Guest Daire St. Denis Wanted to be a Cowboy

I Wanna Be a Cowboy…er…Want a Cowboy

First of all, I want to say thank you to Randi Alexander and the other authors over at Wild and Wicked Cowboys for inviting me to blog with them today. I have a confession to make. When I was young, I wanted to be a cowboy (I know, cowgirl is more appropriate but cowboy sounds ever-so-much better than). Growing up in a small, rural town I did my best to pretend I was one. I begged my parents to send me to horse camp, I hung out with the farm kids, I even entered the greased pig wrestling contest at our local rodeo one year. But alas, no matter what I did, I would always be a townie, not a cowboy.

I eventually outgrew wanting to be a cowboy. But I’ve never quite outgrown wanting a cowboy. There’s just something about cowboys…they’re tough, they’re stoic and from growing up with them, it always seemed as if they were the first to do everything. Drive, smoke, make out…get laid…

So, when I was invited to write book three in the STAMPEDE SIZZLERS series I was thrilled and let me tell you, it was a ton of fun! I totally went back to those carefree days of my youth and imagined exactly the kind of guy I would have wanted to meet. Black hat pulled low over sparkling eyes, tough as nails, sexy as hell, low talking, rambling gait, knows what he wants and how to get it…mmm-mmm! Cooper Hays and RECKLESS FOR COWBOY was the result.

Here’s an excerpt from the story where the heroine, Brooke Hamilton (who’s been burned by a cowboy before), is doing everything in her power to not fall under Cooper’s spell.

Excerpt:

The next night I look for Cooper at the bar, but he’s not there. I hate that I’m looking. I hate that I can’t stop myself. All night long I search for a black cowboy hat. For dark eyes following me. It’s driving me crazy and when he doesn’t show and I’m crushed, I recognize that I’m already sliding down a slippery slope where he’s concerned.

That’s why when he shows up the following night it throws me for such a loop that I give him the cold shoulder. Worse than the way my heart spins a pirouette in my chest at the moment I see him, is the fact that he sits at the bar, drinking his whiskey-free drinks, talking to Denny all night long…about me

“Brooke’s looking mighty fine in those Daisy Duke’s,” Denny says, making sure I can hear him.

“Yep,” Cooper agrees, “but, I prefer the short, short jean skirt from the other night.”

I ignore them and fill my latest order without making eye contact. But I can’t control the way my pulse zings through my veins and my heart pounds in time to the loud music. When I look up, Denny is making eyes at me. I love Denny. Well, maybe not so much right now but…if he weren’t gay, I’d be all over him. Actually, I have been all over him. Just kissing and touching—his abs mostly. He’s got a six pack to die for. He’s my release for when I’m feeling particularly horny and in danger of doing something heinous like jumping a patron—like now. It’s amazing what a little ab action and the occasional kiss can do to cure of girl of bad man choices. Denny doesn’t mind being used as a sex toy. He likes it.

The horn dog.

“She’s a great kisser.” Denny pipes up. “Definitely in my top ten list.”

“Denny!” I spin around and make as if to kick him with the pointy toe of my cowboy boot.

“Hell, she’s number one for me.” Cooper says.

Denny slaps the bar. “You two made out?”

“Haven’t been able to stop thinking about it.”

Boom. I’m wet. Just like that.

I march off with my drink order only half-filled. I can’t stand around listening to them a second longer or I’ll definitely be in danger of repeating something I’m trying hard to forget. Not that I can forget. That kiss has been playing on repeat in my brain for the last two days.

Next time I return, Cooper’s gone. The weird feeling that washes over me is not relief, like it should be. Denny’s busy making cocktails and filling pints, but I get his attention by shouting, “So the cowboy finally left, huh?”

“Nah, just went to the men’s room.”

Now the relief comes. Not good. I hurry around the edge of the bar right up to Denny.

“What do you want?”

“Lift your shirt. Show me your abs, quick.”

Denny gets a funny little smirk on his face. “I knew it. You’re soaking wet for him, aren’t you?”

“No.”

He playfully lifts a corner of his tight t-shirt and does this little hip twist like he’s a stripper or something.

“Hurry up.”

