Make Mine a Cowboy (Cowboy Dreamin’ 1) Coming Soon!

Hi all,

I figured I’d send over a cover and a nice excerpt for Make Mine a Cowboy. This book will be releasing soon to an ereader near you. If you’re going to Lori Foster’s RAGT, come by and see me. I’ll be around handing out goodies!

Portrait of confident young man shirtless against grey backgroun

 

Coming soon from Secret Cravings Publishing

 

Excerpt

A rumble of thunder broke the stillness as she contemplated what to do. She’d taken a drive to clear her head and jumpstart her muse for her next book, not end up on the side of the road out of gas with no houses within several miles.

This was cowboy country. Hill Country in Texas boasted some of the biggest longhorn cattle spreads in the state. Several cattle mooed in the distance but she couldn’t tell how close a house might be. At least cattle meant humans…somewhere.

Large banks of dark clouds continued to roll across the sky. Several huge raindrops hit her windshield with a loud splat before the sky opened up in a torrential downpour.

“Just fucking great. Now fate is going to throw me into a huge thunderstorm. Why? Because I was stupid enough to go for a drive by myself during a writers conference in San Antonio and ended up out here in the middle of the country. Now, I’m stuck on the side of some dirt road, out of gas and God only knows how far from the nearest house.”

Lightning flashed followed shortly by a loud crash of thunder. Mesa jumped. A shiver raced through her body as her heart clenched in fear. She hated thunderstorms.

Her cell phone beeped the ominous sound of no cell phone coverage. Great!

She glanced out the window and saw water rushing under her car along a gulley she didn’t realize she’d straddled when she stopped. “Shit. Flash flooding? I’m so screwed.”

As the water began rising rapidly she realized she needed to get the hell out of her car before it was washed away. In the distance she could make out several larger rocks. “If I can get on top of them, I should be safe from the rush. Of course, that means I’ll be out in the rain getting soaked.” Fear rose, threatening to choke her with the lump in her throat. She rubbed her arms trying to calm the chills while deciding what to do. She really didn’t have much choice. Water ran in rivulets down the windshield. Lightning continued to flash and thunder rolled over the area. She sucked in a large breath as she bit her lip.

A moment later a tap, tap, tap on her window startled her out of her thoughts. She jumped and screamed as a face appeared near her door. Blue eyes with long lashes stared back beneath a black cowboy hat. Black hair ruffled slightly with the wind.

“Ma’am? Are you all right?”

“I’m fine.”

“You need to get this car out of the water. You’ll be washed away. It’s rising fast.”

“I can’t. I’m out of gas.”

“Open the door.”

“Hell, no. Do I look crazy to you?” she asked, her voice shrill with terror.

“Trust me. If I were a serial killer, I wouldn’t be out in this shit trying to find women to abduct. I’m going to help you, but you need to get out of the car first before we’re both swept away.”

Mesa bit her lip. Should she trust him?

“Ma’am?”

“All right.” She eased open the door to find the water almost reached the bottom of the car. The cowboy pulled the door the rest of the way as she grabbed her purse.

“We have to hurry,” he said, offering her a hand to help her from the car. “Let me help you. This water is rushing pretty fast.”

A red horse stood patiently several feet away with its head down, riding out the storm the only way horses knew how. A cowboy on a real horse out here in the middle of nowhere? Surely, it’s safe. I mean serial killers don’t ride horses, right? 

~ Sandy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Make Mine a Cowboy (Cowboy Dreamin’ 1) Coming Soon!

  1. Teresa Hughes says:

    Sounds like an awesome bookm! I just added to my TBR list. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Rhonda D says:

    I can’t wait! I love me some cowboys! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Elaine says:

    This just went on my TBR list……I do love cowboys and the hill country out from San Antonio……Thank you for sharing this with us.

  4. Eileen says:

    I’ll be sure to stop by and see you. I’m going to the RAGT for the first time. Nice cover and good excerpt.

  5. ronnie c says:

    I love Sandy Sullivan’s books!!! Can’t wait to read this one!!!

  6. julie says:

    I do love acowboy. Enjoyed the excerpt. Really like the cover
    Wish Sandy all the best with it

  7. Cindy Hamilton says:

    Just wanted to say Hi! Make Mine a Cowboy sounds good!

  8. Hi Sandy,
    Great excerpt Make Mine a Cowboy sounds great. Good job 🙂

  9. Tiss says:

    Oh Sandy, this sounds like a real good book. Can’t wait til it comes out and I can read…..
    Love the cover too.

  10. Michelle V says:

    It looks awesome! I can’t wait!

  11. Mary Preston says:

    LOVED the excerpt thank you. A touch of humour is always appreciated.

  12. Clare O'Beara says:

    That’s a lovely cover and I like your writing style, the description of the storm and flood is great.
    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

