It’s FINALLY August…

…and you know what that means, right?

Y’all are thinking kids go back to school, huh? I know plenty of people who celebrate that very thing, but no, that’s not what I mean. I home school, so…

No, August, for me and for a few others I know, means football. NFL preseason and more importantly, college football starts at the end of the month. In the Fall, I live for Get Up! It’s GameDay! Saturdays. Only 4 more to go until kick-off. However, for true college football fans, it starts on a Thursday night… I’ll be parked on the couch with a beverage, a thing of boiled peanuts, plenty of napkins because those things are messy, and the remote. I’ll hollar and yell at the television. I’ll curse and get mad. I’ll get all riled up and love the hell out of the fact that it’s my time of year again.

August also means Authors After Dark…

AAD _Square

I know several of us here on the blog will be attending authors and I hope some of the readers of the blog will be attending or at least be coming to the signing on Saturday, August 9th.

The conference is being held in Charlotte, North Carolina this year. It’s where I live and I’m looking forward to seeing everyone, to talking to readers I know and meeting new ones, seeing old friends and hopefully making new ones. There’s a lot of fun to be had, several parties, costumed balls, several fun and reader-centric panels, field trips, a ton of giveaways, and there’s so much to do around the hotel and in Uptown Charlotte.

If you’re coming, please hunt me down and say Hi! If you’re not, I hope one day you’ll give Authors After Dark a try… Next year, I believe it’s in Atlanta!

Have a great month of August, y’all…

~lissa

 

About Lissa Matthews

author of contemporary erotic romance
This entry was posted in Happenings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s FINALLY August…

  1. A woman after my own heart! Tonight I will be in front of the TV for THE FIRST GAME OF THE SEASON! Yay! But really waiting for the first college game. And OMG! Another Gameday Addict. We have to connect at AAD.

  2. Clare O'Beara says:

    Not interested in football of any variety! But that means more reading time!

  3. Shirley Long says:

    Hey Lissa ~~ you know me I LOVE ALL FOOTBALL. But especially college. Hopefully my Longhorns will have a better season this year. I loved Mack Brown, but I’m also anxious to see the new coach in action. Doesn’t matter who is playing, my TV in the kitchen/dining room is on college football if there’s a game being broadcast.
    Wish I was gonna be at AAD. Ya’ll have fun and post lots of pictures.

Leave a Reply

