Meet the McCallisters

Eclipse-Heat-Gem-Sivad-fb 4

For those of you who are already familiar with my Eclipse Heat series, you’ll recognize the names on my banner. The series revolves around three families in the town of Eclipse, Texas and spans (so far) the period from 1866-1887. Though I’m working in the Hawks family right now in my title Whispering Grace,  since I’ve just released a McCallister story and have another out this summer, I decided to concentrate on this wild bunch today. 

The McCallisters– Charlie Wolf (Wolf’s Tender) Samuel Elliot (Five Card Stud) and Robert Austin (Trouble In Disguise)–are bounty hunters, dangerous men in the business of violence. 

For those who visit the Old West today, leave a comment and tell me which modern convenience you’d miss the most if you woke up in 1881 Eclipse, Texas tomorrow morning. 

Answers go in a drawing for an ecopy of Five Card Stud. 

Meet the  McCallisters

 wolfs-tender-3d. 169x2165cs-cover-3d. 163x 218Trouble-in-Disguise-3D-152x219

Click covers for more info:

Click Here to read an adult excerpt from Five Card Stud. Sam McCallister is the baddest bad boy I’ve written. He’s surly, insolent, big enough to take most men in a fair fight and mean enough to stomp ’em if the rules go south. But oh how the mighty fall–in love. 🙂

 Series: Eclipse Heat ISBN: 9781419929809

Available now from Ellora’s Cave! 

Blurb:

Although Sam McCallister’s watching a poker game the first time he sees Eden Pace, he loses all interest in the cards when the thought of playing stud with the lady gambler stirs his cock to life. Eden’s the prettiest woman and the best card sharp Sam’s ever met. She’s only interested in poker but Sam has other games in mind.
Sam, being a bounty hunter,discovers Eden’s wanted for murder. He plans on keeping her safe–a prisoner in his bed. But Eden’s doing her own outlaw hunting. She’s on the trail of her husband’s killer and Sam’s in her way. To get free from the hard-headed, soft-hearted, gorgeous man, she uses every sensual trick she knows–and Sam soon discovers she knows plenty.
Eden’s planning a showdown with a monster only she can identify. Protecting her puts Sam at risk. He’s in a high-stakes poker game with hearts on the table and forever on the line. Winning’s the only option because one taste of Eden will never be enough.

Thanks for stopping by!

Gem

Web Twitter / FB  /  Amazon 

About Gem

Author of contemporary, paranormal, and historical western romance always with a pinch of naughty, a dash of desire and sometimes with a touch of magic.
This entry was posted in cowboys, Eclipse Heat, Westerns. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Meet the McCallisters

  1. Rosheen says:

    Love this series! Charlie Wolf is still my favourite but Sam is great too, plus love the very determined capable heroines. Really recommend these books to anyone particularly those on this blog. Now to the point and answer the question, don’t need to go into the draw, but the question is a good one and makes you appreciate what luxuries we take as basics. A: Safe Water on tap, including shower and flushing toilet. Cheers rosheen

    • Gem says:

      Good morning (my time) Rosheen. Although in the history of time, 131 years isn’t that long,in terms of changes 1881 seems closer to the Dark Ages than now.

      Thanks for stopping by to say hello!

      ~gem

    • I’m with you, Rosheen, with safe water on tap. I’ve been sick, without safe water available, and out of bottle drinks. One of the longest nights of my life.

      • Gem says:

        Hi Alison. I’m not sure our water today is “safer” with all of the toxins we’ve pumped into our world, but I sure like the fact I don’t have to carry a bucket of water from the well in order to wash dishes, cook supper, or take a bath.

        Thanks for stopping by!

        ~gem

  2. chrisbails says:

    Electricity and plumbing. Internet

  3. Clare O'Beara says:

    With electricity you can do so much including pump water! I know steam power came along to do just that but steam doesn’t give light as well.

    • Gem says:

      Clare, I love horses but the idea of hitching up the wagon (rain or shine) to a team of horses to drive to the Mercantile for Saturday shopping doesn’t really hold much appeal.

      I wonder what advances we’ll achieve by 2143–131 years in the future from now.

      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great weekend!

      ~gem

  4. Lisa says:

    indoor plumbing the most, followed quickly by grocery stores! lol… while i like to garden, i’m more of a putterer than a survivalist!

    • Gem says:

      Hi Lisa. I’m shuddering at the idea of carrying buckets of water, heating them on a wood stove to fill the tin washtub for a bath. Hello, no wonder perfume was popular.

      Thanks for stopping by,

      ~gem

  5. Susan T. says:

    I would miss indoor plumbing the most. I think I can handle everything else. I love stories from the old Texas and don’t know how I miss your books. Off to add to my TBR pile.

