Musical Inspiration…

I must confess that I often call on music when writing my books. While I need silence while I’m putting the words down on the page, if I even hit a brick wall or find a few minutes where I just need to think things through, I’ll throw on iTunes and fire up songs that inspire me. When I was working on the Compass Brothers books (and now the sister series, Compass Girls), I’d fire up the music and let it guide my characters.

Western TiesWestern Ties, the last book in the Compass Brothers series, had a fairly extensive “playlist.” Songs that put me in the mood of the book, that brought my characters to life. I thought I’d share the list with you for fun. If you’re like me, I am ALWAYS looking for new songs.

To Make You Feel my Love by Garth Brooks

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_5Q0jYc52UM

I Do by Colbie Callait

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E0oyglKjbFQ&ob=av2e

Amazing Grace by Darlene Zschech

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=msK9AQ4dZBw

Hide Me Babe by Garrett Hedlund

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H7dR2TwLoUk

Coming Home by Gwyneth Paltrow

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X4cpl0v0WBY

Show Me the Way to Go Home by Jimmy and the Parrots (made famous by Jaws!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tI_oJnUudT8

HopeSprings72lgRight now, I’m working on the third book in the Compass Girls series, Summer Fling. Summer Fling is Jade’s story. Book two, Hope Springs, comes out in August and Winter’s Thaw is available now. It’s a red-hot menage and Silas, Lucy and Colby’s daughter, Hope searches for her own happily ever after with two ranch hands, Wyatt and Clayton.

Once again…as I write, I’m calling on music to help me find my words. Jade and Liam have been a great deal to write and I have a few songs I’ve been listening to quite a lot l lately. So I thought I’d share a few from the “Summer Fling” playlist as well.

Lesson in Leavin’ by Jo Dee Messina

Knee Deep by the Zac Brown Band (with Jimmy Buffett–hell yeah)

Stuck Like Glue by Sugarland

NOW…just for fun…let’s have a contest. Simply tell me the name of a song that inspires you…to do ANYTHING…dance, sing, cry, make love, write…you name it. I’ll choose one winner from the commenters who will win their choice of ebook from the Compass Brothers books or Winter’s Thaw from the Compass Girls series. I’m looking forward to hearing what songs you love.

This entry was posted in Cowboys - Media Inspired, Musical Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Musical Inspiration…

  1. Clare O'Beara says:

    I did enjoy Winter’s Thaw so I am sure the others will be great too!
    I love ‘We Built This City’ by Starship. Always makes me happy and want to dance!

  2. Mary Preston says:

    I don’t listen to music. I like the quiet, but at work when it’s rest time for the Kindie children I do like to put on Mozart For Babies. Not something to sing to obviously , but incredibly beautiful.

  3. Ashley says:

    Big Balls by AC/DC always puts a smile on my face. I love to sing and dance to the song.

  4. tiss81 says:

    I sing to alot of songs on my way home from worki. Hard to pick just one. But the two that I’m listening to the most recently are “Tornado” and “Black Cadellac” (spelling) by Carrie Underwood.

  5. Teresa Hughes says:

    This is a hard question for me! Music is a big part of my life so let me see what I can come up with.

    * When I am just wanting to be goofy its I’m Too Sexy by Right Said Fred. I usually sing this one when I’m wanting to get on my kids’ nerves. And it works!

    * When I am thinking of people I have lost in my life I play, If Tomorrow Never Comes by Garth Brooks.

    * When I am thinking of my husband, I play When You Say Nothing At All by Keith Whitley.

    * When I am dancing its anything country with a beat or the Electric Slide.

    * If I want loud, fun music its anything by the Beastie Boys. Love them!

    So that’s a little bit of my music. I enjoyed your post! Have a great day!

  6. suzlyne says:

    Ashley, I haven’t thought about Big Balls by ACDC in years! That brings back high school memories. Thanks! I need up beat and strong rhythm songs to get me in the mood to mow my lawn. Such as S&M by Rihanna, Truck Yeah by Tim Mcgraw, Wild, Wild West by The Escape Club, My Kinda Party by Jason Aldean, Walking on Sunshine by Katrina and the Waves, and more. There are a few in your list I haven’t heard of. Definitely going to be checking them out!
    suz2(at)cox(dot)net

  7. Annie says:

    First of all, love the series. Got a hold of Northern Exposure and did not stop until I had read them all. Now starting on the next generation. I like Bon Jovi’s “It’s My Life” when things are getting rough. I agree with Suzlyne about Katrina and the Waves. My son asked me to pick a son to describe his childhood and “Walking on Sunshine” was the first thing that came to my mind as he was always a happy child. Adele’s “Rolling in the Deep” and her voice just give me a chill. Right now, I’m feeling “Done” by The Band Perry cause I’m trying to get a man out of my mind. Add Miranda Lambert’s “Mama’s Broken Heart” to the last thought too.

  8. Stacia says:

    oh geez!!! There are sooo many songs!! To many to name. LOL! But to get energized I usually listen to dance music, ie Rihanna, Lady Gaga, Beyonce,… I also have a friend who is a country music singer so I listen to his music a lot. He has slow and fast paced songs but my favorite from him is “Lover, Lover”. I will put on the music channels on Fios (hits from 90’s, 80’s) and jam away also. 🙂

  9. Cindy Hamilton says:

    There are many of the older Country music songs that would put me in the mood,but right now I can’t think of the names. But as I am typing this the song Constant Cravings by K.D. Lang I believe popped into my mind. Now a crying song for me is “How Great Thou Art”!

  10. wyndwhisper says:

    “I’ll fly away” by Keith Urban. it is a Christian song on an album with a lot of other country singers singing gospel songs. this one just gets me ,it kinda chokes me up and makes me feel like laughing all at the same time. it’s awesome!

    Tammy Ramey
    trvlagnt1t@yahoo.com

  11. Rita says:

    Anything Of Luke Bryan..Love the song..Don’t want this night to end…I know we all have had that moment when we really like someone and really don’t want it to end!

  12. Lori Meehan says:

    I think that country music has some of the most romantic song out there now days. There are so many but one of my faves is Then by Brad Paisley.

  13. jenna says:

    Chaka Chan….Tell me something good! ; )

  14. jenna says:

    Chaka Chan…Tell me something good! ; )

  15. KittyKelly says:

    My go to pick me up song is So What by P!nk. Never fails to get me going again. Don’t enter me in the contest though. I already have all the books. 🙂 Unless you wanna send me Love’s Compass in print. 😉

    KittyKelly

  16. lisagk says:

    So many songs, so many moods, Red Neck Crazy, Carolina, Musta Had a Good Time, 1994, Hey Pretty Girl, and We Do It in a Field, Cruise, Something ’bout a Truck or Done. or Better Dig Two all having me singing along these days,

  17. amanda m says:

    Highway doesn’t care, Mama’s Broken Heart, Crash My Party!!! Love country music

Leave a Reply

