Loud and proud

There is lots of buzz out there about how romance writers are treated in certain genres. Appalling and degrading to all the authors out there. It got me to thinking about how I get judged pretty much every time I tell people I’m a published romance novelist.

Some people titter, some people congratulate me, some raise an eyebrow and don’t reply. I’ve had it all over the last 9 years since I was published.

What does it mean? I don’t know but I do know I will NEVER stop doing what I love no matter what anyone thinks. I love what I do, no matter what genre it’s in. I’m proud of what I do.

I write everything from spicy, to erotic to scorching and everything in between. I don’t pick the heat level, it picks me. 🙂 I might decide tomorrow to write a small town sweet romance but I also might decide to write a BDSM vampire historical. You know what? If I did, I’d be proud of what I wrote.

Here I am, flying my flag, loud and proud! Every word I write is a piece of my soul, every book a part of my heart.

So here is a post to bring the good and dispel the bad – I am firm believer that good karma pays it forward out there in the universe. A shout out to every author out there, for all your hard work and your amazing books! Keep on rocking!

This entry was posted in A Writer's Life. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Loud and proud

  1. Mary Preston says:

    That sound you now hear, to drown out the buzz, is me putting my hands together and clapping. I read because authors write!! Don’t ever stop.

  2. Teresa Hughes says:

    Well I for one am very glad that you write! If you didn’t how would I spend my time? Lol! As an avid reader I get asked all the time about what genres I read. When I say everything from Inspirational to Erotica I get tons of raised eyebrows, exclamations of “what?”, to people with there mouths hanging wide open. Of course part of that might be because my father is a minister 😛 But, you know what I am going to keep reading them because I love it! And to me that is all that matters.

    So keep writing Beth because you know I will keep buying!

    Teresa Hughes. Randleman, NC

  3. Mary says:

    As a reader I love this blog! I cherish my books and am so grateful to authors who give me such fantastic books to read. When my sister passed from cancer a few years ago books help me cope. I can not express enough how wonderful authors like you meant to me. Thank you so much!

  4. suzlyne says:

    All I can say is Thank You for writing what you want to write. As a reader I’ve found that the only people who look at me strange or judge me for what I read don’t understand to joy of reading. What you write or read may not be what the next person does but that’s ok. Everyone is different.

  5. tiss81 says:

    Keep doing what your doing……….we’ll keep reading what we love………

  6. sable hunter says:

    I applaud your stance. I have experienced prejudice. Mostly, I think their jealous. And why wouldn’t they be? I look forward to getting up every morning and seeing what new blessings are in store.

  7. Claudia McRay says:

    Hooray for you!

  8. Michelle V says:

    I can only imagine because I know that as readers we often get mocked for being romance junkies. I happen to be a huge fan of your books and you are extremely good at what you do. I, for one, am very happy that you stand your ground and keep writing amazing books for your romance fans! 🙂

  9. Eileen says:

    Good for you! I’m in awe for anyone who can put pen to paper and write. I have enough problem just getting my thoughts out of my mouth! It amazes me the creativity out there for all writers.

  10. What a great column. I could not agree with you more.

  11. Cindy Hamilton says:

    Thank You and keep it up!!!!

  12. Clare O'Beara says:

    I read a huge variety of books from SF to history and I have no problem reading, or telling anyone that I read, romance books! All books address human problems of some form and storytelling is part of human nature. Enjoy your writing!

  13. susanhow says:

    Cowgirlbeth,
    Whatever you write is just fine with me! I love BDSM, Historical Romances, Paranormal, Shifters,
    Menages, SCFI, Futuristic. Just write and I and others will buy and read! Forget the supposed bestsellers. See what really sells. Did you ever follow how many months/years the 50 Shades were on the NY Times best seller’s list?

    Susan

Leave a Reply

