Do You Like Your Cowboys in Paperback, on Audiobook, or Ebook?

What’s your favorite? A paperback or an e-book? Or do you like listening to someone read a book to you on your iPod? I have to admit, I like all three.

I keep an audio book going for those nights when I wake at three a.m. and can’t get my mind to relax enough to get back to sleep. Right now, I’m listening to The Rustler by Linda Lael Miller. Ms. Miller does a wonderful job of writing small towns and cowboys. This one’s an historical about a cattle rustler who’s trying to turn his life around. I love her contemporary stories, too.

On the Kindle app on my phone, I’m reading One Hit Wonder by Denyse Cohen. I’m a few chapters in, and it’s really good. A romance about a woman who’s just hit thirty, lost her job, and decides to take off with a band when they go on tour. It’s keeping me up at night!

I love paperbacks for the beach. Easy to read, I don’t care if they get wet or sandy or full of lemonaid. I’m reading Carolyn Brown’s Red’s Hot Cowboy. It’s a contemporary and deals with social issues as the story’s main romance plot is told.

What’s your favorite method of reading? What are you reading or listening to now? Leave a comment for a chance to win either an e-copy or a paperback (for the beach!) copy of Cowboy Bad Boys

Excerpt from Stubborn Readhead in Cowboy Bad Boys:

Jett picked her up in his strong arms, carrying her as if she was weightless.

Wrapping her arms around his neck, Penny pressed kisses along his hard jawline. Her fingers played with the ends of his hair. He hadn’t been to the barber for his three-week trim and she liked it longer.

He sat on the porch swing and kept her on his lap. So many hours they’d sat like this talking about their future. When would things get back to the way they had been?

Running his hand up her thigh, he gazed at her with eyes so full of longing, she knew what would heal them.

“Make love to me, Jett.”

His eyes closed for a moment and under her butt, his cock rose, thick and long. “Do we need to talk?” he ground out.

She smiled, loving how in touch with her sensitive side he’d become. “Love me first. There’ll be years for us to talk.”

“Baby.” His hand slid under her shirt, cupping her breast through her bra. When he found her hard nipple, his thumb flicked back and forth over it. Tingling raced to her core, stinging need tightened deep inside her.

When she tugged at his shirt, he lifted his arms and let her strip it from him. The dark hair lightly furring his chest never failed to draw her fingers into it. So strong, his chest muscles flexed as he moved. He was a hard working man who did as much or more than any of his hired men.

His fingers unlatched her bra at her back and her shirt and bra joined his on the porch floor.

Warm, humid air brushed her sensitive skin. Latching his lips around her nipple, he suckled deeply.

“I’m starving for you,” he growled as he moved to make love her other breast.

“Can’t live…” The thought of what she’d almost thrown away choked her. “I couldn’t live without you.”

He lifted his head and she kissed him, showing all her passion for him, her desire for his loving. Nibbling on his lips, she knew she’d been through hell. From now on, her life with Jett would be heaven. She’d make it that way.

“Penny.” His eyes darkened to a wild, midnight blue as his hand popped the button of her jeans and slid the zipper down. “I want to make love to you. I want to slide my cock inside you and show you how much I’ve missed you.”

********

Aw, isn’t makeup sex the best?

Hope you enjoyed the excerpt, and good luck in the contest!
Randi “Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied”
RandiAlexander.com
-Cowboy Bad Boys is available in digital format at Smashwords
and in paperback from Createspace
-Chase and Seduction and Her Cowboy Stud are available at The Wild Rose Press
-Cowboy Lust is available for pre-order at Amazon.com

About Randi Alexander

Writer of Erotic Romances - "Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Do You Like Your Cowboys in Paperback, on Audiobook, or Ebook?

  1. Crystal says:

    I’ve never listened to an audio book but I prefer paperback because I can take them anywhere. I do read both e-book and paperbacks though.

    Right now I’m reading Athena’s Hunger by Bonnie Rose Leigh

    • Randi Alexander says:

      I haven’t heard of Althena’s Hunger. I’ll have to look it up. Thanks for stoppingy by, Crystal.

  2. I love e – books for my kindle fire :) an I just finished reading book one of lorlei James long hard ride series.

  3. Becky Ward says:

    I prefer paperback, but I do read e-books too. I listen to audio books too, but right now I’m not listening to one. I loved the excerpt from Stubborn Readhead in Cowboy Bad Boys.

    Right now I am reading “The Last Boyfriend” by Nora Roberts. I am also reading an e-book which is “Undeniable” by Delilah Devlin.

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Becky, I download audio books from my local library. Free is my favorite! (I’m kinda frugal) I haven’t read that Nor book yet, but it’s on my list. And Delilah is ALWAYS fabulous!

