Weekend in Denver

I spent last weekend in the beautiful city of Denver attending RomCon 2011. It was a blast with much of the celebration surrounding the joys of cowboys. Everyone who knows me knows I love Colorado and I love meeting readers. It was a win win for me! From the Wild West Dinner where Shayla Black and I had a picture taken of ourselves in old fashioned western wear (I was the floozy, she was the outlaw, the picture has been burned) to the Supernatural Supper, I think everyone had a blast.

I got to finally meet one of my favorite writers. I’ve talked to Melissa Schroeder over the phone many times. She gives the best advice, but meeting her in person was a thrill. I got to sit on a panel of erotic authors with Melissa, Shayla, and Beth Williamson. And yes, I almost immediately mentioned anal sex.

Beth hosted a wonderful Western Dinner where authors and fans got to try their hands at bull riding and roping. Shayla and I tried to rope a cowboy. Alas. We’re not very good at it.

A great time was had by all. I hope everyone I met loved their books, and I hope that I get to meet you all again someday. I’m giving away my bag from RomCon – complete with a whole bunch of signed books just for one lucky commenter! Books include signed copies of Sylvia Day’s Pride and Pleasure, Erin Kellison’s Shadow Bound, Amanda McCabe’s The Shy Duchess, and Haunting Desire by Erin Quinn. Oh, and a book called Three to Ride by me! I’ve included everything I got at RomCon – many more books, swag and all sorts of fun stuff. If you didn’t get to go, this is your chance to pretend you did.
And I have a book coming out today – Lost in Bliss! And a redesign of my website – www.sophieoak.com
Leave a comment and I’ll enter you in the drawing. I’ll announce the winner on the 26th, when I blog again right here on Wild and Wicked Cowboys. (Comment as many times as you like – I’ll only count your name once. Sorry.)

Sophie Oak writes erotic romance for Siren Publishing.

Her latest book, Lost in Bliss (Nights in Bliss, CO 4) will be released on August 12th.

This entry was posted in A Writer's Life, eBooks, New Release and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

71 Responses to Weekend in Denver

  1. Eileen says:

    YAY!! another Bliss book! Now I am torn. Buy the copy now and take on vacation or wait and see if I am a winner! That is a tough choice! I could play dumb and tell my mind it doesn’t come out until the 26th. Yeah, that will work! congrats on the release! Love the pictures.

    • Sophie Oak says:

      Buy a copy now, Eileen! Yeah, seriously, Lost in Bliss isn’t in this bag. Three to Ride – the first in the series is in there in print form, but no Lost in Bliss. Lots of other goodies, though. There are some Harlequins and Silhouettes and lots of paranormal romance. This is an awesome bag!

  2. Randi Alexander says:

    Sophie, what fun to meet your fans. And hang out with that cute cowboy! Congrats on the release!

    • Sophie Oak says:

      Thanks, Randi. There were some seriously lovely men there. Mel Schroeder hosted a luau with some of the hottest guys I’ve ever seen in a sarong. I think she’s doing it again for RT!

  3. Heather says:

    Sounds like you had a great time, whish I could have been there :( Congrats on the new release, I’m soooo excited and I can’t wait to read some more Bliss! This giveaway is very generous, thanks for the chance to win it!

    • Sophie Oak says:

      I like to give away the bags I get at conferences. I know a lot of readers never get to go and this is a fun way to bring them in. I’m excited about Lost in Bliss. I hope everyone likes it. (biting nails)

  4. emher says:

    Glad you had a great time in Denver! Can’t wait to enjoy the newest Bliss book!

  5. Michelle Hendrickson says:

    I read the first chapter last night of Lost in Bliss… can’t wait to read the rest today!! I have to do this thing called work first though!! :-) It is already downloaded to my Kindle and ready to go!! Happy Release Day!!!

  6. Brandy W says:

    It was good to meet you at RomCon Sophie. Please don’t enter me since as you well know, I have a bag or two already. lol You know those shirtless cowboys were roaming the Chocolate Mangasm event too.

    • Sophie Oak says:

      You, too, Brandy. I had such a great time. I can’t wait to do it again at RT in Chicago. The Mangasm was awesome. I was the first one out in the pass the dildo version of musical chairs, though.

  7. from all the pics i have seen seems like everyone had a great time in Colorado…i soooo wanted to be there…

    Dowloaded my Lost in Bliss Ready for an evening of reading….so can not wait!! waiting to become a fan of Laura’s…but i am patiently waiting for Alexei Caleb & Holly

    so when are you gals from Texas going to make a trip to Oklahoma? no not a stalker…until you see me show up on Magarita lunch…do not be concerned..

