Am I Wonderfully Organized, Or Am I Getting Kinda Fruity?

While we were cleaning up the kitchen after a dinner party, my girlfriend asked where the Ziplocs were. I pointed to the drawer. She opened it then started laughing like a crazy woman. (Her reaction could be partially attributed to the wine, I guess.)

“This is the neatest drawer I’ve ever seen in a kitchen. Ever!”

I walked over and took a look.

IMG313

Sure, I have a vast array of zip bags – I don’t use them much, but you never know when you’re going to need just that certain sized bag. Am I right?

Everything in the drawer has its place, little spots that perfectly fit the box that goes there. And even an open space for twist-ties, rubber bands, and…is that a plastic gator in there, too? Yep, even toy alligators have a spot.

I have found that there are some things in my life I need to have complete control over. Husband and family? Definitely not! Book reviews? Absolutely not! But the Ziploc drawer? Heck yes!!!

I enjoy having certain pockets of my world in strict order: the table next to my writing chair has two (yes, I needed two!) desk organizers on it. The closet with my writing books and promotional items is orderly and labeled within an inch of its life. But then I look at the pileup of cowgirl boots, running shoes, and flip-flops at the bottom of my clothes closet, and just grin.

Why do certain things in our lives have to be neat and tidy, and others can be a certifiable disaster – and we just don’t care? What are the things in your world that you leave messy, and what are the areas that you absolutely must have in order?

Have a ‘neat’ day!
Randi
“Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied”
RandiAlexander.com
-Cowboy Jackpot: St. Patrick’s Day is available in digital format at Smashwords, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble and in paperback at Createspace, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble.
-Cowboy Jackpot: Valentine’s Day is available in digital format at Smashwords, Amazon and Barnes & Noble and in paperback at Createspace, Amazon and Barnes & Noble.
-Cowboy Jackpot: Christmas is available in digital format at Smashwords, Amazon and Barnes & Noble and in paperback at Createspace, Amazon and Barnes & Noble.
-Turn Up the Heat, Chase and Seduction, and Her Cowboy Stud are available at The Wild Rose Press, Amazon and Barnes & Noble
-Cowboy Bad Boys is available in digital format at Smashwords, Amazon and Barnes & Noble in paperback from Createspace and Amazon
-Cowboy Lust is available in paperback and digital format at Amazon and Barnes & Noble

About Randi Alexander

Writer of Erotic Romances - "Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Am I Wonderfully Organized, Or Am I Getting Kinda Fruity?

  1. Mary Preston says:

    I need the inside of my cupboards all neat & tidy. A place for everything etc. However, it would seem looking around the house that every surface has something on it. A pile of books here, my knitting over there …… Organised chaos!!

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Yes, organized chaos is the perfect term for it! The place may look messy, but just ask me for a mellon baller or a length of packing tape, and I know EXACTLY where it is! Thanks, Mary, I’m glad I’m not the only one!

  2. Kiru Taye says:

    I’ve got to have bookshelves tidy and drawers too. But the shoe closet? 🙂

    • Randi Alexander says:

      That’s right, Kiru! I love a messy shoe closet, too. Don’t you like the surprise when you dig to the bottom and say, “Oh yeah, I forgot I had these!” Like a free bonus shoe buy every time. LOL

  3. Clare O'Beara says:

    When the house is reasonably organised it make life smoother – you know where to put your hand on something you need, and you know when you’ve run out. Not wanting to get obsessive-compulsive about housework though! Life is too short.
    Paperwork has to be kept all together when you run a business, and it helps if you staple receipts to the relevant credit card statements.

    • Randi Alexander says:

      That’s how I feel too, Clare. The business stuff – perfectly kept. The other life stuff – not important. Except, doesn’t it frustrate you when someone takes something from it’s special spot, then puts it back somewhere else? Hahaha – oh, those little things in life…

  4. Teresa Hughes says:

    I’m not big on organizing much of anything. So I guess besides things dealing with work the only other thing I really organize is books. I have a separate stack of books that are waiting to be read based on the author. Then I have a stack for new authors that I want to try out. Then beside those stacks I have two bags. One bag is for my mom. One is for my friend’s used book store.

    After seeing your pic maybe I need to start focusing on organizing a little more…ummmm, probably not going to happen!

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Teresa, I love how you take your reading very seriously. I’m envious of you! I have a box of paperbacks that I reserve for when we’re at the beach or at a pool, where I don’t want to bring my e-reader. But my e-books to-be-read are a real mess. I should come up with a system of organizing them. Thanks for the tip!

  5. Eileen says:

    I have a drawer that looks EXACTLY the same way! I have to have my space organized. The older I get the more anal I get and I’m less tolerant of clutter. LOL

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Yay! I’d love to compare drawers sometime! LOL We do that de-cluttering thing where we try to remove one thing from the house every time we bring in something new. The donation drop-off people at our local charity store know us by name!

  6. Michelle V says:

    I envy you! I have a drawer that looks similar, but not nearly as neat. I’m a total mess of contradictions. I’m very left-brain and I love it when things are organized, but I’m so incredibly lazy that I never get around to organizing things. So I always feel in a state of disarray. I’m just a mess. LOL. I wish the cleaning fairy would show up and fix all of my clutter and then I would be much happier. lol

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Ah, Michelle, I’ve been waiting for that cleaning fairy, too! One thing I love to do when the Twerplettes have a day off school is to find organizing projects to keep them busy. MissFussy loves to clean the refrigerator (bless her heart, she didn’t get that particular obsession from me!) And LittleMan and Pink enjoy working together on a project like the pantry or the linen closet. Hmmm…maybe I could take the team on the road! The Alexander Family Traveling Organizing Fairies!

  7. Tiss says:

    Not much in my house is organized. Someday………

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Tiss, with your busy life, I don’t blame you. I don’t know how you do it all, but it sure keeps you young! I’m jealous of how energetic you are.

  8. Laurel S says:

    My husband organizes, then I try to keep it that way….for a while. Then he has to go back and do it again.

  9. ELF says:

    Even funnier, I have a drawer at the MIL’s house that looks just like this! My own kitchen doesn’t have deep enough drawers so I have a couple of under the shelf baskets that have all of my different sized bags organized. I can tell at a glance when the hubby has finished a box (and neglected to put the replacement in)!

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Ah, your MIL has good taste if her bag drawer looks just like mine! Hahaha. I know what you mean about the replacements, too. If a box starts getting low, I write it on the shopping list so a full box is close at hand! Things like this just make life easier, ELF.

  10. I have a thing for the linen closet! My towels all have to be folded exactly the same and all of the stacks have to be going in the same direction. Everywhere else may look like a tornado came through (ok 4 tornadoes ages 8-15) but that closet has to be just right!

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Wow, four tornadoes! That’s wonderful. I bet they know better than to do damage in your linen closet, right? LOL

  11. kitten18blog says:

    It drives me nuts when my boys try to put shirts in a drawer, when they are supposed to be hung up. I also like for my bath towels, hand towels, and wash clothes to be placed on the shelf a certain way. Everything else is pretty much chaos.

Leave a Reply

