Trouble in Disguise Video & Contest

On June 5th, Ellora’s Cave will publish the fifth book in my Eclipse Heat series. Because if there’s one thing wild and wicked it’s the McCallister family–I’m  launching my Trouble in Disguise pre-release campaign and celebrating here today by giving away one set of my bounty hunter trio–Wolf’s Tender and Five Card Stud–my other two bounty hunter bad boys– and ALSO–one copy of Trouble in Disguise to be delivered as soon as it’s available to me on June 5th. 🙂

Robert “Deacon” McCallister former minister turned bounty hunter is an unlikely hero in Trouble in Disguise. Deacon seems staid and almost set in his ways to most folks but one person seems to be able to light a fire and provoke the preacher-man’s passion

Meet Miracle Beauregard, Deacon’s nemesis. I hope you enjoy her character as much as I did while writing her.

Miri played the part of various males in order to survive and thrive in a man’s rough world. Leave a comment below and tell me which feminine ritual/product/indulgence you’d miss the most if you had to pretend to be a man to keep your job.

Random.org will be used to pop out a winner from the comments below.

Thanks for playing today!

Gem

________________________________________
Web Twitter / FB / Amazon

 

About Gem

Author of contemporary, paranormal, and historical western romance always with a pinch of naughty, a dash of desire and sometimes with a touch of magic.
This entry was posted in Eclipse Heat, Excerpts, New Release. Bookmark the permalink.

82 Responses to Trouble in Disguise Video & Contest

  1. Angie M says:

    I must confess that I would miss my pedicures the most! The relaxation of that hour and picking out what color I want my nails to be is one of my favorite female indulgences!

    • Gem says:

      As soon as you mentioned pedicure, Angie, I checked out my feet and agreed. I love that particular feminine indulgence.

  2. Jackie morgan says:

    Manicure & pedicure

    • Gem says:

      Hey Jackie. I use a lot of lotion on my hands between nail appointments–especially in the summer. Gardening takes a heavy toll since I can’t go outside without seeing something I need to snip, pull, or prune and I frequently don’t wear my gloves. @_@

  3. Mary Preston says:

    I’d miss wearing a beautiful dress or blouse. Wearing something very feminine & pretty always makes me feel rather wonderful.

    A great way to celebrate thank you.

    • Gem says:

      Hi Mary. I love my swimsuits. *BG* Would hate to stop using the pool but I don’t see away to disguise female form in or out of the water.

      Thanks for stopping by,

      gem

  4. Amanda m says:

    I would miss my makeup And being a mom. There is nothing like my makeup to feel feminine.
    And there is nothing in this world that is as great as being a mom.

    • Gem says:

      Amanda, you are so right. I have NEVER wanted to be a man. Enjoying femininity is way too much fun!!

      Thanks for stopping by,

      gem

  5. Leni says:

    Perfume would be one of the things I’d miss. Even using a stronger fragrance would be a dead giveaway and wouldn’t pass for a male cologne 🙂

    lenikaye@yahoo.com

    • Gem says:

      Hi Leni. I hadn’t considered that, and yet, in TiD, Deacon knows something’s “off” about Beauregard and he finally figures out it’s his/her scent. I’d definitely miss my favorite scent–Spell Bound.

      Thanks for stopping by,

      gem

  6. Ashley says:

    I would miss the form fitting clothes. I like to emphasis my girlish figure. Love the pencil skirts. 🙂

    • Gem says:

      Ashley, strolling next to the ocean, wearing beach clothes and kicking sand at hubs as we play our own version of “tag”–I wouldn’t want to lose a moment of that.

      (You can see I’m already anticipating our beach vacation in early summer) *BG*
      ~gem

  7. Teresa Hughes says:

    Congrats on the newest release. Love the name Miracle! Thanks for a chance to win.

    • Gem says:

      Good morning Teresa. Good luck in the drawing and I hope you get a chance to read Trouble in Disguise.

      Thanks for stopping by,

      ~gem

  8. Wanda says:

    I would definitely miss the pedicures. Soaking your feet and not having to worry about anything for that hour or more. Love your stories!

    • Gem says:

      Hi Wanda. I’m glad you’re a fan of my cowboys. I hope you enjoy Trouble in Disguise as well. Who would have suspected that Deacon had so many smooth moves? *BG*

      Thanks for playing today,

      gem

  9. Ginger Ring says:

    Great video! I am adding these books to my to read list!! I have kind of a ‘man’s job’ already so I don’t get to wear girly clothes but I would miss wearing makeup. I would also hate to cut my hair.

