What’s Food Got To Do With It?

LissaLogoYellow_reasonably_smallIn my life, food has everything to do with it. As a Southern girl, food is at the center of everything. As a fairly good sized Southern girl, good food is paramount.

A little more than a year ago, I made the switch to organic dairy for my family. I also made the switch to making more homemade food items and chucking the majority of boxed or canned foods. Whole, real foods came into play as did a lot more locally grown foods.

Are you wondering what any of this has to do with cowboys? Well, honestly, a lot.

I watch a lot of cooking shows, The Pioneer Woman being one of them. In the intro to the show, she talks about her food needing to pass the taste test of cowboys… After all her husband is one.

Cowboys need hearty, good food. They need rib-sticking food, something that will keep them full and keeps them going from pre-dawn until dusk. It’s a physical job. And the best food for this is homemade, mostly from scratch, very little processed ingredients…

But this affects me in that I have started buying local beef from local ranches. I buy local dairy now from some of those same local ranches or from other dairy farms. I am supporting them and their way of life, keeping them going, keeping them in what for most of them are family businesses. Yes, the beef is more expensive. Yes, the dairy is more expensive. But the quality, the taste, the fact that I am supporting my local community is worth it. I buy local vegetables, local fruit, local honey and jams and molasses. These farmers, cottage industry farms, family run and own ranches… I love them. They help my family eat better, eat a larger variety of foods, eat closer to home.

I am currently writing a book titled The Frosted Cowboy in which the hero uses local dairy products in his cupcakes. It’s important to him. The taste, the small batch, hand crafted products.

It’s important to me, too.

~lissa

 

About Lissa Matthews

author of contemporary erotic romance
This entry was posted in my life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What’s Food Got To Do With It?

  1. Eileen says:

    good for you for using local products. I love our local farmer’s market that comes to town every Sunday down the street. or the vendor that sits out in front of the library during the summer with its local vegetables. Love the local corn!

  2. Clare O'Beara says:

    I read in the paper some years ago that a western housewife had come up with an omelette that was an aphrodisiac. She made it with eggs and cinnamon and her husband said it certainly met with his approval!

  3. Lissa, you lucky woman! I so wish I was in a position to purchase all those good wholesome foods. But I’m limited in how far I can travel, and the folks in my area aren’t up to speed on that way of living. I eat as much organic as I can get hold of, and buy from smaller companies, etc., but oh for a regular supply of fresh dairy products!!! Of all that good food!

  4. Mary Preston says:

    I cook from scratch. It’s the way my Mother always cooks. I buy local produce too. It all tastes so much better. Healthier too & it helps out the people who actually produce it.

Leave a Reply

