Guest Marie Rose Dufour – Call Me Ma’am, please!

Call me Ma’am, please!

First off, I am thrilled to be guest blogging in a place that loves cowboys the way I love them. I am so thankful to be doing this!

There is a time in every woman’s life that is thought about with dread and trepidation. It is the time when people out in public stop calling you “Miss” and start calling you “Ma’am”. I shiver remembering the first time it happened to me. I raced home and checked myself out in the mirror. Had I suddenly changed overnight? “Ma’am is something the waiter calls your mother, right?

This is an East Coast view because in a totally different place, the name can be hot, sexy, and filled with the promise of sheet scorching sex that would make the pale Mr. Grey blush. I’m talking about the place where cowboys reign as kings. These are men that work hard during the day and love even harder at night. Long lean bodies, tanned from the hot sun, their muscles hard (and other parts of their anatomy too) as if they were hewed out of pure granite; these are real men in my eyes.

I’ve always found myself attracted to cowboys, especially in books. I can’t read enough of them. As soon as I see one, I buy it! When I sat down to write my third novella it just seemed natural that my hero be a cowboy. Devin Grant was the reason I sat down and wrote Saddle Up. His down home country charm invaded my dreams until I wrote his story down. In the story, Tasha Lane despises being called “Ma’am” until a sexy ex-rodeo star turned rancher calls her that and then her opinion of the word changes quickly. Devin Grant has always worked hard for what he’s gotten in life and what he wants now is Tasha. Nothing is going to stop him, not the differences in their ages, or the fact that she lives on the other side of the country.

With the tip of a cowboy hat, brown eyes scorching heat and promise, the word “Ma’am” is transformed from a dirty word into a DIRTY word and that’s what cowboys do for me.

So, just call me “Ma’am”, please!!!

AUTHOR: Marie Rose Dufour

TITLE: Saddle Up

GENRE: Cowboy/Cougar Erotic Romance

PUBLISHER: Secret Cravings Publishing http://store.secretcravingspublishing.com/index.php?main_page=book_info&products_id=300&zenid=3d2961317e64d38082dd26ae2a5a045e

WHERE TO BUY THE BOOKS ON LINE

Bookstrand: http://www.bookstrand.com/saddle-up-1

ARe: http://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-saddleup-779969-149.html

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Saddle-Up-Hot-Flash-ebook/dp/B007UQU0YS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1335171106&sr=8-1

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/books/1110195961?ean=2940014518284

RELEASE DATE: 4/13/2012

SYNOPSIS: Tasha Lane never realized how boring her life had become until one phone call in the middle of the night totally changed it. Can this forty-two year old accountant put aside a nine-year age gap and perpetual “foot in mouth” disorder to find love and happiness with an ex-rodeo star turned rancher?

Three years ago, Devin Grant traded the rodeo circuit for a cattle ranch. If someone told him, he would fall in love with a woman he’d never physically met, he’d think they were kicked too many times in the head by a bull. When her brother is thrown from his horse, it was finally time to meet the sexy woman of his dreams and convince her, he was worth taking a chance on.

Can he convince her before she goes back to her boring life? Will she be able to overcome their age difference and her own insecurities?

Excerpt

“Hello.” Tasha fumbled around in the dark to answer the phone, spilling a glass of water all over the floor in her haste.

“Hello. Am I speaking to Natasha Lane?”

“Do you know what time it is? Who is this?”

“I’m sorry for the lateness, ma’am. My name is Devin Grant. I own the Double Barrel Ranch. Your brother, Dave, has been working for me this past month.”

“Oh. My. God. What happened? Is David alright?” Tasha felt like her heart was going to explode out of her chest.

“He will be. His horse threw him earlier today when it was spooked by a rattler. He broke his leg in three places and had to have surgery. He is resting right now.”

She felt like she was paralyzed.  She was hearing the words that Devin was saying, but it felt like he was talking to someone else. She was numb. David had been hurt. He was the rock in the family. If something needed to be fixed, you called David.  If you were in trouble, you called David. He was always there for his family. Except for one month every summer, he flew to Colorado and worked on a ranch.  He loved it.  It was so different than working in a bank.  Last month, he decided to quit his job and move to the ranch permanently. The rest of the family didn’t understand, but Tasha did.

“How can you leave me alone with Mom and Paul?” Tasha had joked with him while choking back the tears. She would miss him so much.

“You’re just worried about how you will have to start hiring someone when things break around here. You’re not going to miss me, you’re going to miss my tool belt.”

“You know, you’re right. Just hand me those yellow pages out there. With the rate that things break in this house, I’m going to have to find someone and put them on speed dial.”

She stared at her brother as her heart was breaking. “You will be careful, won’t you? It’s a hard life you’re choosing to live.”

