Horses, horses and more horses!

Hi all,

Today I wanted to post about, you guessed it, horses!

I have two and they are big babies. Oh, my! They definitely know when it’s treat time or time to eat because they charge the fence at full speed, but they are my babies.

The aren’t any particular breed. Mutts as I call them even though they do have a little Tennessee Walker in them somewhere. I can tell by the way they stand. You know what I’m talking about if you’ve seen pictures of a Tennessee Walker. They have a very distinctive way of standing.

For the cowboy, the horse is vital. It’s a requirement for their everyday life even though a lot of the things cowboys used to do on horseback has been replaced with an ATV. I’ve even seen some of the westerns I’ve read. They’ll talk about the horses, but they’ll also throw in there that they did some of their work on the 4 wheeled kind of vehicle. To me though, the epitome of cowboy is on horseback. There is just something about they way they sit, take care of their buddy and how they realize the importance of a good mount to the work they do.

I got to go to the rodeo again a couple of weeks ago. That is the best time. I love watching not only the bull riding but the calf-roping, steer wrestling, barrel racing and breakaway cowgirl events. Cowboys on horseback does something for me and I bet it does for many of you as well.

IMG_1462Photo Taken by Sandy Sullivan

IMG_1568Photo Taken by Sandy Sullivan

Horses are beautiful animals and man are they smart! They love treats too. Mine went nuts over watermelon this year. We grew some in our garden and when hubby picked them before they were ripe, we fed them to the horses. And pears? They love those too.

As you can tell mine are very spoiled. They are like my kids. My mares is a lover. She wants me to pet her and kiss on her all the time. My gelding is a typical male. All about what’s in it for me. I’m hoping to adopt two Thoroughbreds in the coming weeks from someone who can’t keep them anymore since she doesn’t have anywhere to stable them. We’ll see in a few days. I think it will be great having more although I’m not sure hubby thinks so. I would have a whole herd if I could.

Thanks it for me this time. I hope you enjoyed the pictures and remember, baby your animals like they were your kids! Mine are.

~ Sandy

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Horses, horses and more horses!

  1. Carin says:

    My daughter has always wanted a horse, I love them they are beautiful but somehow we could just never convince her that they wont let her have one in the suburbs LOL

  2. Great post! I love horses 🙂

  3. jwl321 says:

    My friend’s horse would grab your can or bottle of soda, tip it up, and drink it down. Lol.

  4. Tiss says:

    We have 10 head right now, but 4 will be going to a sale soon. and the bigger team will get sold this fall.
    I work for relatives and help to feed 65 (race horses in training ) every night. Yeah, I kind of like horses too. LOL.

  5. Mary Preston says:

    I went to a rodeo once when I was a child. It was very exciting. I can ride if the horse just walks along. I know, it’s basically just sitting.

  6. Clare O'Beara says:

    Photos look like magic! I am a horsey person but have never been to a rodeo, though I have seen a display of Western Reining at the Dublin horse show.

Leave a Reply

