilmen are just so sexy with that slow drawl…mmmm

  9. Tiss says:

    Actually there are getting to be more oil wells in North Dakota. Not as wild as Wyoming, but still the west.

  10. Mary Preston says:

    I’m no good to you, because I’m happy to traipse all over the place.

  11. Susan T. says:

    Out west!

  12. Clare O'Beara says:

    I don’t know how common female oil drillers are (good choice) but I would think oil wells are pretty commonplace in parts of Texas. So if you want to write something different don’t go for commonplace. Why not make it fracking? You could set that out west easily and it would get you into the up-to-the-minute debate about water and chemicals and methane.

  13. Cheryl Petit says:

    Anyplace where there are Wild and Wicked Cowboys!

  14. Annie says:

    I too was thinking North Dakota before I saw Tiss’ comment. It is a new area for oil. There may be more of a place for wildcat oil rigs where there is a new find. And a role for a woman in the new boom. A woman may not be as accepted in a place such as Texas where the men have been in the oil business for so long. Unless you want her to fight a “glass ceiling”. And if you do use North Dakota and if the story spans several months, weather factors come in to play. A blizzard, an old shack next to a new well, stranded with a ranch hand……..let your mind wander 🙂

  15. JOYE says:

    I usually pick up a book with a Texan in it. There’s just something about them I like to read.

  16. Karen says:

    Any stste as long as there is a hot, sexy cowboy is fine with me.

  17. Cindy Hamilton says:

    Texas sounds good to me but Oklahoma would work also!

  18. Barb Jack says:

    Oil is booming in North Dakota have her in Minot and the rancher in the Des Lacs area. Or for more punch have one of then across the border in Canada could add lots of interesting possibilities with border crossings !!

  19. martha lawson says:

    Either one would work for me!!!

  20. I’m a northwest girl, and Montana would be awesome…but do what feels right for your characters…trust that “hinky” feeling….*S*

Leave a Reply