    • Sophie Oak says:

      Chele – if you’re in DFW you better show up for margarita lunch! We’ve hosted several readers and always have a blast! And I think Alexei fans might like the way Lost in Bliss ends…

  8. Amanda says:

    It was so great to meet you. We had a blast in Denver. :)

    • Sophie Oak says:

      You, too, Amanda. It was my first reader’s conference. I’ve been to Nationals for RWA a couple of times but there’s not a lot of fun interaction there. This was one big party. And we women know how to party!

  9. Aisyah Helga says:

    Another giveaway! I just love your giveaways, Sophie! Congrats on ‘Lost In Bliss’ come out. Who’s story will be next??

    • Sophie Oak says:

      You know I love to give stuff away, Aisyah! (I might still have some stuff left over from Nationals that I’ll give away at a chat next Wednesday night on Righteous Perverts. com – just between you and me – it’s some amazing stuff.)
      As for Bliss – I think if I don’t write Alexei, Holly and Caleb next there might be some unhappy people. I don’t want that – so Found in Bliss is their tale – hopefully it’s coming out around Christmas.

  10. Sue Sattler says:

    I love your books, as soon as they become available for my NOOK I buy them. I have to thank the great Shayla Black for introducing me to your wonderful writing. Now if I could find a real town like Bliss I would be a very happy woman!!

    • Sophie Oak says:

      I love Shayla! She’s been such a huge supporter of mine. You couldn’t find a better writer or friend than Shayla Black.

  11. Denise McClain says:

    Sophie, Denver sounded like so much fun. There are so many authors I’ve chatted with over the years that I’ve wanted to meet (You and Mel to name a couple!) and it’s been ages since I’ve seen Shayla. I have had several of your books in my TBR since I read Small Town Siren. I love the way you write. (~sigh~ I love finding authors who really get into their characters!) I have plans to devour books in between school semesters. (Yes, I’m going back to school after being out of school for well over a decade!) The opportunity to win a bunch of swag is very generous of you. And by the way, your website is beautiful!

    • Sophie Oak says:

      It was a blast, Denise. There’s nothing like being among a whole group of wild women to make for an entertaining weekend! Thanks for the kind words. And good luck with school! My hubby went back after 15yrs and it changed his life for the better.

  12. Carla Prado says:

    Love,your books.

  13. Gloria says:

    Hi Sophie! Congrats on your new release! I have recently learned I have an addiction. A book addiction. Facebook has kept me up to date on so many (new to me) authors and some that I have been following for years and it seems to be the year of releases. I keep seeing new books that interest me and before I know it, I have 20 new books sitting at home that I’m dying to read! (Your series is next especially after that sneak peak first chapter) My friend told me that my addiction is ok because when I’m done reading, I pass the books along to her. :) can’t wait to read this series!

    • Sophie Oak says:

      That’s an addiction you shouldn’t even try to break, Gloria! I don’t care what anyone says – Happy Endings are good for you!

  14. DiDi says:

    I am going to have to start the Bliss series NOW!! This weekend!! I loved Away From Me and can’t wait to read the rest of your books

  15. Marie Tuhart says:

    Hi Sophie, Congrats on the new release. It looks like you had a lot of fun at RomCon and love the picture with the cowboy talk about “hand-on” research :)

  16. Off to buy Lost In Bliss… you are one of my favorite authors. Cant wait to dive into that book. BTW that is one hot cowoby in that pic!!!!

  17. It looks like you had such a fun time. Perhaps in the future after I get moved back down south from Alaska I can attend one of these delightful events. such a fine group of wonderful authors, and the pictures looks like you had a blast. That’s so awesome.
    Thank you for sharing all of it with those of us who so enjoy your books…..*S*

    Darcy

    pommawolf @hotmail.com

    • Sophie Oak says:

      You know how I feel about sharing, Darcy! It’s a pleasure to be able to share the experience. I had such a good time. I even got stuck in Denver when AA canceled my flight home, Some wonderful readers took care of me. I’m just paying it forward.

  18. Rosemary says:

    Looks like you had a great time! :) Can’t wait to read your new book. I’ll be buying it as soon as I get paid next week.

  19. Susan C says:

    Just checked on Amazon and it’s not available there yet. Guess I’ll have to get it elsewhere. I go to my second job this weekend, which is out of town, so I will need several books to get me thru, and yours will be one of them! Just promise to keep on writing!

    • Sophie Oak says:

      Hi, Susan. It’s only available on the Siren site right now. They can e-mail the book directly to your Kindle or Nook. If you want to wait for Amazon, it should be out there around mid-September.

