Cowboy Ghost Stories!

I’m in the mood for something scary – and I’m not talking politics here! I rounded up a few cowboy ghost stories – just the ones that truly gave me chills all over.

*as told by Kristen* My husband and I had been renting a house for a few months. We had a 5 month old son at the time. One night, our baby was ill with a head cold and I was up so much that I decided to lie down on the couch in the living room instead of running up and down the stairs every time the baby woke up. It was about 4 in the morning, I remember looking at the clock and thinking I might as well stay up. As I was lying on my side on the couch I could see into the kitchen and part of the hallway that led to the stairs. Out of no-where a very tall individual in a long duster style coat and a cowboy hat began to slowly walk from the hallway to the kitchen and vanish into thin air. Before the figure vanished, it tipped its hat at me as if it were interacting with me or knew I was there. While the figure walked I could hear, very clearly, the sound of boots on hard wood floors and the rattling of what I later figured to be spurs like those that cowboys sometimes wear.

Two weeks went by and there was no more activity other than hearing footsteps like those on hardwood floors from time to time. It was at this time that the landlord was having the house re-sided and I went outside to curse out the guys installing the siding because they kept knocking my pictures and other knick-knacks off of the walls. I didn’t get one word out of my mouth after I took a look at the areas of the house where the siding had not been placed. After gathering myself I asked the young man installing the siding what kind of weird siding was underneath the old siding as I had never seen anything like it. He replied, “Oh, that’s not really siding, it is really old wood. This used to be an old barn and it was re-done as a house some time ago. At that moment, it dawned on me that this was why I saw the cowboy.

We moved out of that house about 5 months later and other than the footsteps I never had any other experiences in that house. Our baby however, would start staring at the hallway at random times and smile for no reason. I truly believe that we were living in the barn that the cowboy used to be a part of.

*as told by Sarah* Up until I was about five or six I lived in a small town in West Virginia. At one point in time, pretty much everyone in my family had lived in the house my mother, father, brother and I were living in. Coming out of my room there was the bathroom to the left and then across the hallway was my brothers room. One day I was coming out of my room and there in front of me stood the silhouette of what appeared to be, what I described at the time, a cowboy. He had no features; he was just a solid black form. He came towards me and stopped, then turned around and headed into my brothers room. Being a little kid wondering what the hell happened, I screamed. When my mother came in I told her that I had saw a man in a cowboy hat and that he had gone into my brother’s room. My mother had naturally told me that it was just my imagination.

About a year or two ago I inquired about what happened. My mother told me that there was a man, who lived with his wife and children before we owned the house, that was suspected of killing his family and burying them in the back yard. The house was set on a steep hill that my cousins, who are now in there 20′s, liked to climb when they were younger. When they were digging in the yard they found bones that they brought to their parents. They were confirmed as being human.

And, I have no idea if this is linked to that at all, but every once in a while I’ll wake up and look at the end of my bed and see a hooded figure. I don’t feel threatened, as I immediately go back to sleep. I know that it’s not just a dream.

*as told by Rusty* About seven years ago, my sister and her husband moved to an apartment where a man had supposedly killed himself years before (she didn’t know this when she bought it). Her husband works graveyard shift at his job, so she wanted me to stay with her because it was her first night at the apartment. So I agreed and came over.

While I was sleeping on the couch in the living room, something had directed my attention toward the hallway. I looked and there was a man leaning against the wall just staring at me. He looked like he was a cowboy because he had a cowboy hat on and boots. I was so scared, I just froze and didn’t move.

The next morning, I didn’t mention it because I figured it was just my imagination or something. But my sister asked me if I had gotten up in the middle of the night and made a sandwich. Looking at her strangely, I said no. She told me that when she got up, there was lunch meat and a loaf of bread just laying there open. The loaf of bread was bought the night before and wasn’t opened yet. So somebody or something was staring at me and was indeed eating a sandwich.

*as told by Jason* I grew up at the Genesee Buffalo Ranch just west of Denver, Colorado. My Father is still the caretaker of the ranch and lives in the two story house, built by the Patrick family in the 1860s. Headed west from Missouri, the Patricks, along with their five boys, built the house and operated a stage stop on Genesee Mountain. 

