In Preparation of a Road Trip

LissaLogoYellow_reasonably_smallLater this week, I’ll be packing the van and heading from North Carolina to Cincinnati for Lori Foster’s Reader Author Get Together. It’s the 4th time I’ve attended and I’m quite looking forward to it.

I have a lot of work to do beforehand. A ton of laundry. Some cooking too so my family doesn’t starve or have to resort to fast food or convenience foods. There’s writing to be done, revisions to do, blogs to write.

But, for all the prep, I am so anxious to get on the road. For one, I need the time away. I need to spend time with some readers, with some other authors, with friends. There really is no For Two, other than I love road trips, even if I’m taking them alone.

I never take much promo with me. Most people don’t keep the paper promo and premium promo is often more than I can afford for the number of people in attendance. But that’s fine. My writing, if it can’t pay for me to attend cons, then I don’t go and that includes promo. I do have some unique things coming with me to the con that are a little more in line with who I am and one of the things people most associate with me: coffee.

I’m a country girl. I’m most comfortable in jeans and t-shirts. I don’t dress up much, but every now and then I will wear something other than…t-shirts. 😉

I will take the highway from Charlotte through the Smoky Mountains, one of my favorite places. I’ll drive through Asheville and hopefully have time to stop at Double D’s Coffee and Desserts, a unique coffee shop in downtown Asheville that’s actually a red, double decker bus. They make a killer frappe.

I’m also planning to stop in Tennesee for lunch with one of my editors. I’ll travel up through Kentucky and finally over the Ohio River into Cincinnati.

My van will have snacks packed in (my road trip must is a bottle of coke and a package of salted peanuts… this is a tradition. the peanuts go inside the coke. a country thing from my childhood), bottles of water, and my coffee box which consists of a K-cup coffee maker, K-cups, and the little cups of half and half.

I love the feel of the Lori Foster con. It’s small enough. It’s intimate. It’s tightly packed, but it’s relaxed though they seem to have filled in the schedule with a little more this year than previous ones. That’s fine. A lot of people like that. Me, I’ll be sitting in the atrium as much as possible, chatting with readers, authors, bloggers and others. I’ll also be people watching. Observation is deliciously fun. 🙂

I’ll also be writing some while there. I have some finishing touches to put on the first book in my new Lonestar Sweets series, The Cupcake Cowboy, as well as do some work on another erotic romance novella I hope to send to Ellora’s Cave at the end of the month. This is also the month I will be traveling to San Antonio for an award’s ceremony for my husband and some research for myself. I have made dinner plans with an author friend one of the nights that I’m there and I am so looking forward to seeing her again.

June is busy for me, something nearly every week going on and truth be told, I’ll be glad when July gets here and I can decompress a bit before Authors After Dark in August.

If you’ll be in Cincinnati at Lori Foster’s Reader Author Get Together, please hunt me down and say hi. I’d love to meet you!

~lissa

About Lissa Matthews

author of contemporary erotic romance
This entry was posted in totally off topic and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to In Preparation of a Road Trip

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    Enjoy the con and get your work out to the public! I would suggest for promo material, maybe a poster of your book cover, even A3 size. You could laminate it and bring it around with you so as to re-use. The reason is that a good cover will get people interested in the book – even the genre – who had not read it previously. If they see your cover on the wall behind you they may come and talk to you, see what the book is all about, go off and buy one for autographing. Also a lot of people are nervous about talking to authors and the cover gives them a conversational point.

  2. Eileen says:

    safe travels on your road trip! Sounds like it will be fun.

  3. Tiss says:

    Sounds like you are going to have a great time. Safe Travels. Someday, I hope to make a convention……..

  4. Mary Preston says:

    Have fun. I do enjoy a road trip!!

  5. Cindy Hamilton says:

    Have fun and be safe!

  6. Karen says:

    Have a safe trip. You’ll be passing right by my house on I-40 when you leave Sevierville!

Leave a Reply

