Deja Vu and Voodoo

Michelle Gallegos is the winner of the prize package! Congrats!

Not everyone knows that I write under two pen names, Myla Jackson and Elle James. Because of that, I have two names, two websites, two Facebook accounts, two twitter accounts, two Goodreads, two Linkedins and too many places to go and things to do! When signing print books I have to really concentrate and remember what name I’m signing. It can be challenging to write enough content for both of my pen names to satisfy my readers. I’d love to spend more time in the UGLY STICK SALOON with my cowboys and cowgirls, but I also img_2048enjoy delving into the Louisiana bayous and the crazy antics of my voodoo queen.  And for the rest of this year I’m completely booked writing Romantic Suspense and Intrigues for Harlequin! There are many days I have to ask myself “Who am I?”

When I started writing, I wished I could sell a book. Now I’m selling so many I can barely keep up. I guess the old adage, be careful what you wish for has come back to bite me in the ass! I can’t complain, though. I love what I do and who I am. Both of me!

In honor of my latest Elle James release I’m giving away a prize package.
All you have to do is leave a comment. Easy, right?

DEJA VOODOO

by Elle James

DejaVoodoo_200x300Book #3 Cajun Magic Series
A little magic goes a long way…
Alexandra Belle Boyette is closing in on the big 3-0 and her mama has made it her mission to marry her off. In the tiny town of Bayou Miste, deep in the Louisiana swamps, finding suitable hubby material can be a challenge—and Alex would rather not rely on magical spells to do the trick. But there is a sexy new man in town who might fit the bill…
 
Ed Marceaux is in Bayou Miste to safeguard a key witness to a Louisiana Mafia murder. He must keep an eye out for suspicious characters—but the place seems to be full of them! What could be stranger than a woman dressed in a sexy nightgown chasing a naked man down the street? The enchantingly gorgeous Alex Boyette certainly makes it worth his while to find out…
 

Add a Voodoo spell gone wrong, and voila! madness—and love—ensues.

Drumroll please….

The prize package:

2013-06-07 19.20.26

About Myla Jackson

Twenty years of livin' and lovin' on a South Texas ranch raising horses, cattle, goats, ostriches and emus left an indelible impression on Myla Jackson, one she likes to instill in her red-hot stories. Myla pens wildly sexy, fun adventures of all genres including historical westerns, medieval tales, romantic suspense, contemporary romance and paranormal beasties of all shapes and sexy sizes. When she's not wrangling words from her computer she's out snow-skiing, boating, riding her ATV or spending time with her family. She lives in the tree-covered hills of Northwest Arkansas with her husband of 20 years and her muses— the human-wanna-be canines—Chewy and Sweetpea. To learn more about Myla Jackson and her stories visit her website at www.mylajackson.com.
This entry was posted in A Writer's Life, cowboys, inspiration, my life, Reading and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Deja Vu and Voodoo

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    What beautiful trees! And that look like a fine package. One question – I thought good magic was Hoodoo and bad Voodoo. I know nothing about it so may be wrong. But I’d rather think there were protective spells being used than harmful ones.
    Must feel strange being two writers – hard enough to remember all my passwords!

    • Myla Jackson says:

      From what I understand, Voodoo and Hoodoo may have different, but similar origins and they are a type of religion. Not necessarily that one is for evil and one if for good. Good question!

  2. laineslite says:

    Having an author writing under different pen names for each genre is common but I bet it can get confusing or hectic depending on how many one has I bet.
    This newest story looks like a fun one with the Louisiana Bayou twist with a bit of voodoo magic thrown into the romantic mix.
    Thanks for the contest and am sure your readers will always find and follow you.
    Lainey

  3. Libby Cercasa says:

    Great prize pack and yes it must be hard keeping track! Great books under both names 🙂

  4. Mary Preston says:

    Hi,

    do you ever think of just consolidating, as it were, and writing under just the one name?

    A touch of magic goes a long way. Love it!!

    • Myla Jackson says:

      Yes, Mary! But I’m afraid I’ll lose readers in the transition. My Myla Jackson books are a lot sexier than my Elle James books. But not always. My Elle James Nocturnes are very sexy. Just not menages in any Elle James books. Sigh.

  5. Gio says:

    Love both authors . Its good to be able to switch .vodoo loojs awesome

  6. Teresa Hughes says:

    I would never know who I was! Sometimes I forget my own name. I can’t imagine having two. Thanks for the giveaway!

  7. Amanda m says:

    I read both of your series. I absolutely love them both. Thank you so much for the great read.

