Help me for a Chance to Win!

I need a new idea for my next Ugly Stick Saloon story. I’d like to do a series of short stories involving the same characters. If you’re familiar with my Dirty Tricks series, that’s what I’m thinking about. What would you like to see? Any thoughts are appreciated!

Leave a comment/idea and you’ll be entered in this contest for a chance to win the following prize:

Leave an email address too so I’ll know how to contact you!

IMG_3532~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Speaking of Ugly Stick Saloon, this is my next book coming out.

Great cover, huh?

BootsAndRoses72lg

Ugly Stick Saloon:
Boots & Roses
Samhain Publishing
July 17, 2013

Samhain Publishing
Barnes & Noble Nook
Amazon Kindle
Kobo

About Myla Jackson

Twenty years of livin' and lovin' on a South Texas ranch raising horses, cattle, goats, ostriches and emus left an indelible impression on Myla Jackson, one she likes to instill in her red-hot stories. Myla pens wildly sexy, fun adventures of all genres including historical westerns, medieval tales, romantic suspense, contemporary romance and paranormal beasties of all shapes and sexy sizes. When she's not wrangling words from her computer she's out snow-skiing, boating, riding her ATV or spending time with her family. She lives in the tree-covered hills of Northwest Arkansas with her husband of 20 years and her muses— the human-wanna-be canines—Chewy and Sweetpea. To learn more about Myla Jackson and her stories visit her website at www.mylajackson.com.
This entry was posted in cowboys, inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Help me for a Chance to Win!

  1. DebraG says:

    I think it is a great idea. I love reading short stories and even better if you make the short stories about hold friends.

  2. Clare O'Beara says:

    Sounds very interesting – I liked Boots and Lace so much!
    How about – the town of Temptation is having a festival, both to brighten up everyone’s lives and to attract tourism and investment. Businesses could do with help, right?
    So everyone from the stuffy gardening club to the Ugly Stick is hanging out the flags and putting on parties at different times of day and night all weekend.
    Lots of scope for chance meetings, returning relatives, old friends….
    silvertrees-at-eircom.net

  3. Hello Myla!

    I think it would be pretty dang awesome if you did the series on some bullfighters, and a large animal vet. I haven’t found a western romance author that’s done this before.

    P.S – If you need any help with the vet part I can help you! I’v worked at an elephant hospital in Thailand, and I just got back from Montana where I worked with a vet team on an Indian reservation with buffalo, horses, and cattle!

    Just a thought is all 🙂

    My email is: paigemgreogry@gmail.com

  4. Mary Preston says:

    A fantastic cover!!

    Not sure this is helpful, but I’d love to read about some old west, wild, wild west gunslingers. I’m sure they could get up to all kinds of mischief.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  5. Cherity Thibodeaux says:

    I think that a series involving the rodeo circuit would be a good idea. You could have a group of bullriding brothers or friends who find love in as their lives carry on in each book.

  6. Good Morning! I love revisiting characters and seeing how things have changed. Clare’s idea of a festival is wonderful. I can see lots of situations coming from that one.

    I am not one for lots of ideas, but maybe this will help…
    A rodeo comes to town bringing an old flame and a few family secrets.

    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

  7. Tiss says:

    I love your books and I like Mel’s idea, I was thinking of something to do with ranching and things that come up there, or a rodeo would work too.

    tiss81@hotmail.com

  8. Myla Jackson says:

    Wow, some great ideas here. I do like the idea of Festivals and Rodeos. My December 2013 book BOOTS AND BUCKLES has a rodeo in it. But now, a festival has a lot of potential and I could work it around the rodeo. And Paige, wow sounds like you had an interesting time in Thailand with the elephants and an equally interesting job in Montana. A large animal vet could be a fun character, especially if she’s female!
    Cherity, I have a Thibodeaux in my Elle James book VOODOO ON THE BAYOU. He gets so jacked up by a voodoo queen!

  9. Michelle V says:

    I like when some authors go back and re-visit the characters from the earlier books in some short stories as sort of “in between” stories that come in between the other books. I’ve only read the 1st couple of Ugly Sticks but I’m working on it! Love the series!