    • Gem says:

      Hi Ginger. I found the pic of the male model during a picture hunt and had to have him. He personifies my mental image of Deacon–my third McCallister bounty hunter. 🙂

      Thanks so much for stopping by,

      gem

  10. I thought I was going crazy for a minute when I saw your “Hi Ginger” in the previous message. I thought maybe you were clairvoyant. 🙂 I thought about what would be the most awkward if I had to pretend to be a man on the job, and I can’t imagine standing at a urinal, pretending to pee and not wanting to check out the guy’s junk standing next to me.

    • Gem says:

      Nope not clairvoyant–but in some future book, I might be. 😀 “Hi Ginger!” Yes, men seem to be much more casual about their calls of nature. I’d think it would be best to just avoid the men’s room if at all possible.

      Thanks for stopping by,

      gem

  11. Jenna Jaxon says:

    I’d miss getting to wear jewelry. I love dangley earrings and bold necklaces when I dress up. Can’t wait to read these titles, Gem!

    • Gem says:

      Jenna, I’d miss my gypsy scarves and earrings for sure. And…I can’t wait for you to read these titles either. *BG*

      Thanks for the support!

      gem

  12. siobhanmuir says:

    Remarkably enough, I’d miss dresses and heels. I don’t dress up very often as it is and putting on a skirt and a set of heels makes me feel feminine and sexy. So I’d miss it. That, and having to bind my breasts so I don’t look like a girl. 😛 Congrats on the upcoming release, Gem! 🙂

    • Gem says:

      Thanks, Siobhan! *Ahem* I don’t believe I’d have to bind mine but I do love dressing in girlie clothes so I’d for sure miss that.

      I’m excited about releasing Deacon’s story. Hope you get a chance to read Trouble in Disguise!

      ~gem

  13. Keta Diablo says:

    Hello Gem, and best of luck on your release coming in June! As you know, I LUV cowboys. Here’s what I’d miss (get your notebook and pen out) – my special easy-peasy DIY lotion. 1 8oz jar of Vaseline, 16 oz bottle of Baby Lotion, one small jar Vitamin E Cream and 1 small bottle of Shea butter (any brand). Mix together in bowl with hand mixer. Store in two covered Mason jars. You’ll never buy body lotion again! Hope you enjoy.

    • Gem says:

      Wow, Keta. Thanks so much for the lotion recipe! I know you love cowboys and I hope you get a chance to check out mine someday. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by,

      ~gem

  14. Kirsten says:

    I’d miss those moments of being treated like a lady. It’s getting rare as it is, but those times when a man opens a door for me, or a cowboy doffs his hat when saying hello and tips it when saying goodbye (I know, I know, somehow I missed part of the feminist revolution, but it still makes me all warm and gooey inside). Oh, and scented lotions and body washes, I’d miss those. 🙂 Best of luck with the new release!

    –Kirsten

    • Gem says:

      Hi Kirsten. My husband is a 6’4″ hunk of fine looking gentleman. He opens doors, takes his hat off inside, and never fails to make me feel warm and gooey when he smiles. I would miss this a great deal if I had to pretend to be a man. But if so, I’ve had an excellent example to model myself after.

      Thanks for stopping by,

      gem

  15. Eileen says:

    Oh I would miss my pampering bathtub time. soaking, salts, bubbles and reading. Couldn’t do that very well as a man.
    love the video.

    • Gem says:

      Hey, Eileen. From the posts, I’m guessing that most of us really like lotions, spas, and feel good pretties. I once offered to give my husband a pedicure and he laughed. But, I’m betting if the boys knew how good this stuff feels, they’d not be so shy about some pampering too!

      Thanks for stopping by,

      gem

  16. Oh I would so miss getting my hair colored and highlighted..lol I love to do great things with my hair, do not know if I could cut it short to play a man..lol..

    • Gem says:

      Hi Christie. I think you could get away with leaving it long since now like then, any hair length seems to be okay for men. Now if’n ya go changin’ up the color agin and agin, I can’t be sure ya’d be able to keep yer cover. 😀

      Thanks for stopping by,

      gem

  17. Cara Bristol says:

    I would miss dressing in color. Men’s clothes are so boring, gray, brown, dark green. LOVE the premise this latest Eclipse Heat story, and the trailer is AWESOME. You always have the best trailers. It was one of your trailers that made me buy my first Gem Sivad book.

    • Gem says:

      Oh, Cara, I’m sharing that compliment with Alanna Coca. She reads minds and always delivers what I think I want but can’t articulate. I hope you enjoy Trouble in Disguise!!

