Oh My. Oh Moo!

(right to use photo purchased by Larissa from Bigstockphoto.com)

So I’m reading a book recently. It’s in print. I’m holding it in my hands. While there’s nothing wrong with the writing, neither does it shine; it’s just…flat. The story seems kind of predictable too. I’m considering, for the second time, putting it down and moving on to another book. But thank goodness I didn’t. Because then I would have missed this gem:

She felt wanton and mischievous and hornier than a Texas steer.

Holy cow! Is that funny or what? This is a New York published title! And some people say that editing is on the decline. Where, oh where, would they get that impression?

🙂 Larissa

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When she’s not looking for lines to snark on, Larissa’s writing. Her newest release is the award-winning short story, Innocent Corruption. More info on her latest projects can be found at LarissaLyons.com.

*MAD*WARNING* If you like your encounters hot an’ against the wall and without unnecessary foreplay (Names? Who needs ’em?) this story’s for you. Mature audiences only!

He lurks in the shadows, waiting, watching. Keeping himself apart. Not intentionally of course, it’s just who he is, what life has made him—gritty, suspicious and hard. Definitely hard for the root beer-and-rum swigging, sinfully dressed sweetheart who’s just edged up to the bar. He wants her and he’s a man used to taking anything he desires.

*MAD*FACTS* 3000 words • Contemporary Erotica • Sex with Strangers. AWARDED ~ Hot New Erotic Voice, 2008 BetterSex.com Erotic Fiction Contest.

Read an excerpt here.

$.99 eBook: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Kindle UK | Nook – Barnes & Noble | Smashwords

About Larissa Lyons

A lover of all things historical and feline, author Larissa Lyons also has a soft spot for hard cowboys. Visit LarissaLyons.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in bulls and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Oh My. Oh Moo!

  1. Okay, I’m using a variation on that line, a tongue-in-cheek variation. LOL!!!

    Yeah, NY pubbing, for the most part, has lost it in my book. I’m constantly surprised, and not pleasantly amazed. Apologies to all the wonderful NY authors.

    • Larissa Lyons says:

      I think publishing quality varies across the board. I’ve seen phenomenal books and ones that really stretch plausibility in the “they published this?” realm from the same house. That’s why I think it’s so incumbent upon each author to write their best, always, and not “expect” an editor to fix things.

      And, yes please — use that line in all its goofy glory! moooooooooooooooo!!

  2. City slickers on both coasts seem not to have there heads screwed on correctly. My grandson watches a cartoon called Back in the Barnyard where a male bovine character has an udder. What were they thinking?

  3. Larissa Lyons says:

    Hi Nancy – that’s a hoot! I was in FFA and grew up around animals, but by choice. Even 2 1/2 decades ago when I was in school, the vast majority of kids didn’t have a clue about where the meat on their plates came from. Now? I shudder to think… (or maybe I should say “udder” ;-))

  4. Randi Alexander says:

    LOL, Larissa. That’s a fun line. Hubby and I enjoy finding odd phrases in books and sharing them with each other. And often, they’re in books from big-name authors!

Leave a Reply

