Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day, ya’ll! I’m not Irish, but today everyone has a wee bit of Irish in them, me thinks!

I’ve always loved St. Paddy’s Day. For one, it means spring is just around the corner. And by this time of year, after a long, cold, and drab winter, I’m ready to see green. Lots of it. I live in Nebraska so we see all four seasons in a big way out here on the prairie. I love all four, but I’ll take warm temps any day over cold ones. Makes riding my trusty steeds all the more enjoyable. I also happen to think Leprechauns are kinda cute, and they wear green!

The second reason I love this holiday is, well, this is one I came to love upon turning twenty-one! It’s the chance to indulge in a few green beers. Gotta love green beer! Hmm. I wonder if Sam I Am loved green beer as much as green eggs and ham! And the corned beef and cabbage ain’t too bad, either.

This year I won’t be indulging in corned beef and cabbage, though, and I doubt I’ll get a green beer, either. Our kids are active in horse 4-H so we’ll be busy enjoying pancakes and sausage at the annual 4-H Pancake Feed! Yum! Always good. And always filling!

Here’s a bit of Nebraska trivia for you. The town of O’Neill, Nebraska was named after an Irishman named John O’Neill. A Calvary officer, O’Neill was responsible for helping Irish immigrants relocate out west. Today O’Neill is known as the “Irish Capital of Nebraska,” and is home to “The Worlds Largest Shamrock.” It’s pretty cool. You’ll find it painted on the street in the middle of O’Neill’s main street. And in this neck of the woods you’re sure to find more than a few cowboys! Who needs a Blarney Stone with cowboys everywhere!

So how about you? What do you like about St. Patrick’s Day? The beer? The food? An occasion to party?

And I’ll leave you with a St. Patrick’s Day blessing.

May your days be as sparkling
As an Irish smile,
The dew on the shamrock,
And the Emerald Isle.

See you all back here on the 30th!
Sherry James

About sherryjames

When Sherry James isn't writing, she's busy wrangling two kids, six horses, two dogs, and an assortment of barn cats. She's knows if horse manure was money, she'd be rich, rich, rich! During the summer she spends romantic hours with her husband in the hay fields laboring to feed those six horses. Currently, she writes for three publishing houses, Prairie Muse Publishing, Ellora's Cave, and The Wild Rose Press. She's a founding member and past president of her local RWA chapter, The Prairieland Romance Writers. Check out her web site at www.sherryjames.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

  1. Terri says:

    I don’t really do St Patty’s day and never had but I’ll give you a bit more Irish trivia. The first president of Chile was Benardo O’Higgins. His dad was an Irish sailor.

  2. Jen B. says:

    We usually have Irish Potatoes candies but not this year. I did manage to put together gift bags for my daughter’s class and get me family to wear green today. Maybe I’ll serve corned beef and cabage tonight.

  3. Top O’ the mornin’ to ya! I used to love McDonald’s shamrock shakes – do they still make them? I’m going to have to swing by a McD’s and see.

  4. Marie Tuhart says:

    I don’t do much for St. Patty’s day anymore except wear green. I was in Lake Tahoe one year during St. Patrick’s day, we had green 7/7 drinks (that’s half vodka and half 7 UP). It was funny watching the cocktail waitress walk around with all these green drinks.

  5. Allie says:

    I am wearing one green sock. :)

    When I was 8, the day after St. Patrick’s Day I managed to hop on my pony bareback alone with no help and I gave him handfuls of green grass to celebrate. I named it Green Day. Not until after he died (at 38!) did I realize why people always give me a funny look when I celebrate Green Day on March 18… It just never occurred to me.

  6. Tiss Treib says:

    I don’t celebrate ST Patty’s day except to try and remember to wear green to work, I also am looking forward to spring. It’s been a LONNGGGG winter in SD. Wishing all who celebrate a great day and don’t befall any trouble!

Leave a Reply