      Thanks for stopping by,

      gem

  18. Tonya Kinzer says:

    Hi Gem! Congrats on the new release. I’ve downloaded a few of your books to take on vacation with me….first trip to Hawaii soon! I’d miss several things if I had to dress as a man – having my nails done, pedis, body lotion (thanks Keta!!!), pencil skirts, heels, perfume to name a few! I still love having the doors opened for me, too! Again, congrats!

    • Gem says:

      Tonya, I love my Eclipse Heat series but day-ummm. Hawaii is a little over the top in the competition for attention game. You have a great time and when you come home, maybe you’ll have time to curl up with a cowboy for some cuddle time. 😀

      Thanks for stopping by,
      ~gem

  19. Clare O'Beara says:

    Pretend to be a man to keep my job? I’m a tree surgeon. What would change?
    I’d miss coming home to my husband….

    • Gem says:

      Hey Claire. Wow, being a tree surgeon sounds like a grand occupation. I sensed a wry tone in your comment and it made plot bunnies start hopping in my mind. 😀

      Thanks for stopping by and I hope you read Trouble in Disguise and enjoy!

      ~gem

  20. Tracie says:

    If I had to pretend to be a man to keep my job, I would definitely miss all the frills, make-up, heels, nail polish, earrings, colors and patterns. Wow, the list is long.

    • Gem says:

      Hi Tracie. It was jarring being in Beau’s female mind and looking at the world through eyes of disguise. And it was fun after her deception was revealed to dress her up like a Barbie doll and imagine her reactions.

      Thanks for stopping by and I hope you get a chance to read Trouble in Disguise.

      ~gem

  21. Linda says:

    Hi Gem,

    Can’t wait till Trouble In Disguise is available. Have a wonderful day!!!!!!!!!!

    • Gem says:

      Thanks Linda. I’m scurrying around trying to give Deacon and Miracle a fitting send off. I’m glad you made it to the first party. 😀

      Have a wonderful day (and week) back @ you!

      ~gem

  22. jennifer mathis says:

    i would miss my sweet pea body wash
    meandi09@yahoo.com

    • Gem says:

      Jennifer, body wash seems to be the number one feminine mystic product missed. I’m looking forward to using mine later today just to prove that I can. 😀

      Thanks for stopping by,

      ~gem

  23. Sherry S. says:

    I would miss my makeup and girly clothes.
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

    • Gem says:

      Hey Sherry. I don’t need name brands to get excited. I can spend an hour just grazing in the women’s clothing aisles. Hubs on the other hand, walks to men’s clothes, checks for his size, grabs the first hanger and says, “That’ll work.” Then off we go to the checkout. 🙂

      Men and women are very different and I had so much fun writing Miri’s deceptions in Trouble in Disguise.

      Thanks for stopping by,

      ~gem

  24. Cindy Hamilton says:

    I would miss having my nails done and getting pedicures.

    • Gem says:

      Hi Cindy. For my birthday, girl friends went together and bought me a total SPA event–facial, full body massage, pedicure, manicure and wax. I believe that’s the best birthday treat a girl can enjoy. It was heavenly.

      Thanks for stopping by,

      ~gem

  25. Sara G says:

    I think I would miss lipstick and gloss the most. I don’t wear a lot of make up but I like my lipstick 🙂

    • Gem says:

      Yes, Sara, I agree. I spend a lot of time outside in the summer and between the sun and wind, my lips would be parched and chapped all the time without my lip gloss. Hmmm, yet another female perk I’d forgotten about.

      Thanks for stopping by,

      ~gem

  26. lib6258 says:

    haha – besides an electric fan in summer and a fan heater in winter? Probably would miss body spray the most because I’m sure I’d need it especially having to wear all those clothes in summer. Oh…and a washing machine, and dryer, and…

    • Gem says:

      And…and…and…the list of must haves/can’t lose gets longer as I think what I could do without. lol. Definitely not giving up my washer and dryer.

      Thanks for stopping by Lib.

      ~gem

  27. DebraG says:

    I would miss my toothbrush,.

    • Gem says:

      Nope, male or female, you’re safe. The toothbrush was invented during the 15th century in China.

      Thanks for stopping by, Debra!

      ~gem

  28. kitten18blog says:

    There are a lot of feminin things I would miss. Lotions, perfume, feminin clothing, shoes, being treated like a lady by the few gentlemen who are still out there, but most of all I would miss my hubby & kids. (I also think for me (being rather large chested) it would be horrible trying to bind myself up enough to flatten my chest enough to pass for a man.)

