Guest Steena Holmes – There’s somethin’ about cowboys…

I live in cowtown – Calgary, Alberta and other than being famous for its oil companies, it’s also famous for the Calgary Stampede. If you love cowboys and get all hot and bothered watching them strut their stuff…then this is the place to be.

I grew up around farm boys and silly me, thought they were to be lumped in the same category as a cowboy. To me, they smelled, were dirty, enjoyed walking through squishy fields of manure and wore mud boots instead of cowboy boots. It wasn’t until we moved here to cowtown that I realized my error. OH MY! Those farm boys grew muscles, had a swagger and could swipe me off my feet faster than I could bake a chocolate cake. They smelled of musk and sweat but it drew me in instead of forcing me to run the other way.

I’ve had the privilege of experiencing the ‘inner workings’ of the Calgary Stampede and I wanted to take that knowledge and use it to my advantage in my story Hot for Cowboy. From this story came the series of Stampede Sizzlers – with 10 author’s all writing stories where the main theme is cowboy, stampede and sizzle. Join us and take a ride on the wild side! http://www.stampedesizzlers.com (get ready to wipe the drool when you visit the website).

Here’s a little teaser for Hot for Cowboy:

Catering to cowboys was part of Stacey’s job as assistant to the President of the largest western show on earth. But Stacey has seen enough beer-loving, boot smelling, god-awful hat heads, to last a lifetime. She’s met a new man now, and despite the fact he’s her online boyfriend, its a safe bet to assume he’s anything but a cowboy – he is, after all an executive in the business world. Imagine her surprise when her new man shows up for their first in person meeting, and he looks remarkably like — a cowboy?

***
Excerpt from Hot For Cowboy:

“Have I ever mentioned how much I hate cowboys?”

Daniel jerked his head up. The look on her face confirmed her words.

“Especially this time of the year. For one, there’s an odor about them you can’t shake. No matter how cleaned up they look, they smell like the outdoors. I’m a city girl. I don’t like bugs, mud or animals that weigh more than I do.” She held up her hand just as he was about to interupt. “Then there’s the boots. You can’t slip them off like regular shoes and they always track in mud. And don’t forget the hat,” Stacey picked up Daniel’s cowboy hat and threw it across the room. “Hat head is never sexy.”

“Then darlin’, you’ve never met a real cowboy.” Damn, but she talked too much.

Stacey straddled his leg and pulled at the boot. “Aren’t they all the same?”

“No love, they aren’t. Let me prove it.” It took everything he had to concentrate on what she was saying.

“I’d like to see you try.” The teasing tone should have warned him.

Daniel wanted to grab her ass and pull her close but she turned too quickly and shoved at his chest until he was flat on his back. She tugged his jeans, underwear and socks off him before stepping back.

He was naked and yet she remained fully clothed. She’d flipped the tables on him and wrestled control out from under him without batting an eye. When she reached for her purse and pulled out a condom wrapper he couldn’t help but laugh.

Damn, she was good.

****************

Thank you for having me guest post on your blog! Who doesn’t like cowboys!

http://www.steenaholmes.com
http://www.stampedesizzlers.com – take a ride on the wild side!
@steenaholmes

Steena Holmes
http://www.steenaholmes.com

Come join the conversation on my Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/SteenaHolmes.Author

About Randi Alexander

Writer of Erotic Romances - "Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Guest Steena Holmes – There’s somethin’ about cowboys…

  1. Eileen says:

    LOL love the excerpt. Love cowboys and their stories. Can’t wait to check out the story and the website.

  2. Maria says:

    Loved the excerpt! Stacey sounds like my kind of girl and Daniel sounds like the perfect cowboy hero! Love the cover too…smoking hot!

  3. Joanne B says:

    Tease!!! You stop right when it was getting good! Love the cover. Can’t wait to read it.

  4. Hanna says:

    Howdy! Excerpt of Hot for Cowboy was awesome! I wanna read more! I have heard and read of Calgary Stampede. I love cowboys, rodeos and country music.I am an aspiring writer and wish to make it big in the writing world and find me a cowboy. Guess i live on the wrong side of the world. Sweden dosen´t have any rodeos or cowboys. My favorite bull rider still is Lane Frost.

  5. Tiss says:

    WOW, that was a hot excerpt. Have to get the book now, to see where it goes from there…..
    thanks. Someday, I’d like to go to the Calgary Stampede.

  6. Clare O'Beara says:

    Nice to get both sides of the argument! Calgary must be fantastic to visit at the Stampede time of year.

  7. Gem says:

    Lol, I’m hooked by the excerpt. I know what I’m reading this weekend.

Leave a Reply

