Cowboy Food

While talking with my critique partners over lunch, we got to talking about food, and then cowboy food.  I was asked what kind of food does a cowboy eat?  I stopped and looked at them and said “Whatever they want.”

So I decided to take a look on the internet.  Most of what I found under cowboy food was BBQ, which I can understand there was also Chili.  So I started thinking about it, I’ve been to a few BBQ’s at rodeo’s and the primary foods were: BBQ beef, BBQ chicken, grilled chicken, beans, and bread.

Looking at a book I had about the cowboy life, it said the Chuck Wagon on the range usually fed the cowboys: Beef, beans, pork and beans, biscuits.

I started thinking about my cowboy books Quick Silver Ranch: Roped & Ready, and, Quick Silver Ranch: Saddle Up.

Because my books have an adult dude ranch, I made sure there was a chef on the ranch who cooked for everyone.  And I realized this chef while dinner always had beef, made sure the meals were balanced and everything was served family style.  And there was always dessert.

So do you have a favorite food?

I’d have to say mine is pizza and burgers.

About marietuhart

I'm an erotic romance writer currently published with The Wild Rose Press under the Scarlet Rose line.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Cowboy Food

  1. Stacy Wilson says:

    Hmmm…. I think I would have to say….bbq smoked ribs for one. Yeah, we have a smoker in the back yard. Big ole brick thing. :p Also, for a real fave, is pork fried rice. YUM!

    Dammit….now I’m hungry and I am also almost off to bed…. *sigh* Breakfast should be fun. :p I might have to slice n fry some spam! LOL!

    Stacy

    dragn_lady at yahoo dot com

  2. Randi Alexander says:

    Fun post, Marie. I never thought about what cowboys ate. Me, I have simple tastes. I like pizza and beer on a Friday night. But for my birthday, it’s lobster tail and white wine!

  3. I like a good steak. I also like pizza. Oh and the Jumbo Shrimp from a local steak house. So I order steak and shrimp. It is the only restraunt that I’ve found these shrimp at.
    At barn, where I work and they train racehorses, in the winter, when they are home training, they buy a 50# bag of beans and they eat different variety’s of beans for the noon meal. It is furnished by the owners, who are cowboys. LOL.

  4. Leanne says:

    Beef Stew and seafood are my favorites. I’m in Canada’s Maritime provinces so for us Seafood plays a major role in what we eat. Beans for us is the canned kind but in maple syrup and it’s usually served with breakfast. Bacon, eggs, sausage, ham, fries, toast and beans :D That’s whatya call a country style breakfast. I call it the heart attack on a plate lol

    • Marie Tuhart says:

      Hi Leanne, Heart attack on a plate, oh yeah, I’ve had those before (LOL). I just made a beef stew the other night for dinner, don’t do it too often, but I do love it when I do make it.

  5. Maria D. says:

    I don’t have a favorite food per se but enjoy a wide variety – I’m more of a mood eater – but I do love pasta, pizza and a really good chargrilled burger!

    • Marie Tuhart says:

      Hi Maria, glad you enjoy a wide variety. Most of the time I do too, but I could really eat pizza at least once a week and be happy, but of course my waistline wouldn’t. :)

  6. Diane Sallans says:

    It would be easier to say what I don’t like (much shorter list). I just like food that fits the time, company & occasion. If I’m cooking, I like it to be straightforward & easy. If I’m out, I like to get things that I don’t make at home. Now I’m hungry. I’m going out on errands & will pick up lunch – thinking about a turkey sloppy joe/club from the local deli. Since sloppy joe means different things in different areas of the country – it’s deli turkey with cole slaw on rye bread.

    • Marie Tuhart says:

      Hi Diane, yes, sloppy joe is different. I’m on the West Coast and for me its ground beef or could be ground turkey with a spicy sauce put on a hamburger bun. I think yours version is healthier. Thanks for the comment.

  7. Never had ribs! Where you been hiding girl? They are yummy to the max if done right. My favorite meal would be anything from the water, fish, crabs, calamari, clams, you name it I like it. Today I had migas another fav, scrambled eggs with tortilla strips, cheese, onions, tomatoes, green pepper and jalapenos.

    • Marie Tuhart says:

      Hi Nancy, I’ve had ribs but never as described. Mostly Tony Roma rigs – what can I say I’m a California girl. Ah, crab, I love crab too, but can’t eat too much of it. Seafood is in a category of it’s own.

  8. Eileen says:

    I could categorize my favorite food as anything Mexican! I love tamales, enchilades, arroz con pollo, rice and beans,gaucomole, and pan de lluevo. Last time I was in San Antonio I felt I ate my way through the city. I don’t know what I would do if I actually lived in a southern town because I would eat so much and not care about my weight.

Leave a Reply

