Happy Thanksgiving

Hello everyone!! Happy Turkey Day. At least around my neck of the woods we are eating turkey. There are a ton of things that I love about Thanksgiving but I always go back to an episode of Everyone Loves Raymond where Debra made fish and Maria brought a turkey. The family dynamics of that show are so real that its like my family on television. Only no way do I live next door to my in-laws, nope instead I live next to  my parents which is ten times worse.

Thanksgiving can be a little insane in my family. Well, not my family but my husband’s family. You see my father in law has three sisters and they take over everything. It’s fine for me because I get to sit back and watch the show. I always get a kick out of the bickering that goes on between the sisters and the battle for control over the kitchen. I don’t have sisters so I’ve never been around this type of fighting. My brothers were much rougher. Yet, the battle to be ruler of the kitchen is still interesting to me. This year I have money on one sister, I think it’s her year!

After we eat turkey and can barely move my husband and children will load up and go home. I have to take a nap because I’m going SHOPPING! Ok, so a few years ago I would have laughed my rear off at the people who go Black Friday shopping but then I went. I’m hooked. I love going now. Yet, there are times when I could slap people around. Prime example, when the person in front of me in line is arguing with the cashier and being just nasty. Easy people, it’s not the cashier’s fault if the computer isn’t scanning the right price. Someone else put those prices in the computer, NOT the cashier. Believe me, those cashiers want to get you out of their line and on your merry little way just as fast as they can. So be nice to those cashiers, you really don’t want to be that person the cashier tells everyone about for a year!

Also, Thanksgiving kicks off the countdown to The IRON BOWL!! Alabama and Auburn fans wait all year to this one day. The day that rivalries are settled and the best of the best is born. Of course I’m cheering for Alabama but my husband is a little weird and is an Auburn fan. Something is so wrong with him!!

Thanksgiving also brings in the time that we all begin to remember why we celebrate Christmas. We get all thankful and emotional during Thanksgiving and that leads us right into Christmas. Remember that everyday of the year we should remember the things that are most important and give thanks for everything we have each day. I’m so excited to kick off my holiday season by giving thanks and picking up an extra present for a child in need and an elderly person in need. Remember that stores will have socks and underwear on sale, everyone needs socks!!!!

Ok, enough rambling. Go forth, have fun, eat too much, and be thankful!!

Sayde

About JenniferDorough

I love capturing sweet southern memories. My goal is to capture your family in portraits that showcase their uniqueness. I try to capture your memories that represent your family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Eileen says:

    Happy thanksgiving!! You are probably one of the few who enjoy shopping out on Black Friday. Me, I am working this year and plan to stay clear of the malls and shops. I do miss a big family celebration at my mother’s and mother-in-laws but now us ‘kids’ have taken over the cooking. I’m on of 5 and we’ve each grown so much we now celebrate with our own families and Mom and Dad make the rounds. It’s different but it works. Have a great day everyone. Drive safely.

  2. Randi Alexander says:

    Happy Thanksgiving, Sayde. You’re a brave, brave woman to shop on Black Friday. I bet you get some amazing deals, though. Have fun!

  3. Happy belated-turkey day … we’ve had it almost every day this week… today I’ll make pasta just for non-turkey meal…LOL

    Christmas two years ago, I bought everyone in the house socks and undies. I made them unwrap them first. I wish I had videoed it. The kids just about turned purple–I’d always threatned to buy it and finally I got ‘em :-)

    good luck braving the stores…

  4. Enjoy shopping. I can’t get into the Black Friday shopping mood myself. Yep, everyone does need socks.

Leave a Reply