  10. LorettaLynn says:

    Love the cover 🙂 Love what I have read of your books so far and always ready for more.. I have read a few cowboy stories were the woman is looking for work and finds her-self on a ranch, those were really good. But I think maybe have one were the woman is out doing a cattle drive and along comes some hot cowboy to help here when things start looking hard for her. Maybe something along those lines, but really what every you pick is going to be i’m sure..

  11. Teresa Hughes says:

    Looks like you have been giving some good ideas. What about a benefit type thing? Like maybe there has been a tornado or wild fire and there are members of the community are in need. There could be a fair/festival but the underlining idea is to raise money for those who have lost there homes, etc. During all of this there could be some hot loving going on.

    Hope you find the right idea. Have a great day!

    huhgestw@yahoo.com

  12. jennifer mathis says:

    what about a christmas story ?
    meandi09@yahoo.com

  13. Melanie J says:

    Great idea. I love these kind of stories!
    mpashon@hotmail.com

  14. Myla Jackson says:

    Oooo, I like the idea of a benefit for storm victims. And a I like the Christmas story idea. Writing these all down.

  15. ronnie c says:

    A holiday ugly stick would be great! 4th of July, Thanksgiving, Christmas, or New Years……I love the Ugly Stick Saloon series!!!

  16. Myla Jackson says:

    Thanks Ronnie! All the holidays sound cool too. I’m loving this!

  17. TIFFANY M says:

    HELLO MYLA. WHAT A SEXY AND PASSIONATE COVER PIC OF YOUR NOVEL. IT’S LOOKS SO YUMMY. WOLF!!!

  18. Beth Haney says:

    I love the Christmas idea, and there should be LOTS of cowboys with their shirts off and muscles rippling 🙂

    elizhaney78 at gmail dot com

  19. Elaine says:

    Hi Myla,

    Funny you should ask this. I bought the Dirty Tricks series a few days ago and have been reading one a day, trying to savor each one, slowly, what more can I say but mmmm and WOW! I have enjoyed all of the Ugly Stick series from the very beginning to the most recent, and love them all. You have a great imagination and talent.

    An idea I have for another series could maybe be involve a step sister, cousin or some other gal pal of one of the UglyStick Saloon gals arriving into Temptation unexpectedly with some sort of interesting or mysterious past she is running from or to, you work your magic here. And how about another war hero. Maybe a buddy of Connor’s shows up at the same time as this new gal maybe he can have some sort of previous connection to her or something in common. Again insert you magic here. There could be some sort of crisis at the Ugly Stick that puts the business in jeopardy and requires the cast of characters to get involved to save the saloon for Audrey. The relationship of this new couple involved could be the thing that unites the characters to save the saloon.

    So that’s my idea. I’m sure whatever you and your readers conjure up will be as ( pardon the pun) tittilating as your other stories.

    Thanks for asking us to dream up ideas.

    Sincerely,

    Elaine Mayer ebmayer@shaw.ca

    Sent from Elaine’s iPad 🙂

  20. Cherie Clark says:

    Ah what if your characters went on a holiday to somewhere, or there could be like a convention or some such so many cool Ideas. A pool competition as a fund raiser for something, sorry there is a reason I am the reader not the writer. Let them come visit down under!!!
    slimshrub@hotmail.co.nz

  21. lisagk says:

    So many good ideas. You could maybe mix up a church or city official, bartender, computer gaming geek and maybe a shy quiet librarian

  22. June M. says:

    How about a county fair or something like that. That way you could have different events, rides, concerts, etc
    June
    manning_J2004 at yahoo dot com

  23. Myla Jackson says:

    Congratulations, Jennifer Mathis! You’re the the winner of the prize package!

    Thank you all for the wonderful story ideas! I truly appreciate your feedback and great ideas. I made a lot of notes and I’ll be using some of these ideas in future Ugly Stick books! Have a great day!

  24. Urb says:

    In light of current events, what if the characters encountered dangerous weather conditions–a tornado, a dust storm–and had to face the aftermath of the disaster?

  25. TIFFANY M says:

    HELLO MYLA. HOW ABOUT A MAIL ORDER BRIDE SEXY STORY, AND OF COURSE THE BRIDE CAN BE VIRGINAL AND SWEET. HOW HOT AND SEXY IT IS!!!

Leave a Reply