  8. Laura Horton says:

    This I did not know! Wow, how hard it must be to keep things straight. You have conquered it! Thanks for the opportunity!

  9. Terri says:

    I’ve only read your Ugly Stick Saloon books but it looks like I’m going to have to find more time to read about the bayous.

    • Myla Jackson says:

      Oh, Terri, I have even more books coming out this year! I have Boots and Roses coming out in July and Boots and Buckles in December. As Elle James, I have a story in the SMOKIN’ HOT FIREMEN in July, a 4-book series coming out with Harlequin Intrigue called Covert Cowboys Inc July-October this year. TRIGGERED, TAKING AIM, BODYGUARD UNDER FIRE, COWBOY RESURRECTED. I’m a very busy writer!

  10. Amanda Terry says:

    I didn’t realize I had more books to pick from from one of my favorite authors. Woohoo!! I’ve got reading to do this weekend!

  11. carole says:

    I never knew you wrote under another name, have never read Myla Jackson books, so got to start looking for them. I love your stories under Elle James, its like finding a new author!

  12. eli yanti says:

    Congrts on the release Elle and thanks for the giveaway

    The blurb sounds great story 🙂

  13. Beth Haney says:

    Oooh, I love Cajuns and I’m curious about this Louisiana Mafia! Thanks for sharing the blurb and for the chance to win some goodies!

  14. Cheryl Tauber says:

    Love reading about sexy men. Congrats on your new release elle. Sure to be funny and romantic.

  15. Wow, 2 identities…I would also get caught up in each character so that would make it multiple personalities!! Truly when an author can take you into a story where you can become one with the character, this is what keeps me coming back for more!!

  16. Must be difficult to figure out who you are at times! lol It’s pretty easy for me to switch back and forth between Kelly and KittyKelly. 😉

    KittyKelly

  17. Elaine S. says:

    Looks good I put it on my TBR list….Love the cover

  18. Tiss says:

    WOW, I didn’t know that you wrote under two names and Louisiana intrigues me, so I’m headed to Amazon to buy all your “other” books, LOL. Thanks for the chance to win some swag. Looking forward to reading your books.

  19. aretha zhen says:

    WIEEE voodoo Gone wrong . This looks like my kind of book :). I can’t wait to read it. Hopped to my kindle to look for this book 🙂

  20. Angela says:

    I have not read your stuff but was lead here by Kallypso Masters and now I have to read it! I would consider that a productive morning!! Nothing like finding a new author to read!

  21. JeanMP says:

    Definitely want to read your books featuring the Lousiana bayou, love your other books, so I know I will enjoy these too.

  22. ronnie c says:

    Can’t wait to read this!!! It sounds interesting….yeah!

  23. Eva Millien says:

    I love that this series takes place in my backyard. It’s great and I can’t wait to read the future books. Thanks for the giveaway.

  24. Wow! keeping up with 2 personae must be crazy. I love the Ugly Stick Saloon series and have read several. I’m looking forward to reading these lbayou books and have put several on my wish list. Thanks!

  25. Congratulations on your new release.It sounds very good. Thanks for t he giveaway.

  26. June M. says:

    First, Congrats on you new release!!! I seriously do not see how you can keep up with 2 different writing personas. I would be so confused that I would need a calender to tell me who I was supposed to be on what day and have to wear a name badge to remember each day, LOL.

    I love the picture of the trees! I have always wanted to visit the bayou, ever since reading a book set there in my early teens. But I have to admit that I am scared of the alligators. Just the thought of running upon one of them freaks me out *shivers*.

    Thanks so much for the great giveaway! I would love to win it 🙂

  27. Tracie says:

    Congrats!
    I thoroughly enjoy both of your personas and I am always hungry for new material. Sometimes it’s hard to remember that you can’t write as fast as I can read. 😦
    Keep the great books coming.
    Good luck and happy writing!

  28. martha lawson says:

    I haven’t had the pleasure of reading Myla’s books, but I love, love Elle’s books! I’ve got one waiting on the kindle for me to read. Can’t wait to read more from you!

  29. Janet Rodman says:

    Look forward to reading Deja vu Voodoo. I love stories set in Louisiana.

  30. Cathi Pirani says:

    I have all your Myla Jackson books so can’t wait to read the books by your alter ego!
    But that’s made me curious now. I assume this means you have two pen names + a real name, which I guess would be the equivalent of a Clark Kent with 2 supermen? I can’t even imagine how tricky that would be to keep a track of…

  31. Jacki C. says:

    I love all of your stories. I haven’t read any of the Voodoo stories yet – I’m going to have to get on that this summer!

Leave a Reply