He pulls up his shirt for me showing off his awesome six pack. It’s not just that he’s ripped. He’s hairless and smooth and beautiful. I run my hands over his warm skin to the hoots and hollers of the nearest patrons.

“You are so weird,” he says. But he loves it. As long as someone’s admiring him, he’s happy as a cat with a bowl of cream.

“I think I need a kiss too,” I say, a little out of breath.

Denny wraps his hand around my waist and pulls me close, gyrating his hips against mine. He takes my right hand and kisses the back of my knuckles. “You wanna kiss someone?” His mouth is close to my ear as if whispering something naughty. “Kiss the cowboy.”

“I can’t.”

“This one’s different.”

“That’s what they all say.”

Before I’ve had my fill of hard male body pressed up against mine, Denny steps out of my embrace and turns to the people hanging around the bar. “Okay, show’s over.”

That’s when I notice Cooper. His hat’s pulled down low but I can still see the glow from his irises. When I pass him, he says just loud enough for me to hear, “If that was meant to deter me, Miss Hamilton, it didn’t work.”

~~~

Thanks again for having me today!

www.dairestdenis.com

Follow me on twitter, @dairestdenis

Check out my other hot foursome cowboy read, HOW TO BREAK A COWBOY.

Want to check out some delicious cowboy eye-candy? Click here for sexy pics and other STAMPEDE SIZZLERS.

About Randi Alexander

Writer of Erotic Romances - "Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Guest Daire St. Denis Wanted to be a Cowboy

  1. Eileen says:

    Wooeeee! Way to start off the morning. Nothing like a hot excerpt to wake my tired eyes open. Going to have to check out that story. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Clare O'Beara says:

    Wow! That reads really well. I think a person wtih physical confidence is indeed sexy – doesn’t matter if the sport is martial arts or ballet, just using the body to the max makes a difference to one’s behaviour. That’s probably what you were seeing as a kid looking at the growing-up cowboys.

    • I think you’re right, Clare. It’s that physical confidence. I used to stay out at a friend’s ranch when I was a kid (had a HUGE crush on her older brother) and even though I was a guest we’d have to do chores starting at 5am. It was hard work. Nothing like doing hard, demanding work from the time you were a kid to toughen you up!

  3. Oooo la la!!!! Now THAT is a fiiiiiiiine way to start a day! And I know what’s going on my TBR pile!!!! =)

  4. Tiss says:

    WOW, what a way to start the morning. Thanks. I’m going to go buy the book right now…………

  5. Porchia Gilbreath says:

    I got the entire series Tuesday and Reckless was the first one I read. I loved it. It was really good. Cooper is so….. yummy. And Denny makes me want to read his story too. Usually dont read MM stories but for him I will make an exception.

  6. slinkydennis says:

    I will definitely be getting this book. And the cover. OH MY GOSH! That is one hot as hell cover! Thanks for sharing.

  7. Randi Alexander says:

    Thanks for being our guest, Daire. Awesome excerpt.

  8. Is it wrong to be in love with your own cover? I have to admit that on occasion I’ve been known to sit in front of my computer and stroke it.

  9. Get ready for a sassy read! This is one of my favourites ;)

  10. Lawna says:

    Yup, I want one too…Cowboy that is! Great interview and fabulous excerpt!

  11. amanda m says:

    I LOVED this book!!!!! It was such a great hot and steamy read:))))

  12. Roxy Boroughs says:

    Read this book and it is hot, hot, hot. Great story, too.

  13. cowboys…..yep, LOVE them! especially if they take their shirt off. Great excerpt!

  14. Thanks for stopping by, Roxy! So glad you liked it and of course I have to put a plug in for the very fun and sweet Crazy for Cowboy, by Ms. Boroughs!

  15. Oh wow! I loved that excerpt. Thanks so much for sharing with us!

  16. Vivi Anna says:

    Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!! Love the excerpt Daire.

  17. I’m late, but I always enjoy your writing and this is another hot one.. …well done Daire.

  18. Thanks to all who dropped by today. I had a great time here at Wild and Wicked Cowboys. Happy reading!

  19. Joanne B says:

    *fans self* Great cover! This book sounds fantastic. Can’t wait to read it.

Leave a Reply