    • Gem says:

      Yes, I agree. Miracle bound her breasts and then wore loose shirts layered again with vests and sloppy buckskins. It would have been uncomfortable and hot…but on the other hand, there were very few “respectable” careers for an unmarried girl so she earned money as she sweat beneath her bounty hunter clothes. 🙂

      Hope you get a chance to read Trouble in Disguise. Thanks for stopping by,

      ~gem

  29. kat says:

    Nice video clip~~looking forward to their story~enjoy your work.
    Trouble In Disguise

    • Gem says:

      Hey Kat. Oh, thanks for reading my stories. *beaming* I hope you also have time to enjoy Trouble In Disguise.

      Thanks for your support!

      ~gem

  30. carolyn overholser says:

    I think I could fit right in. I don’t do pedicures, jewelery, makeup or “girlie” clothes. My hair is already short to my ears and I can’t wear perfume because of being allergic to the smell-drives my allergies nuts when I’m around it. I only have a b cup so binding them wouldn’t be that hard and being overweight, they’d just look like more fat. Congrats on your new book. I love your historicals-the flirt and the other one that you sent in your newsletter. Carolyn

    • Gem says:

      Wow, Carolyn.I’m really beaming here. Some day when time allows I’m going to get Elizabeth’s Waltz and Flirt polished and pubbed. It’s good to know you enjoyed them. I hope you get a chance to read Trouble In Disguise and let me know what you think. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by,

      ~gem

  31. Heather Kumar says:

    I would miss having the ability to breast feed (and I imagine my little one would as well)!

    • Gem says:

      Hi Heather. I’m not hiring you, that’s it. You’re just gonna have to own up to being a mom and no more bound breasts, big boots, or smelly buckskins for you! 😀

      Thanks so much for stopping by,

      gem

  32. JackieW says:

    I would miss most the wearing of pretty clothes and colors. I’ve always been a clothes horse.

  33. JOYE says:

    I would miss getting my hair done at the salon every week and wearing beautiful smelling perfume.

    • Gem says:

      Hi Joye. Hair products, clothes, lotions, shoes–all feminine armor we wear to face the world. I don’t know if I could go out in buckskins, boots, and bound either. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by,

      gem

  34. bn100 says:

    Using nice smelling lotion

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

    • Gem says:

      Great smelling body lotion seems to be one of the favorite items today. I use mine a lot so I understand.

      Thanks for stopping by,

      ~gem

  35. skyla11377 says:

    The thing I would miss the most would be my Dove Cucumber & Green Tea scented body mist. I use that every day.Even my boys try to get me to spray them with it….^_^.

  36. lisagk says:

    I would miss my lipstick most. lisagk(at)yahoo

    • Gem says:

      Hi Lisa. Yep, lipstick on a male bounty hunter would be the end of the disguise. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by,

      ~gem

  37. Carin says:

    cute shoes men have ugly shoes :O)

    • Gem Sivad says:

      Good morning, Carin. *Gah* Steel-toed boots. Thank God for the progress women in the 21st century have made. We can wear what we want, smell good, and flirt at the same time we earn *almost* as much as men. 😉

      Thanks for stopping by,

      gem

  38. Gem Sivad says:

    Drum roll… And the winner of my Eclipse Heat bad boys–Sam, Charlie Wolf and Deacon McCallister—-Christie Sapp-Bilky!!

    Congrats Christie ! All of you other great peeps who stopped by, thanks bunches for all your support. (And don’t forget–Trouble in Disguise will be available June 5th.) 🙂

    ~gem

  39. That would have to be my lipstick. Nothing like a fabulous color to draw attention to your mouth 🙂

  40. Meghan Stith says:

    I would miss wearing makeup! Thanks for the giveaway!
    mestith at gmail dot com

    • Gem Sivad says:

      Hey, Mehan, YVW, though I’m sorry you didn’t get in on the contest. Never fear, I’ll have another bounty hunter fest on June 2nd, right before Trouble in Disguise releases. Stop back and see me again. 😀

      ~gem

  41. Kitty says:

    At one time I had a job that required me to wear chest waders. Not very flattering, but better than freezing my butt off in ice cold streams while doing biological sampling. But as to the question about the feminine “trappings” I would miss, it would be the hair. My hair is so thick and curly that I was forced to wear it short until I was able to take care of it myself, so I don’t like me in short hair. I am so looking forward to “Trouble in Disguise”. I am having surgery on May 28 and am in the process of amassing a TBR pile. 🙂

    • Gem Sivad says:

      Wow Kitty, biological sampling sounds like an interesting job. *lots of plot bunnies in head* 😀 And thank you for adding Trouble in Disguise to your TBR pile. I’m honored.

      Wishing you a speedy recovery from surgery,

      ~gem

Leave a Reply