  20. wyndwhisper says:

    i am glad you had so much fun. i won tickets to go but was unable to at the last minute. i was so disappointed that i couldn’t come and meet all of my favorite authors. it looks like it was alot of fun. i just read your book Bound and i loved it. are you going to be writing another to follow it?
    it left me with a few questions and i would love to have them all get their kindgdom back and everything.

    anyway, i am glad you had a lot of fun and i look forward to reading more of your wonderful books.
    what Tuesday spit into Diesel’s hand
    trvlagnt1t@yahoo.com

    • Sophie Oak says:

      Wyndwhisper – funny you should ask about Bound…The sequel is a book called Beast: A Faery Story. It’s Dante’s book and it moves the story along. There is going to be a third book in the series called Beauty: A Faery Story. That third book is going to be about the final war between Beck and Cian and their uncle though it will feature a romance with new characters. What’s a faery tale without a happy ending?

  21. I, also, was in Colorado last week but my time there was not totally blissful. My car took a total crap on I25 between Denver and Colorado Springs. Unfixable, at least on my budget. My grandsons and I got to our hotel in the Springs and waited for my son-in-law to drive from OK to get us. Our trip was a lot of fun up until crapola happened. So you can see I could really use some swag, especially if it includes some wheels.

  22. Oooh! Pick me! Haha. RomCon was so much fun…I want to go back.

  23. Tammy says:

    I just finished Lost in Bliss. It is great. I seriously love Mel and meeting Wolf was great. Thanks for a great friday.

  24. Tracy says:

    Congrats on the new release! I love all your books!

  25. Wanda Miller says:

    I love all your books.Can’t wait to read Lost in Bliss.

  26. Nikki says:

    Ive never heard of Ron Conn before this year but after seeing all of the pictures I seriously need to check it out. I saw some hot guys in kilts and I’m dying to know if it was a REAL kilt wearer :) I’m glad you had a great time! Congrads on the new book! Hope to hear more about your adventures:) The pictures are quite lovely.

    • Sophie Oak says:

      There were several hot guys in kilts, Nikki. Alas I did not find out what was under those kilts. Maybe at RT….

  27. SheriV says:

    I’m happy you had so much fun at Rom Con. Lost in Bliss is amazing so far. I would love to meet Melissa Schroeder and Shayla and several other authors. And of course you, silly! I probably would have had fun just following you around.

  28. Diane Sallans says:

    Loved that header on your website! Signed up for the newsletter and will be looking forward to keeping up. I’d love to get to RomCom someday (I’m a reader not a writer) it always looks like so much fun. It’s on my bucket list to see some of my favorite authors & hear them talk about their books.

    • Sophie Oak says:

      I love the reader conferences. The writer conferences tend to be a whole lot of business talk and craft work shops. The reader cons are a bunch of parties and mixers. Definitely more fun, Diane. I hope to see you at one someday.

  29. I would love to be able to go to one of these conventions, but alas, not until I get rich, so……I’ll just live through all you authors. Sounds like a good time was had by all.
    Maybe someday, one will be closer to me. But Denver isn’t that far away actually, but my hubby would never let me go alone and it’s haying season, so that’s out. LOL.
    Thanks for offering us a chance to win some great stuff and CONGRATS on the new book out today.

    Tiss

    • Sophie Oak says:

      Thanks, Tiss. Hopefully someday you can go. It’s a lot of fun. In the meantime, good luck on winning. This bag is full of fun stuff.

  30. Jackie says:

    Yay! Can’t wait to buy Lost In Bliss later today. I love the Bliss series :)

  31. Sophie, thanks for sharing! I’m not in a position to attend Romance Conferences, so I live vicariously.

    • Sophie Oak says:

      You’re welcome, Savanna. If you ever get to one and I’m there, drop me a line because I would love to meet you. I got to meet Marla Monroe at this one. I love to talk to my fellow Siren authors.

  32. Cathy M says:

    Happy release day, Sophie. And thanks for sharing your fabulous swag with us.

    caity_mack at yahoo dot com

  33. Karen Hawk says:

    Sounds like a really awesome conference. Glad you had such a good time! Can’t wait to read the new book.

  34. Jodi says:

    Sounds like you had a lot of giggles and grins and laughs at your conference. Happy you were able to get away.

    Love Lost in Bliss and already panting for the next one!

    Hope I win the bag of goodiees…………………….

  35. Kimmy says:

    I’m devastated that you were in Denver and I didn’t know about it! I would have made the trip over to go :’( (I’m only 4 hrs away) I guess I’ll pay more attention next time huh! grr… oh well the upside is there is another Bliss book out. I have read 3 and I’m hoping this one is about who I think it is! I’m going to go look for it ASAP! Looks like you had a blast in Denver and met a very fine looking cowboy ;)
    Thanks for offering to share all the goodies with us.
    Kimmy
    bearcrazy68@aol.com

Leave a Reply

