I Write In a Bar

Not many writers can say they’ve written all their books in a bar! I found a website where authors share pictures of their writing “caves” and thought I’d like to share with you the cozy little corner of our house where I write. It’s the perfect area for me. It has a little powder room, a quiet, outdoor patio, and most importantly, a lock on the door!

The view from my chair

You can see my sunny little patio where I sneak out to for some fresh air and ‘communing with nature’ action. To the right is where my drums are usually set up. This is where I go when I’m super-frustrated with my writing and need to pound out some Metallica riffs. Or if I’m feeling mellow and want to get back into my rhythm and play along with a little tropical rock.

The Bar

As promised, here’s the bar. We found this mammoth piece of oak at a garage sale and had to have four friends help us get it home. Hubby said it needed a TV above it, and a mini-fridge behind it, so we’re all set up for entertaining. I’ll admit, being that close to a well-stocked bar is sometimes tempting. But I’ve tried writing after drinking, and it doesn’t work very well for me. Lots of editing the next day!

The toys that distract me and the chair where the magic happens.

Of course, every bar needs a dartboard, a karaoke machine, and a record player for playing those real vinyl oldies we’ve collected over the years. Distracting? Sometimes. Especially when I’m having a difficult time finding my way through a manuscript. Singing a few of the Top Dance Hits of the ’80s will sharpen my verbal edge.

And there’s the LazyGirl chair, over in the corner, just waiting for me to get cracking on the next scene in my manuscript. She’s getting old. Over 10 years, now. One day last year, she gave out, her wooden undercarriage cracked and she started listing to the left. I panicked, but my dear sweet hubby came to the rescue with glue and clamps and screws. My hero!

So, there it is. The little spot where I dream up all my sexy cowboys and cowgirls, where rodeos and stampedes thunder around in my head, and where hot, naughty love scenes steam up the windows. And where I am truly the happiest I’ve ever been in a job.

Thanks for coming along on the tour. I’d love to know where you do your best work? Do you have a hideaway? Or can you work anywhere, through any kind of noise or distraction?

Randi
RandiAlexander.com
Chase and Seduction is available at The Wild Rose Press

About Randi Alexander

Writer of Erotic Romances - "Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to I Write In a Bar

  1. Sapphyria says:

    Absolutely wonderful room!!! I’m not sure I would get anything done with a dartboard on the wall. 🙂

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Yes, the dartboard is amazing. It talks and has all kinds of interesting games. I allow myself one game per day. My ‘exercise’ *grins* Thanks for stopping by!

  2. workout2day4evr says:

    we all have our haven for writing…yours is shaping up nicely LOL! 🙂

  3. Randi Alexander says:

    Thanks! I know I’ll need a new chair soon, something that fits better with the bar ambiance. But the old princess has been lucky for me!

  4. Heather says:

    Wow, what a beautiful room. I know I wouldn’t have a problem working in a room that looks that calming (even with a dartboard, lol)!

  5. Randi Alexander says:

    You’re right, Heather. It is calming. Quiet and easy to concentrate. I have friends who write in coffee shops, but I’m so interested in listening to everyone’s conversation, I could never write anything.

  6. I don’t write but I do have a bat cave, my bedroom. I live with my daughter and her family but have my own room with tiny bath. In this room besides my bed is a desk and chair, tv, microwave, mini fridge, piles and piles of books and a recliner(lists to the left). My daughter got me one of those rolling adjustable tables that I keep my laptop on and it fits over my chair. My 9year old grandson like to watch tv with me and play games on my computer so I’m not a complete hermit.

    • Randi Alexander says:

      How nice! I’d love to live with my whole family. Sounds like you’ve got it all – family close by but your own place to escape when necessary.

  7. Eileen says:

    love your lazygirl chair! I have one too and it is so comfortable. When I moved I lost MY space. Here in the new place I’ve sort of taken over our bedroom if I want space of my own and be alone. Once that door is closed its a sign that I want to be alone so I can read or watch my TV programs.

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Oh, Eileen, I can sit in that chair for hours and nothing falls asleep! I used to be able to close the door to my writing room, but recently, if I don’t lock the door, hubby decides he can just come in and use the shredder. Imagine being in the middle of writing a love scene and having the shredder start grinding away. You can bet I gave him the stink-eye.

  8. Randi, what a beautiful view. That’s the only downside to my office room. I have gorgeous views in every direction. However, the one window in here isn’t placed well for how I have everything setup.

    Yeah, once, I sipped some wine and tried to write. Not good results!

  9. Sky Robinson says:

    It seems perfect that you write in a bar. I think I might get distracted and not get much writing done…

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Hey, I wasn’t the one that got wild and rowdy on Pensacola Beach last March – oh, wait – that was me, wasn’t it. But you were being just as bad, Sky! Hope we can do it again in 2012!

  10. Larissa Lyons says:

    Randi – What great ambience! I love your room. (Mr. Lyons and I have been shopping for barstools so I enjoyed checking out your variety on that front too. :))

    Here’s what I want to know — where in the world is your paperwork? Your files? Your research material? Works in progress? Am I the only one drowning in paper??? (Does my hint of neat-author envy show through?)

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Larissa! So nice to hear from you, friend!!! We found these barstools at a clearance center for a very expensive furniture store. Because there was only one of each of them, we got them for about $25 each, and the original price marked was over $1,000 each! I seriously LOVE finding a mega-bargain like that!

      The closet doors next to the LazyGirl have a few books and magazines, but I keep all my research online. I copy and paste or scan everything into my computer. I’m sure you’re not the only author drowning in paper, Larissa. I’m just not a paper person.

      • Larissa Lyons says:

        Awesome deal on the barstools! I already thought they looked neat, but your story made them grow on me more. 🙂

        And yeah, it’s pretty bad when you promise the cat you’ll clean off your desk because he keeps falling when he tries to walk across it…(sliding off the papers piled several inches high). Klingon’s been posing for pictures atop my messy desk because all the other kitties have been featured on the blog but him…

  11. Randi, that’s a good idea.

Leave a Reply