“Careful is my middle name. Now come and give your little brother a hug.” He enveloped her in a huge bear hug.

“You know that this is going to make me happier than I’ve ever been before, right?”

Tasha nodded, not trusting her voice. The next day he was on a plane for the ranch.

“Natasha. Natasha. Are you still there?

The voice on the phone broke her out of her reverie.

“Yes, yes.  I’m still here,” she whispered in a small voice.

“I’ve arranged a plane ticket to be available for you at the USAir terminal. Do you think that you could be ready and at the airport in two hours?”

“What? What are you saying?”

“I figured that you’d want to come here and see how he is for yourself. So I bought you a plane ticket. It’s waiting for you. The only thing is that it’s in two hours. It was the only flight available. You’re really going to have to pack quickly if you want to make it.”

“I don’t know what to say. It is extremely generous of you.”

“Ma’am, you’re brother is my friend. I know that the two of you are close. He’s always talking about you. Sometimes I feel we’ve already met from the stories that he tells. He’s going to want to see you when he wakes up.”

“I can’t thank you enough. I’ll make the flight. You’re going to have to give me the hospital information. I’ll go there the minute I land.”

“I’ll be at the airport waiting to bring you to the hospital myself.”

“Ok. So I’ll see you in a few hours. Oh, and by the way, Mr. Grant, if you call me ma’am one more time, I might have to kick your ass despite your generosity.”

“Not a problem, sweetness. I’ll tussle with you anytime you want. See you at the airport.”

Tasha stared at the phone for a few minutes after he disconnected. What did he mean by that? Could he have been flirting with her over the phone? Nah! Just her mind playing tricks on her.

Two hours later, she was sitting in first class and on her way to Colorado to make sure that her brother was all right and to meet the intriguing Mr. Grant.

About Randi Alexander

Writer of Erotic Romances - "Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Guest Marie Rose Dufour – Call Me Ma’am, please!

  1. Jenny says:

    Ooooo, I cannot wait to read this one. I could use myself a real cowboys. Met plenty of wannabes. ;-)

  2. Hi Marie,
    Thank you for the great post. i love the cover and the excerpt was wonderful. i can’t wait to see what happens next. :D

    tammy ramey
    trvlagnt1t@yahoo.com

  3. Thanks Jenny. I enjoyed writing this one! Devin Grant is one sexy cowboy!!!

  4. Thanks Tammy! My editor Beth Walker did this cover and it’s one of my favorite. Tasha and Devin’s story is great. The secondary characters, of David and Jennifer, are after me to finish their story soon. LOL!

  5. Oh I love me a cowboy!!! And this one sounds like fun! I’ll definitely be reading your book!

  6. Your book sounds great, Marie.

  7. Tabitha Shay says:

    A great post. I’m afraid I’m a sucker for a hawt cowboy…lol…best of luck with ur book, it sounds wonderful…Tabs

  8. Susan W. says:

    That excerpt has me wanting to know more! Thanks for introducing me to a new to me authorQ
    suz2(at)cox(dot)net

  9. Eileen says:

    seems I am in the boat as you when it comes to cowboys. I love to read about cowboys. If I see a cover with a cowboy on it I have to read the blurb. Your story sounds good. Thanks for stopping by.

  10. tiss81 says:

    WOW, sounds like a great book and I already went and ordered it! Thanks. Always enjoy a HOT cowboy book from a new author. Thanks for stopping here.

  11. This sounds like an awesome read! I’ll be sure to check it out. :)

  12. TIFFY says:

    YOUR SADDLE UP PIC IS HOT MARIE. I LOVE COWBOYS TOO. THERE’S JUST SOMETHING ABOUT THEM, SO SEXY AND PASSIONATE. I KEPT ALL MY COWBOYS NOVELS I HAVE EVER PURCHASE. I WILL DEFINITELY ADD YOUR NEW NOVEL, TO MY GET LIST!!!

  13. Clare O'Beara says:

    All too easy to get injured…. sounds like a good read.

  14. Nancy S says:

    Been thinking about the whole honorific thing, have probably been called ma’am but don’t really remember. Mostly I’ve been Miss Nancy for ages and my cowboy called me sugar. Interesting tangent. Oh yes, I love my cowboy books, preferably with 2 or more.

  15. Thanks for stopping by Miss Nancy!

  16. Maria D. says:

    So true…lol…when someone calls me “ma’am” – I look around for my mother…lol….Thanks for the excerpt from Saddle Up – definitely getting a copy to read more:)

  17. karencino says:

    Can’t wait to read this Marie. My cousin lives in Texas and says there are plenty of single cowboys lurking around. Thanks so much for the wonderful excerpt.

  18. Mmmmmm, that last line of Devin’s really got me going. Sounds great, Marie. Very nice to meet you and your book sounds like a winner :)

Leave a Reply