I remember when we moved into the house, the former caretaker lived in a house trailer in the back yard. His wife would not set foot in the main house because she saw strange things and said the house was haunted.

When I was about 12, I remember a night when my Mother was upstairs, screaming hysterically, as our dog barked loudly at the wall. My Dad and I ran upstairs to see what the commotion was all about. When we arrived, she related that she had seen a floating, glowing green ball go down the hall and disappear through the wall. I slept with the covers over my head for the next several weeks! 

The next haunting came about six months later, a night that still feels as if it happened yesterday. As I was sleeping, my father woke me up and asked me if I could hear music in the house. Barely, I could make out the faint sounds of a fiddle or violin. 

Dad had already checked all the radios and they were not turned on. We searched for the source of the music and went downstairs, where you hear the music coming from the upper story and vise-versa. When we went outside, we could still hear the music coming from the house. We continued to hear the haunting music a couple more times that same year. 

A few years later we received a book from a local historian, describing the complete history of the house and the Patrick family, information that was unknown to us until we read the book. The first murder in Jefferson county happened in our front yard in the 1870s, when one of the Patrick brothers shot and killed another brother in a dispute over a dog! The brother that he killed was known to be very lazy and the only thing he liked to do was sit around and play his fiddle!  

When I read this and remembered the fiddle music during those nights, a cold electric sweat ran through my body. We also found out that the father of the boys is buried somewhere in the yard but there is no marker. I still get a chill when I hear fiddle music!

Scared? I sure am! Now it’s your turn to scare me. Tell me about the hauntingest thing that’s happened to you! Or the spookiest ghost story you’ve ever heard – the one that sometimes still wakes you up at night!

Randi
RandiAlexander.com
Chase and Seduction is available at The Wild Rose Press

If you haven’t voted for your favorite story in the Just One Bite Contest and would like to, here’s the link. This week is round three, and there are twomore rounds after this. The best part is, when you go to All Romance eBook’s site, you get to read all 8 paranormal short stories.

Sources: paranormal.about.com, yourghoststories.com, legendsofamerica.com

About Randi Alexander

Writer of Erotic Romances - "Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cowboy Ghost Stories!

  1. Shelly says:

    Watching the Movie Chuckie one night while home alone, bad move. What the mind can do when you are watching scary movies.

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Oh, yes! I’ve made the mistake of watching scary movies while I’m home alone. Every noise is something nefarious!

  2. Tammy January says:

    Omg totally freaking me out! LOL my bestfriend swears there was an Indian in her home. One night she got up to go to the restroom and there he stood in his buckskin and feathers. *gulps* I asked her what did you do? She said he watched her go into the bathroom and was still there when she came out. She just went back to bed. Apparently her dad had told them about this and her and her brothers never thought much about it. Needless to say, I didnt stay the night much at her house lol.

    • Randi Alexander says:

      That’s so wild! Especially that he watched her, but didn’t follow her. No, I wouldn’t stay the night either, Tammy!!!

  3. Oooh, thanks for sharing. I’ve had a few minimal ghost encounters, but nothing too frightening. Now, nightmares, that’s another matter. If you want some fantastic ghost stories, the national nighttime radio show, Coast to Coast am ~ http://coasttocoastam.com ~ always has Ghost-to-Ghost around Halloween where callers tell their about their ghost encounters. Talk about spooky, spine-tingling stories!

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Yes, nightmares can be as traumatic as a ghost siting. I had a nightmare in 1987 that I still remember in vivid detail. *shivers* Thanks for the 411 on the radio show, Savanna. I’ll have to check it out.

  4. Don’t really have any ghost sitings to report but every now and then late at night when I’m alone in my room I see movement out of the corner of my eye. When I turn my head there is nothing there. I like to think it is my husband checking on me.

    • Randi Alexander says:

      That’s so nice, Nancy. A beneficent spirit checking in. I sometimes think my sister does that, too. Especially one memorable time when I had been carrying my baby and began to fall down a flight of stairs, then almost miraculously regained my footing. As if she were there to catch us.

  5. Eileen says:

    Oh I stay away from scary movies at all cost. After Poltergeist I was done!! clowns scare me after that movie.

    • Randi Alexander says:

      Eileen, I would bet that clowns scare about 80% of the poplulation! They always seem to be depicted as evil behind a happy mask.

Leave a Reply

