Conferences!

How many of y’all like to go to conferences?

The reason I ask is it’s coming into conference season and there are a ton of them out there. Romantic Times Convention is a biggie going on starting tomorrow I believe and running through 5/6.

I went to this one back in 2009. I had a great time, but it’s a huge conference and you feel kind of lost in the crowd. As an author, most of the time I felt like I didn’t count because it was so geared toward the NY publishing houses and the big authors like Nora Roberts, J.R. Ward and others. They say they try to help the small epress published authors, but I don’t think they do.

It’s hard to know which one conferences to go to. I’m scheduled to be at several this year including Lori Foster’s RAGT, Romfest in Gatlinburg, Obsessed Chicks BBQ in NYC, AAD in Savannah, Romance Novel Convention in Las Vegas, Moonlight and Magnolia’s in Atlanta and Southern Magic Luncheon in Birmingham AL in November. Wow!

I do hope to see many of you there! I’ll have books and goodies! I know goodies always make conferences better.

As for the cowboys, I’m working on the second in my Cowboy Dreamin’ series. It’s called The Heart of a Cowboy and it’s the oldest brothers story. He’s been burned badly, but I’m hoping he’ll pull his head out soon otherwise he might just lose the girl. 😦

The first in the series Make Mine a Cowboy will be out soon. I hope to have a cover to show off in the coming weeks! Stay tuned!

So question, do you like going to conferences and seeing your favorite authors?

~ Sandy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Conferences!

  1. Mary Preston says:

    I’ve never been to a conference. I’d love to!!

    I can totally picture Security throwing me out for stalking & invading people’s personal space. Good times.

  2. Eileen says:

    Yes I have been to a few in the past few years but they have been small ones. My first conference was Lora Leigh’s Readers Appreciation Weekend RAW in Maryland. I had a blast. Just enough authors to whet my appetite and not feel lost. I’ll be attending the Lori Foster RAGT this year and look forward to it. This one is a little further away from home and it is making me a little nervous because to me it will be bigger. I don’t think i could handle RT. One step at a time.

  3. Teresa Hughes says:

    I do love going to conferences. I have gone to Lori Foster’s for a couple of years and loved it! At Lori’s you are able to actually meet the authors and get to know them. I’m disappointed that I won’t be going this year. I have also gone a few times to Lora Leigh’s RAW. But, the last time for me was disappointing so I haven’t been back. I hope to get to other conferences in the future. Until then I will just enjoy talking to authors on blogs and Facebook.

  4. Tina B says:

    I have never been to one, but I am trying to rectify that this year and make it to AAD. It’s only 1 state away. 🙂
    Some of them do sound overwhelming, especially for a first timer.
    Enjoy them!

  5. Staci says:

    I have been to Lora Leigh’s RAW 3 times and I went to Romanticon last year. This year I am attending Lori Foster’s RAGT (looking forward to meeting you), RAW and Romanticon. Hey, just noticed they all start with R. LOL!! I have become not only fans but I like to think friends as well with some of the authors. Next year I am planning on attending the Sassy Seven conference in San Antonio and possibly RT since it will be in New Orleans.

  6. Ashley says:

    I have only been to one conference (AAD last year). I loved it. You not only meet authors but a number of different people who love the authors and characters you do. 🙂

  7. Clare O'Beara says:

    I enjoyed several trips to Ireland’s OctoCon for SF&F. I felt that if I wanted these Cons to be run I had to support them. For a few years I didn’t have much money so didn’t get to go. I’m afraid US Cons are a little bit too far!

  8. Cindy Hamilton says:

    I’ve never attended a conference but they sound very interesting. I know it’s a good way to meet authors and get to know them and just being around fellow readers and sharing opinions.

  9. tiss81 says:

    I would love to be able to go to a conference. One might be in my future.

  10. amanda m says:

    Im so trying to go to the Gatlinburg one. We were just there for the weekend last weekend ago and go every couple months!!!

  11. Elaine says:

    I have been to one conference and loved it. I would love to be able to go to some of these conferences they sound like they would be fun.

Leave a Reply