  4. JeanP says:

    I like paperback, especially if I am travelling, don’t need to worry about losing the book. I enjoy my ebooks too, though I have never listened to any audio books.
    Just starting reading Cowboy Casanova by Lorelei James

    • Randi Alexander says:

      I worry about losing a kindle or an iPod, too, but I do most of my e-reading on my phone, through a Kindle app. I’ve never lost my phone (yet!)

  5. LorettaLynn says:

    If i have the choice i am still going to go with paper back! I do read on a kindle, but it’s just not the same as a paperback book.

    • Randi Alexander says:

      True Loretta, the feel of a paper book is so comforting, and you don’t have to have a degree in engineering to figure out how to read a book. Thanks for the comment!

  6. I love my Kindle. I live out in the country so it is great being able to download books without leaving the house. I am reading Married by Monday by Catherine Bybee.

    • Randi Alexander says:

      I’ve heard of Married by Monday. Sounds like a great book. Yes, the ability to buy a book instantly is great.

  7. Tracie says:

    I also like all three. I don’t think I’ll ever tire of having a real book in my hand and physically turning the pages but I am getting more inclined to read an ebook and especially love the convenience of getting one in the wee hours of the night without having to leave my home (or bed). An audio book is good too because I can multi-task and listen while I’m doing so many other things. I don’t think I can pick a favorite, they all serve their purpose in one way or another…
    Good luck and happy writing!

    • Randi Alexander says:

      I agree, Tracie. They each have their place. I don’t bring my phone or my iPod to the beach, so a paper book is perfect.

  8. laura says:

    I love to read paperbacks. There is just something about holding a book in you hand while you read.

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Hey, Laura, that’s true. But boy, do they ever stack up! I send the books I’ve finished to service men and women overseas. They love getting them!

  9. Penny Dyal says:

    I love paperback!

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Hi Penny, there was a lot of talk a few years ago about digital taking over and paperback becoming obsolete. I don’t think it will ever happen. Paperbacks have a strong place in the market. Thanks for coming by today!

  10. carol L says:

    I’ve never listened to an Audio Book and don’t have an e-reader. I love my paperbacks. I know I’m missing out on a lot of great stories because of not have an e-reader though. But I prefer print. Love Cowboys.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Hey, Carol, it’s amazing how many stories are e-published only, and no paperback. My aunt downloaded the Kindle app to her computer (free) and reads e-books on her laptop. Much cheeper than buying an e-reader!

  11. I’ve never listened to an audio book either. I love both paperbooks and e-books but for my cowboys, I definitely want paperback so I can see the cover anytime I want ;)

    chamblinh@gmail.com

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Mmmm, yes, yummy cowboy covers. They make my heart pit-a-pat, too. Thanks for the comment, Heather!

  12. Gail S says:

    I like cowboys any way I can get ‘em! ;-) I like paperbacks for the pool, audio for the car and my Kindle fills in-between. I read at night and I read HB, PB & Kindle, just depends where I purchased the book. Thanks for the excerpt. :-)

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Gail, you sound just like me. If I’m not writing, I have to be reading. And yes, those long, lonely roadtrips go so much faster with an audio book playing!

  13. I enjoy ebooks on my two Kindles (Fire for text, keyboard for audiobooks). I also have the Kindle app on my Sony laptop, MacBook Pro, iPad, and iPhone. So I can pretty enjoy a good story in any setting. I only listen to books in the car – while running errands or on a road trip – makes the time fly by.

    I read several mediocre books in a row, so I do what I always do when that happens…backtracked to a favorite series. In this case I chose the first in Nalini Singh’s Guild Hunter series Angels’ Blood. Next up, I’ll either re-read the entire Guild Hunter series or start Shayla Black’s Mine to Hold.

    In the car I’m listening to Cut and Run and about to decide to quit listening as the narrator is awful. (A poor choice of narrator for an otherwise good story can bring the listening experience to an abrupt halt and culminate in a poor review.)

    I like my cowboys any way I can get them, too! Some of my past favorites are the Rough Rider series by Lorelei James, Rough Canvas by Joey Hill, Nowhere Ranch by Heidi Cullinan, and the Hells Eight series by Sarah McCarty. I haven’t read a western romance by Randi Alexander, but hope to remedy that in the very near future. :)

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Well, thank you, Kathleen! I’d love to have you read one of my stories. I agree about the narrator’s voice. The Hells Eight Series’ Sam’s Creed, I LOVED the voice of the narrator, but other folks rated him lower. Did you listen to this one as an audio book?

  14. Debbie says:

    In the flesh would be ideal but I use my Kindle instead. LOL

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Hubby loves his Kindle, too. I bring him books home from writers’ meetings and conferences, and he just stacks them up. He’s addicted to e-reading!

  15. I looooove cowboys! :) I’m an e-reader mostly, they are just so convenient and you don’t have to find a place to keep ‘em. Great excerpt by the way, looks awesome!

    brunettelibrarian AT gmAil . c0m
    The Brunette Librarian Blog

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Thanks – I’m glad you enjoyed the excerpt. Yep, the books are stacking up here, again. Time to ship some out.

