Rugged Outdoors

Next week my hubby and I set out on a grand adventure. We’re hitting one of those bucket-list items of a driving/camping trip to Alaska. Of course I’m past the age or desire to live off the land and sleep under the stars (I mean really…they say the mosquitoes in Alaska are huge!). So we’re taking a motorhome and trekking over 8000 miles in 5 weeks or less. I hope to keep a journal on my blog during the trip. Depends on internet connection!

This trip reminds me of a story… My uncle decided back in the 1950’s to move his family to Alaska. It was a land of opportunity at the time and there wasn’t much for him here in Arkansas, so he loaded his family in his pickup with a camper on the back and piled everything he could fit into the camper. All their worldly goods  (I’m imagining the Beverly Hillbillies). Back then the roads weren’t what they are today and the wilderness was still wild. They stopped somewhere in Canada for the night. Ma and Pa (because it fits) slept in the cab and the kids slept in the camper amongst their possessions. In the middle of the night the vehicle rocked violently. Then rocked again. My uncle peered out the window at a huge bear playing with the truck like it was a toy. Now I’m imagining the screams and the fear of those inside. The bear couldn’t open the “can” for the food inside and finally lumbered off to feast on berries. Don’t worry, they all survived and went on to live long lives in Alaska.

So I have this story in my head and I’m looking forward to “experiencing” the rugged wilderness from the comfort of my motorhome. I’ll be sure not to feed the wildlife or tempt them with a tasty human treat. And I’ll remember that I only have to run faster than my husband…

In honor of the rugged men and women who dared to dream and explore the great wild west, my anthology of historical westerns releases in print this month from Samhain Publishing.

Check out some hot stories set in Colorado mining country and the Mississippi riverboats of the 1800’s.

About Myla Jackson

Twenty years of livin' and lovin' on a South Texas ranch raising horses, cattle, goats, ostriches and emus left an indelible impression on Myla Jackson, one she likes to instill in her red-hot stories. Myla pens wildly sexy, fun adventures of all genres including historical westerns, medieval tales, romantic suspense, contemporary romance and paranormal beasties of all shapes and sexy sizes. When she's not wrangling words from her computer she's out snow-skiing, boating, riding her ATV or spending time with her family. She lives in the tree-covered hills of Northwest Arkansas with her husband of 20 years and her muses— the human-wanna-be canines—Chewy and Sweetpea. To learn more about Myla Jackson and her stories visit her website at www.mylajackson.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rugged Outdoors

  1. maw25 says:

    Myla, I’m loving the cover for your print releases…beautiful. :) You have fun and be careful. Nice rig, too.

    Marika

  2. Terri says:

    Have fun. This is a trip that I’d love to take. I have friends who have driven to Alaska and loved it. Of course, like you, I need to take my house on wheels because I’m so pass when I want to sleep on the cold, hard ground.

  3. Bound and Tied looks great! I can’t wait to read it. I’ve always wanted to go to Alaska, and I don’t blame you. A motorhome would be the closest I would ever get to “roughing it”! Hope you all have a wonderful time!

  4. Randi Alexander says:

    How fun, Myla! That sounds like a great adventure. I’m looking forward to seeing your posts.

  5. Maria D. says:

    Congratulations on the print release of your books! It sounds like you have a fun trip planned and good luck with the bugs (lol). Your uncle’s story reminds me of a camping trip we took but instead of a bear …we had a skunk wonder into our tent ….needless to say we all held our breath while the skunk went through our cooler and then decided to leave. Fortunately the skunk was very kind and didn’t leave any hideous odor behind:)

  6. Rainbow Brite says:

    Have fun! You’re going to love it! I’m planning a route 66 trip myself.

  7. Nancy S says:

    I’m soooo envious, I love roadtrips. Hope you have a great time and no bears. I had my own bear “incident” in Montana’s Glacier Park. We had a picnic and just as we were driving around the tree line there were 3 bears, mama and 2 young ones, they were half a city block or less from where we had been eating moments before. Scary thinking of what could have happened. So keep your running shoes on and an escape plan in mind.

  8. tiss81 says:

    Good Luck on your trip and take lots of pictures.

Leave a Reply

