Larissa Live ~ Fort Lancaster, Texas

Trying something totally new this month. Mr. Lyons and I recently visited an old Texas fort. Check out the video below (pardon all the wind!) for a quick tour navigated by yours truly. :-) Larissa

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When she’s not searching out cool spots in Texas to visit, Larissa FINALLY FINISHED her sexy Regency romance, Mistress by Morning, a full-length novel that will be released later this year.

It topped out a little over 108,000 words, and it’s now in the trusted hands of her editor.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Larissa Lyons loves all things historical and feline. She also has a soft spot for hard cowboys. Learn more by visiting LarissaLyons.com.

About Larissa Lyons

A lover of all things historical and feline, author Larissa Lyons also has a soft spot for hard cowboys. Visit LarissaLyons.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Historical Western Stuff, Western History and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Larissa Live ~ Fort Lancaster, Texas

  1. Eileen says:

    Thanks for sharing the video of your visit to Fort Lancaster. Reminds me of a day trip I tookwith the husband to Antietam battlefield over the summer.Hadn’t been there in ages since I was a kid. It was enjoyable to see it as an adult and understand it more.
    YAY! The book is done. Looking forward to it.

    • Larissa Lyons says:

      Antietam…I confess, I had not heard of this one so I looked it up. Now I know it’s in Maryland and is often called the Battle of Sharpsburg in the South. (I’ve learned so much more history from writing romance than I ever learned in school).

      I love visiting places like this — especially when they are day trips. It’s so much easier not to have to pack. :-)

  2. Clare O'Beara says:

    Great tour thank you so much!
    The countryside is so open, isn’t it. No wonder you had all that wind. Why are there no trees… not enough water? The fort also seemed more like an open depot and not fortified in any way. No protective structures unless they had been made of wood and did not survive, and it was very opened out, not clustered together for easy defence of everyone. I am sure the laundry was very hard on the hands, given the soap of the time and hot water, plus the weather on the girls’ skin.

    • Larissa Lyons says:

      Howdy Clare – No trees…good question. Texas is so vast and diverse. There are a lot of areas that are more scrubby than anything. Good at Rattlesnake country. (Ack!)

      I could be wrong, but I’m thinking the soldiers used the fort as a base and probably did quite a bit of scouting of nearby areas. The goal was to keep the Indians intimidated and away from the stagecoach. We did learn that they had to travel over six miles away to get enough wood to complete the structures! Plus, they’d made an on-site kiln that was pretty cool (and was used for the bricks you saw). Unfortunately, the only picture we got of the kiln included Mr. Lyons and I think he wants to remain a bit incognito. :-)

      I didn’t even think of those poor girls’ hands. I can’t even wash a single dish without my gloves…

  3. Larissa, it was so much fun to see you and get a taste of your wonderful state of Texas! What a treat for an armchair traveler such as myself! So glad to hear the book is done. So what will you be writing next? Looking forward to next month’s post already!

    • Larissa Lyons says:

      Hi Chris! I really pushed myself to get the story to my editor on the date I’d given her. I’m supposed to be resting this week, instead I’m battling a cold…that will teach me to wear myself out in the name of romance. ;-)

      As far as my next project, the plan is to get Mistress completely edited, polished and released, then I’ll turn my attention to two *short* Regency novellas (one is practically finished; the other partially). Once those are done, it’s back to COWBOYS and finishing up with Isaiah’s story.

  4. Carin W says:

    Larissa, that was really cool! I love to see bits of history. My favorite were the plexiglass farts though, What can I say I raise boys LOL! Carin

    • Larissa Lyons says:

      Hahahahah. That might have been my favorite too. :-) Between that and the howling wind, we learned a lot during this little endeavor…

  5. Randi Alexander says:

    Great video, Larissa! I was laughing too hard at the squeaks-not-farts. Next video, can we catch a glimpse of Mr. Lyons???

Leave a Reply