  16. Leni says:

    When it comes to mysteries/thrillers and longer books I prefer audio books. But I like paperback format for reading romances.
    At the moment I’m reading a paperback of Soldier Of Fortune by Diana Palmer

    • Randi Alexander says:

      That’s interesting, Leni. I like the smaller paperbacks, too. Harlequin romances are one of my guilty pleasures.

  17. Lynne says:

    I love paperbacks; e reader is okay and audio doesn’t work for me at all. reading Bared to Me by Sylvia Day right now

  18. Holy cowboy, batman!!! Thanks for the smokin’ excerpt! I actually love my cowboys in eCopy form….why? Because I can read ANYTHING on it and it can be the steamiest erotic romance and no one will ever be the wiser as to why I’m sweating and droolin’ up a storm :) molly(at)reviewsbymolly(dot)com

    • Randi Alexander says:

      LOL – I’m happy you liked the excerpt. I do love the secrecy of e-books, too, and you can still go back to the beginning of the ebook and stare at the cover once in a while! Thanks for stopping by, Molly.

  19. I prefer my books to be Hardcover/Paperback. Although I also read e-books. Being a book reviewer makes it impossible not to. I like them but not as much as Hardcover/Paperback. Audio books take me out of the experience, if that makes any sense. Therefore I only own one Audio book. Nothing, in my opinion, tops holding a brand new Hardcover/Paperback in my hand and smelling that new book smell as you crack open the book. It is just so comforting to curl up with it and get lost in the pages. I am actually reading a Hardcover book right now and I couldn’t be happier….^_^. I will gladly pay the extra cost of having a physical copy over an electronic one any day.

    • Randi Alexander says:

      I think that’s a very well-shared feeling, Raquel. The feel of a book in your hands is exciting and fresh. I love it, too.

  20. Not keen on audio but I am split 60-40, PB/HB to eBook right now.

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Thanks for coming by. I love your name “Sand in My Shoes Reviews” Makes me think of the beach!

  21. Romance Reader Enthusiast says:

    I will say that I like paperback first. Love to be able to look at the cover whenever I want to. Too bad they couldn’t come up with audio for the e-reader. Then we could here his sultry voice as we read his story.
    Lynn

    • Randi Alexander says:

      That’s a really good idea, Lynn. Wouldn’t it be nice to switch from reading to listening with a touch of a button? I bet the Kindle/Nook folks are working on that as we speak.

  22. ELF says:

    I really prefer print books but unfortunately many of the books I receive to review are in e-format. I’m reading Michael J. Sullivan’s “Heir of Novron” and Connie Mason/Mia Marlowe’s “Lord of Fire and Ice” in print, Jennifer Estep’s “Widow’s Web” and Jaymie Holland/Cheyenne McCray’s “Taking It Home” as e-books. I am too impatient to listen to audiobooks (-: Thanks for the giveaway and have a great day!

    • Randi Alexander says:

      LOL True, I can read faster than an audiiobook can talk. I guess that’s why they help me calm my mind during a restless night. You have a great day, too!

  23. Jenny says:

    I prefer to have print book. I don’t have a ereader yet but I’m hoping to get one when I graduate college in October. I just like the smell of books and it’s more personal to have copies.

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Congratulations on your upcoming graduation. I hope you get an ereader, too! They’re a lot of fun.

  24. Randi Alexander says:

    Congratulations Lynne and Jenny! I decided to give two books away, and using Randomizer.org, your comments were chosen as my winners. I’ve sent you both e-mails, but if you don’t receive them, please contact me at Randi at RandiAlexander.com to claim your prize.

    I appreciate everyone’s stopping by and leaving a comment. It was fun hearing what you’re reading, and which is your favorite way to read it. Have a Wild and Wicked day!

  25. Linda says:

    I prefer paperbacks because I can take them anywhere. I’ve read most of Carolyn Brown’s cowboy romance books and I’m also addicted to Jodi Thomas. I’m always happy to find new authors of this genre to read that I haven’t discovered yet. I don’t have an e-reader (maybe in the near future). I’m going to make a list now of bloggers suggested books they’ve read and pick some of these up!

  26. Allie Motherway says:

    I prefer paperback. I love having then on myshelf and I can go back to certain parts anytime I choose. Paperbacks are more personal. I have a nook and love it. Some stories are just fine in that format.

  27. tiss81 says:

    I sorry I’m so late. but I like both. I like to read a paperback every once in awhile and I love my Kindles. My paperback bookshelf is sooo full, and I was under the weather for awhile, so didn’t read much at all, but I have some books that I have both ereader and paperback.

  28. Pingback: Crazy-Awesome News! « kimbervale

Leave a Reply