    • Gem says:

      Hi Susan. Choice-light the lantern to walk to the outhouse in the middle of the night–or use a chamber pot–Either one a big ewwwww!

      Have a great weekend!

      ~gem

  6. Randi Alexander says:

    That’s a good question, Gem. I think I’d miss the grocery store the most. I love having tropical fruit in the middle of winter, and basic supplies available with just a short drive to the store. I’d miss peanut butter the most. (addicted!)

  7. I would miss access to books the most.

    • Gem says:

      Michelle, I’d miss my Kindle but given the amount of work to accomplish each day, I’m not sure I’d have much time to read anyway. Pretty astonishing the difference 131 years makes.

      Have a great weekend!

      ~gem

  8. Eileen says:

    I would miss my microwave. It is part of the missing electricity thing but it would be an appliance I would miss.

    • Gem says:

      Eileen, *groan*. Call me DOMESTIC DIVA NOT! Microwave was the first thing that popped into my head. I swear, hubs might starve.

  9. Kirsten says:

    Aw Sam, if Charlie wasn’t around you might have a chance with me. 😉 I think I would miss the opportunity to travel and see friends and family. I’d hate to leave home and know I’d probably never see anyone there again. I would also miss phones and the computer, because if I had to rely on letters no one would ever hear from me again. 🙂

    • Gem says:

      Kirsten, I know what you mean about not seeing anyone again. It’s worth learning about the Old West just to appreciate what we have now. 🙂
      Have a great weekend!

      ~gem

  10. Tiss says:

    Don’t enter me in the contest, as I’ve already read the book. Which I loved. But if I had to made a decision, it would be the computer. As soon as I get home from work, I’m checking my email and FB pages. They never heard of computers back in that day!
    And we wouldn’t be “chattting” with YOU!

    • Gem says:

      Tiss, you’re so right. I can think of a lot of things I could do without, but to lose cyberworld?? @_@

      Thanks so much for stopping by,

      ~gem

  11. I’m disgusted with myself …. I can’t believe I have NOT read these books yet! I’m gonna correct that ASAP! Oh, and absolutely excellent trailer, Gem!

    • Gem says:

      Hey JoAnne. Thank you for admiring my awesome video created by Author, Alanna Coca. I love the music too–an original score by Canadian musician, Marvin Lee. No films or soundtracks in 1881. 😦

      Have a great weekend!

      ~gem

  12. Mary Preston says:

    I am yet to meet the McCallisters.

    I would miss electricity & everything that goes along with it.

    • Gem says:

      Well Mary, I hope we cure that oversight soon. I know Sam and Charlie would be delighted to spend some time with you. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by,

      ~gem

  13. Donya says:

    That’s easy – indoor plumbing. The idea of having to get up in the middle of the night to use a pot or an outhouse has me cringing -and yes, I remember when my grandparents had one! And I’m so glad you’re going to tell Sam and Charlie’s stories! I can’t wait!

    • Gem says:

      Hi Donya. I agree, the whole plumbing thing kind of tops any other losses. It’s just so not user friendly. @_@
      Thanks for stopping by,

      ~gem

  14. retta says:

    I already have all your stories so do not pick me.

    I would say plumbing. Not only running water, but I hate outhouse with a passion.
    Love your books thanks for all the great stories.

  15. Teresa Hughes says:

    I would so miss air conditioning! I am very hot natured so a/c is very important to me.

    I have not read any of this series but, I want to!!

    Thanks for sharing:)

    • Gem says:

      Hi, Retta and Teresa. Indoor plumbing beats air conditioning for me, but OMG I’m glad I don’t have to choose. Thanks to both of you for stopping by to chat. Retta, Trouble in Disguise, Deacon’s story will be out this summer. 🙂 Teresa, I hope you’ll visit Eclipse soon!

      ~gem

  16. wyndwhisper says:

    i think i would miss electricity the most. they used kerosene for their street lights i believe and also for their homes. have you ever smelled kerosene? it stinks to high heaven. besides that they cooked on a wood stove. i know that it sounds great but i have helped my aunt to cook on her wood stove and it is a pain in the behind. first you have to get it blazing hot then make sure it also has a certain amount of water heated to add moisture back into the air. meanwhile someone is constantly adding wood until you get the temp you want. my Aunt Ida said you know the ovens ready when the skin around your fingers pulls back in shock when you put your hand in to check the temp. 🙂
    i will say that she only cooked in cast iron and to this day i have yet to find anything that works better than a properly seasoned cast iron fry pan.

    tammy ramey
    trvlagnt1t@yahoo.com

    • Gem says:

      Wow, Tammy, that’s some great first hand information. I like the “you know the ovens ready when the skin around your fingers pulls back in shock…”

      Thanks so much for dropping by,

      ~gem

Leave a Reply

